We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 982: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have recently returned back from the Rarotongan Beach Resort and stayed as a family of 3 Adults and 3 children in 2 x Beachfront rooms. After reading through the many negative comments and reviews made by past guests, we were totally prepared for the worst and flew out to Rarotonga with the lowest of expectations, however this actually served...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda P
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana AmandaP Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write your great review!!! It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your brief sojourn with us in Rarotonga with your family. Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to The Rarotongan and as always we loved it. The staff were so welcoming and we felt like we were returning family. We renewed our wedding vows and celebrated 3 birthdays while we were there and at all times the staff were wonderful. My only negative was that the Hibiscus Hut was closed for most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelingmacs4
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Travelingmacs4 Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your return to the resort. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you and your family back to your very own Rarotongan family. We were absolutely thrilled to have you...

Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Once again we had a great stay here at the Rarotongan, We were here in December and again in August, from that short time it was great to see the upgrades they had added, swimming pool looked great and the new beach huts at the restaurant were all new and seating on the deck, also the upgrades of the flat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel466
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rachel466 Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your return visit to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in August 2013. It was our absolute pleasure to be able to host you and your family once again in our small slice of paradise. The Rarotongan offers some of the best Kids Club facilities in the South...

Reviewed 4 September 2013

A very inviting atmosphere with all facilities and equipment needed for swimming snorkeling and relaxing provided. Great outlook,helpful and informative staff available 24/7. Rooms clean and serviced daily

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 52noddy
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana 52noddy Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are very happy that you had a wonderful holiday and have enjoyed the stunning Aroa Lagoon – a traditional marine reserve offering a wide variety of marine life...

Moeraki
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at The Rarotongan in late August 2013 and it was an absolute delight. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was small but ideally located for access to the services. The lagoon provided the best snorkeling experience I have ever had, and it was just a short walk away. The gear provided could have been better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie G
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rosalie Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Our Two Bedroom Beachside Suites are located at ground-level in our 100 and 200 villages, and are in close proximity to the beach and lagoon, but without direct sea...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed a week in an upstairs garden room which was very tired and actually dingy, but comfortable enough and the overall setting fabulous for a family get together for my nephews wedding. The wedding setting on the beach was beautiful and the reception very nice in the upstairs venue. We enjoyed meeting up for meals and fabulous cocktails, also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kreachee
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Kreachee” Thank you for your review in regards to your August 2013 stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy that you found your accommodation comfortable and can assure you that we conduct an annual maintenance and refurbishment on all our rooms and we have taken you comments into consideration. We are pleased...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at The Rarotongan in late July / early August 2013 and it was an absolute delight. We were based at Sanctuary at the resort but spent time in all areas. The room was lovely and listening to the ocean at night was blissful. The lagoon provided the best snorkelling experience I have ever had - the number and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo R
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jo & Gary Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach and The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the stunning location of our resorts The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and our...

tauranga
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort for 9 nights in one of the two 2 bedroom options. Was really disappointed - the unit was tiny, especially the toilet and bathroom and was dark and dingy with hardly any natural light able to come in. The second bedroom didn't even have a window. Really not good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyviewsTauranga
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “familyviewsTauranga “ Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations. We are saddened to hear that you did not feel the Two Bedroom Beachside Suites met your expectations. They are located at ground-level in...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went for a swim and lunch. Beach amazing. Late lunch at 3:30PM. Not busy we were the only people getting a meal. Took more than an hour for toasted sandwiches for two hungry children. Difficulty with the salad in that my daughter does not like onions, asked for none, got another salad with onions again. On paying the bill (expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen007_12
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Eileen007_12 Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our resort. We apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family and I recently visited Rarotonga and although we were staying at another property I was keen to take the children to the location where I had married their father 15 years earlier. To be blunt, I was very disappointed with what we encountered. The property appears to have morphed in to an over populated theme park.. the once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joplatt
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Joplatt” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns you have raised. We are disappointed that you felt the resort had morphed into an “over populated theme park” and feel that this is a personal preference. We...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (736)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (233)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
501 reviews
8.9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
7.8 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Price Range: RM719 - RM852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Aroa Beach, Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Balclutha, New Zealand

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get transport and eat elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles X7596VEnicolep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all very run down and shabby.”
 of 5 bubbles carolcN2123BZ, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sound travels easily between the beachfront rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LeanneH1, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The resort is old. The upstairs garden rooms are more airy due to the high ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles whanau_travels, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont bother with the restaurant. Eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles NevillePettersson, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay