We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Santiago de Cuba

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Panoramas (34)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Santiago de Cuba
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Devon
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Modern Western style, 15 storey, hotel. Staff mostly friendly. Used by tour groups. Keep clear of Reception when tour groups check in or out.Three lifts also very busy at this time, especially for those departing when getting a lift down can be very difficult when full with people and their cases - allow at least ten minutes. (Tip - at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank downingman
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear downingman: We appreciate very much your review. It was very kind of you to make some comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are happy our staff made the difference and your impressions related to the service were the best ones. Our hotel is the largest in town, that is why there we are perfect for small and...

London
Reviewed 25 November 2014

One of the reviews here is headed "Not what I expect from a Melia hotel, even in Cuba" and I think that is fair. We stayed two nights, and changed rooms after one, and to a degree this is a review of two halves. Our room the first night was one the 2nd floor. It looked shabby, with tired-looking linen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barmag
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Barmag: We are thankful for all your comments. All of them have been analyzed and seriously addressed. Excuse us if at first your experience was not the best one. We can assure this is not the usual way we present our rooms to our guests. We are happy after all you end up in a very nice room...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as part of an excursion with a trip we booked with Thomson. It was a nice, clean and quiet hotel and wax in a decent location. The good was good and we really liked the bar that was on the top floor. We got to sit outside on the terrace and took some great photos....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travellingwiganer
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Travellingwiganer: Thanks for your nice comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We are extremely happy you had a wonderful time among us and we appreciate the fact that you have recommend our hotel to others. We agree our hotel has a great location and the Bello Bar on the top floor is a perfect place to relax...

Reviewed 6 November 2014

We were very disappointed by our stay in this Melia Hotel. The service was poor, and the woman at the concierge desk was very rude and refused to help us with anything. For example, we asked her to help us to check our flights as domestic flight times often change last minute in cuba and she refused. She would not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Winter_wonderlands
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Winter_wonderlands: We are very sorry your stay in our Meliá Santiago de Cuba hotel was not as expected. We apologize for every single inconvenience you went through and promise that is not the way we normally proceed and take care of our guests’ issues. Thanks for dedicating some time to leave your comments on those aspects that you consider...

Reviewed 6 November 2014

The hotel is what it is - clean, safe, totally motel8ish, if you will - the people and staff are fantastic have been staying there for the past four , now five years - enjoyed every one of those weeks. The staff is ALWAYS helpful, just love going there John

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John O
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear John O: We are thankful for your review. It is wonderful you had a great time in our hotel and hope you will visit us again very soon. It is very nice your impressions about our staff were the best. Santiago de Cuba citizens are recognized by their friendly nature and our workers pay honor to this outstanding feature...

Courbevoie, France
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This huge building has no charm at all and we were surprised to see that the overall cleanses was not the priority especially in our room.... It was completely forgiven one day (rapidly done when mentioned to the reception) but not at it best. Very nice breakfast included..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tattraveler92400
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Tattraveler92400: We are very sorry your impression of our hotel was not the best one. It is really a shame because we pay so much care to our guests and their comfort. The reason why your room was not cleaned one of the days of your stay could have been an involuntary activation of the “do not disturb” button...

Colborne, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Stayed at this hotel several times, always pleased. My last visit July 21-28, 2014 was disappointing. The general exterior appearance is looking run-down in need of paint, except where two sides were painted as Cuba' and China's president were on a day visit (which caused the guests much inconvenience). The glass roof over the lobby still was leaking in rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Terry S: We are deeply sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your last visit to our hotel, mostly because we noticed you were a repeat guest and wanted your stay to be very special. Regarding the different concerns that you stated during your stay we consider that they all received our entire attention and interest....

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014

|this was a nice hotel, with a nice pool. Good poolside cocktails and food. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms good and clean with nice bathroom and hot water. Not far from town and you only need to step out to enjoy the american cars. Ask the car directly for a price as they are not as expensive as you think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank H E
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear H E: Thanks for your nice comments about our pool and our food. Our staff has received your compliments and appreciates your effort to communicate it to others. Thanks as well for pointing out the clean rooms and the possibility to get a nice ride to the center by just stepping out of the building. We hope that some...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 September 2014

While one of Cuba's premier hotels, it is really just average. The rooms are very clean and the service is good. The breakfast buffet is adequate. The Italian Cafe had the best food/selections. The hotel is in a very good location. Unfortunately there did seem to be a few "interesting couples" at the hotel. Great entertainment nightly at the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle R
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Gayle R: We would like to thank you for your review. It was very nice to hear that you found our rooms very clean, that the service was good, and that the entertainment at the bar was awesome. Thanks as well for mentioning the exquisite food selection at our Italian restaurant and the excellent location of our hotel. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Large hotel, nor all that far from town, you can walk there from the bus stop in the town (20 minutes). I didn't know what to expect in Cuba, given the strict regime under which these poor people have to live. Anyhow this view can best be described as a modern western hotel at good rates. Large rooms, great swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter R
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Peter R: Thanks for your comments. We are glad you could enjoy your stay in our facility, which for us is pure satisfaction. Our hotel is located only two kilometers away from town, which is appreciated by most of our guests, taking into account the peaceful and beautiful environment, together with all the places around to be visited. Thanks...

1,157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (224)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (510)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Classic Room (23)
Viewed
Higher Level Classic Room (26)
Viewed
Junior Suite (25)
Viewed
Kids' Pool (3)
Viewed
Lower Pool (14)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (184)
Viewed
Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
Upper Pool (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
767.5 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,129 reviews
60.9 km away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#8 of 10 in Holguin
53 reviews
763.6 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
765.3 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,438 reviews
38.1 km away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#5 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
832 reviews
121.2 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: RM791 - RM1,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Santiago de Cuba staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
3 months ago
Da Nang, Vietnam
8 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Santiago de Cuba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“15th floor roof top bar a must for the view”
  • cocktails and sunsets
 of 5 bubbles 428grahame, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All outside rooms have wonderful views of the City. ”
 of 5 bubbles jwest0554, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great choice, very predictable comfortable stay . . a bit sterile if you are seeking more adventure and more of the local flavor”
 of 5 bubbles Willy5169, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Since this is in a quiet neighborhood and back from the street, noise should not be an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles jwhitehouse, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“anything over the 6th is fab”
 of 5 bubbles wobbly_bob, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5