We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,006 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 992: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa for 6 nights at the end of August 2013. We had read reviews on here before leaving and were very worried about what we were going to end up experiencing. Our worries were completely unfounded as we had an amazing time at The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa. I think some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NZMel
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “NZMel” Thank you for your review in regards to your August 2013 tropical escape at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us including the recent upgrades such as the Waterfall pool and poolside cabanas! Our Sizzling Fajitas are one of the most popular dishes in Captain Andy’s. Set...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just got back from a 10 day family holiday in this resort (2 adults and 2 children ages 11 and 6). Having decided to return to this resort after our visit 6 years ago we decided to give it the benefit of the doubt given some of the negative reviews we had seen. Yes the resort is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mdt1961
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “mdt1961 “ Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate the comments and feedback that you have offered and would like to respond as follows. In terms of your accommodation, we are pleased that our staff were able to attend to your housekeeping concerns in a timely...

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Sanctuary at Rarotonga Resort and Spa is good. The other side (Garden Room) tired and in need of a major upgrade. Overall food in all restaurants is over priced and not good quality. Resort could do with a major makeover including getting a good head chef to train chefs in good basic food without all the frills. Wouldn't go back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan B
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Alan B” Thank you for your review in regards to your visit with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in August 2013 We apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Not quite sure what the problem is for the moaners' recent reviews of the Rarotongan - we thought the rooms, gardens and buildings were in very good condition. Perhaps some guests do not like the island decor??? Why come to a tropical resort if you want an American style hotel??? Our wing had certainly been recently painted and had all...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DianeS36
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “DianeS36” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located...

Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Looked forward to holiday at the Rarotongan for so long, but was totally disappointed. Went with family who have stayed there on three occassions and recommended it to us, they also were disappointed at how run down it has become apparently, as they said it never used to be like that. Staff are banging around cleaning rooms at 8.30-9pm at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loretta A
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Loretta A” Thank you for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations. However, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments....

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Beach lagoon is fantastic! Thats about it....terrible service and the resort looks like it hasn't been updated since it opened about 20 years ago including the towels and sheets. Breakfast is disgraceful, they charge $17.50 for stale bread, powered milk and cereal. The pool is not up to a 4 star standard, however the canoes and stand up boards were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan1171
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Susan1171” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the stunning Aroa Marine Reserve at the very doorstep to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and our sister resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach and the extensive range...

Alexandra, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When you are in the Cook Islands one must watch the sunset with a cocktail in hand but my advice is don't patronise the Rarotongan Hotel as they served us cocktails ....... Wait for it.... In plastic glasses with no embellishment either. They just looked like a milk shake with a straw popped in. Most disappointing as I was there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helleej1
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “helleej1” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent cocktail hour experience at The Rarotongan in August 2013. We do apologise that you were not satisfied with your experience with us. The glasses that we serve our Cocktails in are not plastic but in fact polycarbonate which is necessary with guests walking barefoot around the pool...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We went here again a few time as a day visitor whilst we were in Raro, we found the the place has deteriated a bit but we had good service and nice cocktails and again the snorkeling was great. We can see a bit of work has been done but still need a lot more, We will be back gain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilTaupoNZ
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “NeilTaupoNZ” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013 Our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations – as you have mentioned, you would have seen several new improvements around the...

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Disappointed from start to finish. Paid over $300 a night for a room that had the most disgusting bathroom will mould between the tiles. It was gross. We were there 5 nights got no sleep as our room was near reception. With flights arriving at all ours of the night this meant guests were coming and going loudly at all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brpet
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Brpet” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We apologise that you were not happy with your accommodation or food and beverage dining experience while staying with us. In regards to your accommodation, we do apologise that you did not find our Garden Room met...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We did not stay at the resort but had lunch at the restaurant on Sunday 17 June 2013 @ 12.30pm. As we walked through and around the resort it appeared tired with a lot of the woodwork rotten. The food was a nightmare. When it finally did arrive (there were only a dozen tables occupied) it was COLD (including the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony D
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Tony D” Thank you for your review in regards to your visit with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013 We apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have...

802 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (741)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8.9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Price Range: RM644 - RM1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Aroa Beach, Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Balclutha, New Zealand

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid staying in any of the rooms here - I could have paid $700 for a week in 2 star accommodation that would be better than this.”
 of 5 bubbles BluesTraveller82, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden View room was close to beach, not far from Pool & restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles adio904, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get transport and eat elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles X7596VEnicolep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all very run down and shabby.”
 of 5 bubbles carolcN2123BZ, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sound travels easily between the beachfront rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LeanneH1, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5