We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Memories Varadero

Booking.comUS$160*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Grand Memories Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,999 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,331: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Memories Varadero
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just so you know, my husband and I have traveled to Cuba 10 times. This was our second time to Varadero. We are simple people and don't expect much from Cuba. This hotel had the worst food ever. The buffet was so blah and the food was just tasteless. Their sauces are just watered down, one day they have mangos...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ann Z
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Ann, We are very sad to read that the food was not up your liking. Moreover, we apologize for the issues you mentioned. For sure, we will share your suggestions with the rest of our team to do the necessary corrections. Guests satisfaction is one of our priorities and we will keep up the work to make sure or...

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is Cuba. People are friendly the beaches are beautiful and there is no snow!! Was not overly impressed with Grand Memories Varadero. The food is nothing fancy but do highly recommend the Beach Buffet and the open BBQ of chicken and pork. But be prepared for workers to ask you to sneak them food..lol They enjoy a cold beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msHLS3
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are happy to read that you enjoyed the beach grill as well as the staff and the beach. On the other hand we regret that the food was not of your liking. Moreover, a apart from the lobby bar you could have use the Cuban bar to sit and socialize. We hope we could welcome you again...

shelburne, nova scotia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed may 7-14/17. We were in building 15 near the quiet pool.Our bed was comfortable,with large pillows.Ac worked,plenty of hot water,good water pressure.Fridge wAs restocked.quiet part of the building.Patio door didn't lock but we were on 2nd floor. We spent one day at beach and one day at quiet pool.Both were great . Most of the trip we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbateman1
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you had a nice holiday and we especially appreciate your comments about the room, the entertainment and the food selection. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future, Kind regard, General Manager,

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the second of two all-ins we stayed at in April 2017. The dinning-hall food was better than the Melia Peninsula and we did get into one of the specialty restaurants (the Japanese) even though we were there just for one night. They used the wrong rice for the sushi and it was dry. The Service was lack luster....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonTurley
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Ron, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your comments are very useful as help us to keep improving the quality of our service. Your suggestions will be considered with the rest of our team and we will take the necessary adjustments. We hope you could give us a second chance in the near future, Warm regards,...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'd recommend Cuba to anyone however I would advise to avoid ths hotel at all costs! Our room was never cleaned and the room in places was filthy and hadnt been cleaned properly for quite some time, it was rare we had clean towels and never had a change of bedding once and then cleaning staff demanded a tip at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jo T
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Jo, We are very sad to read your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize if your experience was not up to your expectations and we will analyze all your comments with our staff to make sure that the inconvenience you experienced are solved. We hope we could welcome you again to change your opinion about our hotel, Kind...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Gonna keep this review short and simple. Before you continue on reading, just keep in mind that I've been to dozens of all inclusive resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican and by far this was the absolute worst. Food - The usual. I don't keep high expectations for Cuba anyways. Main thing that bothered me was the dead fly on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nikesh P
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Nikesh, We are very sad to read your comments after your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize if we haven't achieve your expectations and we apologize for the incident you had at the italian restaurant. Moreover, we regret that you couldn't get water at the room and we will pass this matter to the housekeeping department to do...

Edmonton
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boys (12 & 13), my Grandmother (87 and had to use a wheelchair), and I just returned from a beautiful vacation at Grand Memories Varadero. I'm not one to sugar coat things, so please get ready for the good, the bad, and the ugly. PleaPe also note that this information is solely my opinion from what my family and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Taradlyon
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Tara, Thank you for providing your feedback after your recent stay. We are very sad to read the problems you had with the lost items. Unfortunately, if the sandals were left a part and no one bring them to lost and found there is nothing we can do to track them. Moreover, we are sad to read about the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was not happy when we were ask to get cash advance from to pay our bill the first night we checked in, because their visa machine did not work. The room was clean and the staff were very nice. I have mobility issues so being advised that cart service was available would of helped me get to and from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winnie W
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Winnie, We apologize if the visa machine was not working. This is just one of the payment options available so it is not a compulsory item. Moreover, we regret that you had to walk to your room on you own if you would have told us for sure, a bell boy will have been able to assist you. We...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Grand Memories the third week in February, 2017. We have been to Varadero three times before, twice at Memories Varadero, so we expected Grand Memories to be even better. This was not the case, but that being said, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly. Our maid was very efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorkToTravel_12
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for providing your complete feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay among us. However, we regret that the behavior of other guests was not the expected. We will report that to our security department to make sure it doesn't happen again. We...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you go to this hotel then expect to be ill. Its dirty and so outdated. The pools are dirty and a feeding ground for bacteria. The smell of rotten sewers in block 20 was awful. Told to leave door open and ac on to get rid of the smell. The food was always cold and sometimes been reheated that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sammy T
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Sammy, We are very sad to read that your experience at our resort was not up to your expectations. We apologize if your room was not of your liking and we regret the problems you had regarding the cleanliness. All your complaints will be shared with all the departments involved and we will do the necessary corrections as improving...

2,365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2345)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (419)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (445)
Viewed
Room/Suite (163)
Viewed
Dining (151)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1064)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.5 km away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
0.4 km away
Memories Varadero Beach Resort
11.4 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
224.6 km away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,410 reviews
0.8 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy Cuba's blissful year-round climate, stunning white sand beaches, and crystal clear waters with a stay at the luxurious Grand Memories Varadero. Elegant and spacious guestrooms are available in a variety of room categories in our child-friendly and Adults-Only sections. Lounge by the dazzling pools, get active with a variety of land and water sports, work out at the fitness centre, or pamper yourself at the luxurious spa. Children will have a great time at our Kids Club, which features a children's play area with supervised games and activities. Guests of the Adults-Only area will enjoy extra luxuries such as complimentary 24-hour room service, club house, cigar room, butler service and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Memories Varadero

Address: Km 18.5 Autopista Sur | Parque Natural Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Riu Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: RM543 - RM1,378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Memories Varadero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Memories Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Memories Varadero staff and other travellers.
650 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (650)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Memories Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to be on the beach side, so you do not have to look at the other resort's garbage area.”
winniew926, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room was quiiet but we did not choose it.”
  • Very clean. King sized bed.
  • Our maid was creative.
WorkToTravel_12, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Spend the money, and try different resort. This ones is not that good.”
samfN7093YF, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Building 20,21,22 and 23 is in the center of the resort”
stevewO5212LI, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“bungalow 24 close to beach. Gourmet a la cart has an amazing steak dinner!!!”
Hed123, 7 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$160* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates