We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Peninsula Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,076: English reviews
Start your review of Melia Peninsula Varadero
 Click to rate
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed today NEW

pros: nice beach, friendly staff. Nice suite, good location. Cons: worst trip ever, arrived at airport 2 hrs early only to be told plane was delayed 3 hrs, frozen pipes on plane(bs), no air conditioning in front of plane while people in back were freezing. We pre purchased upgrade to elegance club junior suite with express check in, no staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
Chemainus, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel approx. 12 years ago and our experience was great. Today however it was absolutely rundown and basically disgusting. The shower in our room did not work nor did the tv, the safe, air conditioning and the patio door did not even have lock on it was broken off (ground floor room). The room was over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dallin9469
Laval, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ground floor room with view of the back of another resort. Room definitely needs to be refurbished. Several things in disrepair on the grounds, ex. broken light fixtures, small wooden bridges. Very dark on the grounds at night. Several items missing in the room upon check in. We had the "elegant package" which included several amenities none of which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cc1312017
Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking we emailed the hotel with a request. Due to an injury I'm walking on wonky knees. I requested a room on the ground floor. They never answered even though I resent my request a few days later. When we arrived at the resort they assigned us a room on the third floor. Sigh..I inquired about my email. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunk T
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Dunk: We are deeply sorry you have had those inconveniences at Meliá Península Varadero. Also it is nice you have taken part of your time to let us know your opinion. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant...

Bridgewater, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Disapointed not to have king bed as we had requested. Chicken was no where on the buffet menu. Bread bar was fantastic. Would like to see more breakfast food variety (no waffles, muffins). Fruit was limited and servings of meat was poor. Entertainment was lacking as well. Overall experience was positive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to...

Stoughton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort was wonderful for Cuba. The Air Transat rep, Martha, really put it into perspective on how different Cuba is. This is not the Palladium in Mexico, and Cuba does things it's own way. Unfortunately there were things like broken toilets, out of order bathrooms, worn chairs, tables, etc. However, as the hotel is owned by the government there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheYoungTraveller99
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear TheYoungTraveller99: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently. I...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a beautiful resort. The food was good - buffet and and a la carte. My main issue was that the lack of lighting of the evening. I was unable to attend any of the shows. It was total darkness outside over 6 pm. Booking with the elegance club. There was a major mix-up when I registered. It actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank syldelaquis
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear syldelaquis: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to...

Leduc, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have not checked the other prices in Cuba, but this place was once a lovely place in it's original state! It has since been patched together! We had to plead for sufficient water bottles, lengthy wait times at the bar too. The beach toilet never had the ladies' stall toilet seat the whole week. Men's poolside toilet was out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mavis B
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Mavis: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My comments will echo the same as the others. This resort was once a beautiful spot and now requires major update - in dire straits of help/update in all areas. Shout out to Leo, Denniers, Adrian @lobby bar; Dany Fernando, Onyx @buffet for their constant good service. Did not hang out at the pool but got coffee there and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccq2017
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear ccq2017: We are deeply sorry you have had those inconveniences at Meliá Península Varadero. Regarding your remarks, we have opened investigations with the involved departments to find an answer as quickly as possible. This kind of situation is not common in our hotel, but we are ought to consider all the details in that case. So, we will appreciate...

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a relatively smaller hotel with smaller blocks for the rooms. Grounds are very well kept. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Food was overall quite good. Main buffet always had good variety. À la carte restaurants were very good. Beach restaurant was surprisingly quite good! Beach was nice as most Cuba beaches are.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank charleslY1597PJ
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear charleslY1597PJ: Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero! It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We appreciate everyone of the reference in your review, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, facilities, the beautiful beach, the animation activities, cleanness, and the big variety...

4,834 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4805)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (436)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1064)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (898)
Viewed
View from Room (130)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (122)
Viewed
Dining (447)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1531)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1972.9 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1999.5 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
11.8 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: RM908 - RM1,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#26 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and other travellers.
377 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (377)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to elegance, best location”
 of 5 bubbles frankr825, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Simply put, don't go there.”
 of 5 bubbles dallin9469, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access”
 of 5 bubbles cc1312017, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles dunkt, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Fix broken patio door - room 2525! Check shower spray - was leaking on top. ”
 of 5 bubbles yvonner43, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5