We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Walmer Lodge Apartments

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Walmer Lodge Apartments
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of Walmer Lodge Apartments
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 February 2017

This location was booked last minute because my original place was not yet available until the next day. Upon arrival you had to ring a bell, which would be odd for a lodge( as they claim). A very nice lady opened the door and there stood directly behind her a picture of Jesus on the wall. While I believe in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank humanworks2003
Kanata, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Left and my family stranded at 3:00AM with no place to stay. We are traveling with my 2 daughters 9 & 11. Thanks goodness for the kind taxi driver who stayed with us the whole time until we could get new accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N0tHappy101
Clovis, New Mexico
Reviewed 14 September 2016

So, I was looking for a place to stay in Barbados. This hotel was one of the cheapest I could find that didn't look like a total dump. I saw some negative reviews, but thought for the price, I had to give it a chance. How much you enjoy this property depends on your reason for travel. You're in Barbados....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gowanna
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Again, have now spent our 13th. annual visit to Walmer Lodge for 8 weeks. Not the most luxurious place in Barbados, but, if you like the best beaches and great hospitality, this is the place for you. Hospitality is second to none. Keep up the good work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cestnous
Roseau, Dominica
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Recently stayed at Walmer Lodge Apartments February 14 to 26 2015. The accommodations was excellent. Very friendly and helpful owners. Mr Worell brought me and my daughter to her very first appointment on the other side of town, to Beckles Road. From then on we took the bus as there is a bus stop right outside the apartments on both...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ambeautifully M
Santa Tecla
Reviewed 10 October 2014

The romme was smelly and dirty, I found dead bugs and a dirty tissue. Even though my credit card was charged, the manager said they didn't get the money, so I was forced to pay for the night I stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Leszpipil
Keith W, Owner at Walmer Lodge Apartments, responded to this review

Hello This was indeed a scandal project to degrade our property as much as possible, it could not be be money as the the money was a very small sum, on my document it was twice as much. We tried to down load but it never did, the information given looked genuine . When MR Sanchezz arrived we informed him...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have just returned from our 8 weeks stay at Walmer Lodge. This is the 12th. year in a row that we have stayed here, from mid Jan. to mid March. Located just above the best beaches in Barbados, where you can walk for 2.5kms. Great location. Clean. Maid service every day.Bus stops right outside front door. Free WiFi. Owners, Baz...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cestnous
London
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've actually stayed at Walmer Lodge twice, both long-term rentals, i.e. for periods over six weeks. I freely admit to loving my home comforts - I'm an all-mod cons kind of gal, and have low tolerance for low standards. So the fact that I returned to Walmer Lodge would be sufficient for anyone who knows me well to appreciate that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sunlovingme
Brikama, Gambia
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Small family-run homely apartments-selfcontained close to everything u need-transport no prob-clubbing restaurants everything nearby-n d beach fabulous-5 min walk-the hostesses very helpful knowledgeable n accommodating.def will stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Great Heron F
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Having read several reviews prior to booking this location, I really wasn't expecting much. Located just about 3 minutes from the quiet Batt's Rock Beach in Black Rock, this family owned facility was ideally suited for my 2 night stay. The facility is rather old and could do with major upgrading but the free WiFi, air-conditioned rooms, fully equipped kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Papertrailer

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.0 km away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
0.0 km away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Island Inn Hotel
Island Inn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bridgetown
555 reviews
0.0 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,506 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A serene and peaceful vacation on our beautiful West Coast is yours for the taking at Walmer Lodge. Just 50 yards from your balcony is a lovely white sandy beach, a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea and our tropical garden setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Walmer Lodge Apartments

Address: West Coast, Jt. James, Bridgetown BB24001, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Price Range: RM302 - RM526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walmer Lodge Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Walmer Lodge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walmer Lodge Apartments Hotel Bridgetown
Walmer Lodge Apartments Barbados/Bridgetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Walmer Lodge Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Columbus, Ohio
Bridgetown, Barbados

I have stayed at the Walmer Lodge Apartments from 25 years ago until recently and found those negative comments to be very untrue. This property is nice clean and cosy and should not be downgraded like this.

The owners are very pleasant, kind and accommodating and should not be ridiculed like that.

Perhaps the problem is that it should be advertised as a self contained, beach guest house and not a hotel and that should clear some of the problem up. It is not a Hotel just a great home away from home for locals and tourist alike.

I highly recommend this guest house where you are private and the owners don't breath your necks down...you have your space, quiet, calm and relaxation all in one and can go shopping if you like and is close to all the amenities, west coast restaurants and all other activities.

This very perfectly located beach property brings back special memories to me from my early days of decent courtship indeed. I would not trade it for the world.

Lots of the other so called favourite spots in ST Lawrence Gap are filled with the prostitutes, pimps, Bi-Sexuals, Cocain Addicts, Drug Dealers, Con men and con women.....Lots of HIV Carriers and not to mention lots of dirty regulars who urinate, deficate and vomit right by the entrances to these popular restaurant and clubs in the gap.... and most of these characters are homeless due to their continuous bad practising lifestyles.

Take it from me....I worked in the gap for three years and I really think it is high time the authorities do something about the lifestyle and bad practices in the St Lawrence Gap.

What has happened to all of the false promises made to the former property owners??? I say former as all the previous tenants have had to run before they are totally bankrupt. They are losing their business, their homes etc...

The Gov't came to the assistance of the Large Hoteliers and the poor restaurant operators have been left to die and have not been included in the benefits put out by the government for concessions to be granted....What a shame...

It was interesting to see the operator of Chez Max Restaurant Chef Max Benz shoveling and cleaning up the Stinky Smelling Sea Weed from by the waterside of his restaurant in an effort to bring customers back to the restaurant. Need I say More...

My final question is...Who's going to pay the price to make the wrong things right in this country to decent hard working restaurant/ businessmen like Chef Max Benz. Shame on the authorities.

Diner at Chez Max Restaurant.

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Walmer Lodge Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the owner, he won't steer you wrong.”
gowanna, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're at all unhappy with your room, let the owners know, and they'll change it if rooms are available.”
sunlovingme, 1 May 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates