We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,097: English reviews
Start your review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
 Click to rate
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, the staff were so amazing and friendly and willing to help you out in any way possible! The property was beautiful, very quiet with 4 beaches to choose from. Excellent swimming and the ability to snorkel on one of the beaches, the water was so clear you could see tropical fish without a mask! We stayed in a small...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank alowing
Dartford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Under no circumstances is it worth paying the extra £12 per night to upgrade to the so called superior seaview rooms. Our room had limited view of the sea, was very dark, no glass in windows, just shutters and wire meshing to keep out the bugs, therefore it was very noisy at night as it also had outside decking in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunnyDartford
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be fooled by the pictures they are years out of date. The whole place is extremely run down. The staff haven't a clue and the buffet food is not good. Hygiene in the dining area is poor with cats wandering everywhere even near the food. The food choice is disgusting not at all Caribbean. If you like cats on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emlyn W
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Your review on trip advisor has been acknowledged. Based on your negative comments it is rather unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations. During your stay were any of your concerns reported to Management?? Fortunately, the majority of our guests are very much pleased with the overall service product which we offer and any concerns or issues experienced...

Merrimac, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would not recommend it. The only good part.... Jesse was the best staff member and always took care of us. Plan on keeping in touch with him! Super guy! Christabelle was also wonderful and always smiling. Beautiful beaches and views and proximity to the water! Love the sound of crashing waves. But.... Rooms are substandard (rms 111, 112), dirty, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MKMerrimac
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team acknowledges your review on trip advisor. It's rather unfortunate that our Resort was not to your liking and we were unable to meet your expectations. However thank you for the positive comment pertaining to our service staff. Sincerely, John St. Luce General Manager Hawksbill by rex resorts

Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed staying here. Yes, it's an old resort, could do with refurbishing but it was clean and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The food was good, plenty of variety and something I looked forward to each day. Staying so close to the beach is relaxing, the beach huts perfectly adequate and the rooms comfortable. I'd stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank suekeating
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advsior. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The genuinely friendliness and efficiency of our service staff, our comfy bungalow type accommodations a few feet from the beach, our varied international cuisine and the overall tranquil atmosphere at...

Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived the views were wonderful from then in went rapidly downhill!the staff were friendly and helpful and took us to our allotted garden view bungalow ,when we got the it overlooked a deralict tennis court over grown and used as a dumping ground.We then entered the room which was dark,totally worn out,dishevelled including the bed and bedding.The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Roger1004
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team acknowledges your review on trip advisor. Unfortunately, we were unable to meet your expectations (hotel was fully booked for the cricket period) in terms of our garden view bungalow type accommodations. We appreciate your positive comments towards the friendliness and efficiency of our service staff. The views at Hawksbill is second to none on...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Parts of this resort are well worth a 5, but others probably only a 3. We loved the setting, the welcome, the amazing staff, the constant crash of the waves and the simplicity , but comfort of our chalet. However the facilities of the resort are limited and the food was good but not exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sportfollower
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed our friendly and efficient service, our comfy bungalow type accommodations a few feet away from the sea shore, our international cuisine and the overall tranquil atmosphere. A memorable experience indeed which encourages one to return time...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We went to hawks head on a $60 per person day pass. The receptionist said " full use of facilities. All inclusive lunch and afternoon tea. Use of the 5 beaches and unlimited drinks. That sounded like good value. We paid and went in. OMG. this place is unbelievable for all of the wrong reasons Further more virgin holidays actually...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael L
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team acknowledges your review on trip advisor. Unfortunately, our Resort was definitely not to your liking based on your observations mentioned from the 'day pass' spent with us. Fortunately, the majority of our visitors are satisfied with the service and product we offer for a three start rated Resort. Sincerely, John St. Luce General Manager...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We've just spent 10 days at Hawksbill ...and now seven days later I want to go back. It's not a pristine glassy hotel, it's a sprawling array of bungalows and rooms..shabby chic springs to mind. It has modern renovated rooms on the beach and around the Cove..and it's so relaxing. Tree frogs and crashing waves can keep you awake at...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lynne M
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advsior. We are happy that your ten days at Hawksbill was indeed enjoyable due to the great service you received from our service team who you remember so well. They are all dedicated to their duties and are genuinely friendly. Combined with...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here on the first leg of our 2017 England ODI cricket tour. The location is superb the grounds and the beaches, but the hotel rooms are very old and tired. We were A.I., the food and drink was OK and the serving staff were pretty good, however our room was a 'Superior garden view room' which had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ian W
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advisor. Your stay with us seemed satisfactory and we are pleased that you enjoyed our staff, food and a location. Your concerns about the accommodation is noted. Upgrades of the overall Resort are ongoing. Both staff and guest (mostly repeaters) have created...

1,540 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1068)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (247)
Viewed
View from Room (117)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (202)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (300)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (462)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (53)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Honeymoon Cove Room (64)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Room (53)
Viewed
Garden View Bungalow (41)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Sea View Bungalow (49)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
9.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,794 reviews
7.5 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.8 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,644 reviews
22.1 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
1.0 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Price Range: RM796 - RM1,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, West Indies, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and other travellers.
88 questions
Ask a question
Lanzarote, Spain
london
8 months ago

See all questions (88)

Questions? Get answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach front has better views”
suekeating, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior garden view rooms are NOT superior”
  • Very grotty shower
IanWDronfield, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a beach bungalow”
georged1232017, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room by the larger of the two beaches”
madeirafan49, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The main beach bungalows have the calmest water for swimming”
KannyDevon, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5