We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (6583)
360
Panoramas (9)
Pool & Beach (1634)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 7 resorts in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas their resort of choice when visiting Varadero. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer air conditioning and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as paid internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas features a concierge. In addition, as a valued Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Travellers looking for pubs can head to Hotel Riu Restaurant.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular historic site like Ambrosio Cave, which is a short distance from the resort.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas as you experience all of the things Varadero has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
6148Reviews842Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,643
  • 1,740
  • 910
  • 475
  • 384
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
karl k wrote a review Yesterday
Winnipeg, Canada1 contribution
Between Feb. 16 and 23 we stayed at the Roc Arenas Doradas Hotel in Varadero, Cuba. Expecting less than optimum conditions, we were surprised by some of the positive features of the hotel: the room was regularly attended to, there was ample hot water, towels were exchanged daily and the room was cleaned at a regular time each day. I won’t comment on the beach because it was excellent. Despite a northern cold front, which swept up hundreds of “Medusas” (Portuguese man O’ Wars) onto the beach at night, it was cleaned up by the time we arrived there after breakfast. It was also assuring to find a Cruz Roja representative on the beach who assured us that antidotes to the sting of that vicious jelly fish were available in the hotel infirmary. Well done! We were disappointed that the bar had little variety. There was only beer, Cuban white rum and a French (?) whisky. Nothing else. That lack of variety reached to the kitchen as well. Although some dishes were very savoury, there was a lack of variety. Furthermore dishes were frequently tepid or downright cold. Why is it that in a Caribbean island, there was not one ripe banana or orange available during the breakfast hour? There were a variety of juices, but these were so watered down as to be insipid. The special restaurants, La Nature and La Dolce Vita provided a drinkable wine for dinner, but there was no wine list we could have chosen from. In fact it was impossible to buy any but the most expensive wines in the town of Varadero. In addition, the menu was sterile and repetitive. We do understand the special conditions that Cuba has to operate under, and we won’t comment on the causes. However, it should occur to someone that tourists are not going to buy Duty Free Cuban Rum which they can buy for about 50% less at home. That situation boggles the mind. But, of course, that was not the hotel’s fault. On the positive side, the staff was excellent, friendly, and personnel did their utmost to make our stay a pleasant one. Karl Koth
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded yesterday
Dear 250karlk, Thank you very much for choosing us and for the time dedicated to write and publish the comment on this site. It is a little bit controversial that your write that You understand the actual situation of the country and on the other hand you are amazed for the lack of variety. Something else that we would like to point out la that fruits in Cuba depend om the season. No matter this we very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stefano G wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Great experience at this resort ! Well maintained, clean. No big shortages. People are nice and beach is awesome as always. Food is great, no complains. Lots of activities and entertainment. I don't give 5 stars because... some people come here just for the booze and get drunk. I understand it's money for the hotel, but they shouldn't encourage this behaviour or normal families who just want to go there for fun and relax will progressively stay away. I mean there are some times where in some places it looked like a rehab place, we had someone literally vomiting in front of our door in the middle of the night. If you just want to get drunk please stay home !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded yesterday
Dear StefanoG2023, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We would like to point out that our Security staff is very efficient and it is available 24 hours the 7 days of the week. They take care of any incident when ir is reported. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YuliT wrote a review 27 Feb
3 contributions
I stayed for a week in this hotel, it is the first time and I have been shocked with such good attention and service, it is true that there are some points to improve but they are so small that they do not have to be mentioned, the cleanliness is extraordinary in all sides of the place but especially in my room 730, the maid deserves praise for such a good job, at the reception there are nothing but professionals who know how to inform and give good treatment, and to finish the beach is the best I have ever seen. life. I think I will return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 2 days ago
Dear yulitatruj, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jean Philippe M wrote a review 27 Feb
1 contribution
The best part was my room it was always kept clean and was stocked with water The maid even brought me coffee. Entertainment was good all the staff were friendly. The beach was beautiful. The pool was clean and the drinks were fantastic. I’d would recommend it. The food was alright but you can’t be fussy
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded yesterday
Dear 847jeanphilippem, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martha333 wrote a review 25 Feb
Lac du Bonnet, Canada61 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
This is our 5th time here. Feels like family and staff are great. Sure there is a few shortages but they are trying to pick after Covid like the rest of the world. We brought a few snacks and essentials in case we needed some things. Sun,sand is it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring US AND CANADA cash. No coins as the banks will not take them. The hop on off bus are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Martha333, Thank you very much for choosing us again, for your loyalty, for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jaslit D wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
I was on vacation at the beginning of February at this hotel and the best thing they have is the excellent staff, friendly and professional, and their service. was in room 723 which despite being old had excellent cleanliness, excellent structure and comfort, during our day we never felt bored we always had something to do, we enjoyed the beach which is unique by the way and better than any we found visited, the entertainment activities were very entertaining and the drinks were very delicious. This place attracts and we know why, I am very happy to have chosen it and I know I will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 2 days ago
Dear jaslitd, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mi wrote a review 24 Feb
Havana, Cuba1 contribution
It was a vacation with good experience, the kindness with which they work and the service are very nice, there is good cleanliness and a delicious food that is always available, I loved the beach party and the Cuban day, they are one of the best things I have enjoyed, I was in room 725 and I thought it was very good above all the work of the maid. We hope to return soon to enjoy the beauty of the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 3 days ago
Dear roberticog2024, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ShannJerr wrote a review 24 Feb
St. Albert, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
Boyfriend and I were just here beginning of February for a week. We went in knowing some shortages in Cuba but figured it would be ok with the sun, beaches and people. Unfortunately not. Cuba is not known for their food, but it was the exact same sides at buffet for the entire week, with not much of a change to the main every night. Alcohol shortages, only rum and draft beer available. No alcohol at buffet and only wine offered at the ala carte which only 3 were allowed in a week. The ala carts did their best to elevate the food they had, but Italian restaurant with no pasta? Coffee machine in room but no coffee, fridge not stocked with anything but a bottle of water per day. The grounds were immaculate with quite a bit of staff working on them, however, the beach was wracked once and the piles of stuff were left there all week and no one ever came back to clean up the beach. Previous trips to Cuba the people were phenomenal, this time however, not the case Speaking to other people on the resort who were over tipping, they stopped due to the unfriendliness of the staff. With the alcohol shortages were took to enjoying our cappuccinos at the coffee bar until we saw them barely rinse the cups for 2 seconds with no soup under running tap water and quickly reuse them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 5 days ago
Dear ShannJerr, We regret that this writing is the result of the experience you had during your stay at our hotel. It is a shame that we have not been able to satisfy your tastes in terms of gastronomic offerings. We can assure you that our staff strives to offer the best service with what they have at their disposal. We have a Customer Service department that is constantly listening to our clients' criteria to act in a timely manner, offering solutions and giving the proper follow up until the end of the stay. We are amazed that you think that way about the kindness of our employees. We usually receive favorable comments about their kindness and professionalism. We take this opportunity to let you and other travelers know how important it is to find out about the services provided by the hotel of your choice before arriving at your destination. In our case we have a coffee/tea maker in the rooms but the coffee service is against payment. We do not have mini bar service in the rooms. We have a lobby bar that is open 24 hours a day and a snack throughout the night time tin addition to the established hours during the day. We provide particular attention to hygiene and cleanliness. We receive periodic visits from both the Ministry of Public Health and environmental protection institutions. For compliance with established standards we hold the Health License and environmental endorsement. We would like to conclude by apologizing for not having met your expectations. We will continue working since customer satisfaction is a priority. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Director Malaika García Deputy Commercial Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Parrothead1964 wrote a review 23 Feb
Thunder Bay, Canada20 contributions13 helpful votes
We just spent a week at this beautiful resort and have a few comment. First off the resort itself is beautiful and well kept. The ground keepers do an excellent job. The staff are friendly and were very accommodating, our housekeeper Anismathy was great, thank you! One of the noticeable shortages was the food and a lack of a variety, if you can afford it upgrade to the Roc Plus. I was worth it!! unless you are okay with pork and rice every lunch and dinner. FYI, very little chicken, no sea food, no pasta, no pizza etc. and very little cheese at the buffet. Beach and pool were spectacular, the staff at the beach bar and pool bar were over-the-top friendly. For the most part they had a variety of speciality drinks available however ran out of the more popular ones early every day. I feel the the Roc management could have done a better job having more supply on hand. Those of you looking for something other than Rum drinks are out of luck. This was our 10th trip to Varadero Cuba and enjoyed the Arenas Doradas property. If you choose this resort keep an open mind and learn to roll with what's available. One thing I found it hard to understand is the lack of variety of food and drinks at this resort and what appeared to be a wide selection just a few kilometres away when you go into town. Beatles bar, very poor service even when you tip, it has really gone down hill over the years. the Factoria, great service with excellent Lobster meals. Till next time Cubs, Cheers. Parrothead64
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Parrothead1964, Thank you very much for choosing us , for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. The reasons of the shortages We are facing are pretty known but anyway We are sure the travellers that use this site are going to appreciate your tips. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mirela U wrote a review 22 Feb
1 contribution
+1
Our cuban family. A very cozy place(a big zen gardens with spots to talk and vibrate with the nature) Very attentionate staff. Warm people. Our second family. Good food. Big improvements(renovated appartments). It was our fourth time so, its said a lot. The beautiful beach
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Director General, General Manager at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 69mirelau, Thank you very much for choosing us again, for your loyalty, for your comment and for the time dedicated to write and publish it on this site. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the way you highlight the work of our staff and the services we provide. Hoping to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards. Vladimir Martinez General Manager Malaika García Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
arenas doradas varadero, arenas doradas cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ROC ARENAS DORADAS: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews and 7,052 Photos (Varadero, Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (0.8 km), Mi Casa Beatles (7.6 km), and Cueva de Ambrosio (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Gruta El Vino, Waco's Club, and Varadero 60.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (2.3 km).