We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 964: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Disappointed from start to finish. Paid over $300 a night for a room that had the most disgusting bathroom will mould between the tiles. It was gross. We were there 5 nights got no sleep as our room was near reception. With flights arriving at all ours of the night this meant guests were coming and going loudly at all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brpet
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Brpet” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We apologise that you were not happy with your accommodation or food and beverage dining experience while staying with us. In regards to your accommodation, we do apologise that you did not find our Garden Room met... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We did not stay at the resort but had lunch at the restaurant on Sunday 17 June 2013 @ 12.30pm. As we walked through and around the resort it appeared tired with a lot of the woodwork rotten. The food was a nightmare. When it finally did arrive (there were only a dozen tables occupied) it was COLD (including the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Tony D” Thank you for your review in regards to your visit with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013 We apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have... More 

Travellers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Rooms were lovely and clean and a great beachfront view with verandah. Rooms cleaned every day which was nice and the staff very friendly. Must say though that the food was very average for the price and very slow in getting to table both here and at Sanctuary next door but one has to expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Land007
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Land007” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups. I am confident that given the chance to view the numerous accommodation... More 

Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Rarotonga is an amazing Island with fabulous people. However our experience of the Rarotongan resort and spa was not so. Seems for whatever reason the staff are not happy, seem not to value their guests and certainly we didn't get any sense they had pride in their resort. We were all too happy to kick back and enjoy Island time... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TMcAuckland
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “TMcAuckland” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are concerned and apologise that you experienced aspects during your stay that did not meet your expectations in regards to the service, delays with meals and drinks. We have reviewed your comments with our senior staff... More 

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had read the reviews on this sight prior to going, and I wasn't feeling to positive, although kept an open mind. We a family of four, had a lovely time and found that the reviews written (in our opinion was not as bad as mentiond) Although mental note, if you are a pushy, impatient, intolerant, and unforgiving person the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nadi W
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Nadi W” Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your brief sojourn with us in Rarotonga with your family. Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Expensive and horrible. Looks great, but the shows are terrible compared to other resorts, and the "worlds best" fire people, lost their fire wands into the crowd, was shocking! Equally horrible is all the fish living in plant pots in the baking sun, and the massive eel that is living in a pond thats not much bigger that eel itself!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bry H
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Bry H” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – however, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments. In... More 

Taupo. New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just spent 8 wonderful days in your delightful resort. Having never been to the Cooks before we holidayed with our son, his wife and two children . It was the second trip for them and they are already talking about the third. From the moment we arrived until we left we could not fault the resort. The staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel T
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Isabel T” Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013. We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your return visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delightful family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun... More 

Queenstown
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2010 and had the best holiday ever! Staff were amazing, helpful, efficient and generally fantastic at their jobs. We returned in June this year after getting married along at Muri Beach expecting the same once again but we were disappointed. Bar staff were very slow and not very friendly at all, was very hard to try... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Smithiej
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Smithiej” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013 We are thrilled to hear that our staff were able to quickly assist you with settling into your Deluxe Beachside Suite and address the issues that you raised with them. We are also very... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Rarotongan resort for 6 nights early July. The setting is awesome with the beach at the front door. The resort itself is very tired, our air conditioner wasn't working properly and the fridge froze everything. The service is mediocre and the food was above average. The location to town is good, being only 10 min on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ned2011
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Ned2011” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013. We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – you can see that many of our recent reviews have reflected quite the opposite. However, we do realize that each... More 

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My Wife and I selected this resort on recommendation of our Travel Agent, when we arrived our travel agent had not booked any transfers, our room was really nice, but we found several things not so good, in general the resort is run down and in need of repairs, We got the chefs special that cost us $28 each it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme G
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Graeme G” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation at The Rarotongan. In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of... More 

783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (728)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (159)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (233)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8.9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
7.8 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Price Range: RM733 - RM881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Aroa Beach, Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book The Sanctuary side if you don't have kids, all rooms on Sanctuary side have nice views”
 of 5 bubbles cooks1957, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We've stayed in a Garden Room, Beach Front Room and 2 Bedroom Beachside Unit - All great”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaRuiter, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor Ocean View (no ocean view, too many trees) but quieter, if available pick ground floor, be mindful you may hear to floor people.”
 of 5 bubbles Mariela2Travel, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a ground floor beach front room you need to specify this when you book.”
  • A view from our upstairs room
  • Our room down stairs
  • Another photo from our upstair room (Santuary)
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, choose a beach front room.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonmT3186SP, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay