We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sol Caribe Beach

Calle K Y Avenida De Las Américas, Varadero, Varadero 42200 Cuba
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1268)
Pool & Beach (43)
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 81 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel is near the Plaza América Convention Centre and Varadero Golf Club. A unique architectural style, with buildings of up to five storeys set around two large swimming pools. It provides a 1,200-metre stretch of beach with white sand and shallow waters, special activities and areas for kids, and free Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
450Reviews45Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 335
  • 68
  • 22
  • 14
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
dkqc wrote a review Yesterday
Shawinigan, Canada235 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
Went for a 3-week stay over Christmas. Countless trips to Cuba, but our 1st visit to this hotel, which we liked very much. Good location, walkable to town. A comfortable bed (can be rare in Cuba). It's clean and has nice pools, great coffee and friendly Cubans (no shortage of those). No problems with hot water supply. The beach is fantastic. Food was just okay due to import shortages that the country is facing, but still alright. No major digestive issues, so that is worth gold. We enjoyed the Salt & Pepper à la carte. The violinist we saw there was amazing. Great staff! Shout out to our maid Yude, the best! Bartenders Christian, Yohan, and Theresa, and to Adrian at the Jazz Bar who makes a G&T that is a work of art. Grisel with animation is a gem. The Lokéa animation team from France are a hoot. So much energy. Appreciated the action in the lobby. A great space on cooler or rainy days in particular. Big enough for animation, with good seating for hanging out. Decent wifi there, but not good in our room. We exchange money for Cuban pesos (ask around for people who exchange and for best rates) and tip with that, but CDN and USD bills are appreciated. Don't tip with coins! Their banks won't take them and then they ask us to buy them back for bills. Bring long-sleeved shirts to give away. Everyone gives them summer clothes but they need warm stuff too. Take some mosquito repellent because they're around in the lobby and on the beach, particularly at the end of the day. Not as many as in the Dominican Republic though, to my experience. Don't miss having a fresh pineapple drink with the guy who drives down the beach on his ATV. Delicious! Speaking of the beach, I lost my cap while walking on the on the beach once and turned back for it. A few minutes later, I saw that a group of Cubans had found it. One of them took it into the ocean to wash the sand off it, then gave it back to me with a hug, a smile and good wishes. Wow! Cuba, we love you. Thanks for being so charming and kind to us Canadian snowbirds.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KaySaPlus1 wrote a review 27 Feb
Burlington, Canada5 contributions7 helpful votes
This resort was very clean and newly renovated. The staff was friendly and the food was good (for Cuban resort standards). We ate at the Asian, Italian and Cuban restaurants for dinner and was very happy with our meals. The buffet was great for breakfast and lunch along with the snack bar for burgers. Beach towels was scarce and the hotel ran out of coffee on my 2nd day. No Caffeine = Very Cranky me. Otherwise, I would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jmacaulay16 wrote a review 22 Feb
Pilot Mound, Canada1 contribution
Pretty good 4 star resort with nightly shows and daytime activities staff kept guests entertained. As English speaking from Manitoba CANADA, we were minorities, among Russians, France, Spanish, some Asians.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jmacaulay: Thank you very much for commenting about our hotel on Tripadvisor. For the staff at Sol Caribe Beach it is a pleasure to serve you. We hope you have been able to enjoy all our services. a cordial greeting
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
annixy2024 wrote a review 17 Feb
Quebec, Canada1 contribution
Very good: the hotel, the swiming pools, the beach, proximity to the city, quick consultation with a doctor in the hotel, the food was ok but very good experiences at the restaurants at the hotel. Wifi was very bad.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Annixy Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have chosen our resort for your vacation. Warm greeting :
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vacation29123387608 wrote a review 17 Feb
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
+1
The Sol Caribe Beach sits on one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in my travels over seven continents. The staff is wonderful, the food good and Brenda and Dios make Starbucks worthy coffees (see photo) which are included in your package. Our suite was great with a lovely beach/oceean view. Make sure to take a tour to Havana and/or go down to the Cienaga de Zapata for a look at the rare Cuban crocodile and some good snorkeling along the bay (crocs and snorkeling NOT in the same place)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want to be a hit with the staff, bring things like pens, notebooks for kids, nail polish,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vacation: Thank you very much for commenting about our resort on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have chosen us to enjoy your vacation and that you have been able to fully enjoy the services provided. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Spotty D wrote a review 13 Feb
Beverley, United Kingdom214 contributions104 helpful votes
It was not quite the exquisite culinary experience promised on the website - we understand there are severe shortages in Cuba which is going through a difficult economic period but... food was the same every day, service in the restaurant poor bordering on grumpy at times and crockery was chipped whilst there seems to be a shortage of spoons. Husband had food poisoning and despite repeated requests for water this was not forthcoming until the Love Cuba rep got involved. It is not safe to drink the water in Cuba and to restrict water for unwell guests is very dangerous. The reception staff are a masterclass in how not to do customer service - especially the lady with the eyebrows The cocktails are poor - having had amazing cocktails in Cuba they were a huge let down though the wine was good. Room was great - spacious and clean but as others have said towels are not changed. Pools spacious, clean and not crowded but there are not enough loungers and sun shades. The beach area is beautiful with fine white sand and clear warm turquoise sea. Again not enough loungers or shades - such a shame. Some staff are lovely - the lady preparing breakfast omelettes, the coffee shop staff and the cleaners but as mentioned the reception staff are thoroughly unpleasant. All in all - could be so much better with good management.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Cher Spotty D Merci pour vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor. L'avis de nos clients est très important pour nous. Nous sommes désolés que vous ne vous soyez pas senti à l'aise avec certains services fournis par notre personnel. Nous prendrons en compte vos recommandations pour obtenir une meilleure satisfaction client. Cordialement,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kate b wrote a review 9 Feb
7 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
This maybe a bit of a lengthy review but I just want to touch on the things I think people would most want to know!! We visited from Jan 24th to Feb 6th it was overall a great experience! I have been to cuba x3, Jamaica and Mexico. So coming here I set my expectation very low to not be disappointed as I knew things have been tough in cuba since covid. So let's start with food- I knew food wasn't going to be 5*s as I've never enjoyed the food at any other Cuban resort I have been too, I would say for cuba the food was decent. Yes repetitive, but they do change up some things. Our first week there was a lack of veggies. Second week there seemed to be alot more vegetables avaliable, broccoli, peas, corn, carrots, Brussel sprouts ect.. with the buffet you will not starve but you won't leave saying wow that was 5*.. with saying that there is a second buffet option at lunch down at the Cuban restaurant, we only discovered this our second week and I did enjoy the food here better! The El a Cartes are hit and miss.. I would say Cuban and salt and pepper were the best. If you get the chance to go off resort and try authentic Cuban food I do reccomend it is far more delicious then what is offered at the resorts. Don't get coffee from the buffet, but the coffee bar offers delicious iced coffee, lattes, cappuccinos ect. Rooms We had family meet us during our stay. Our room was good the only issu being sometime the shower leaks on the floor. The glass to keep the water in should be bigger we were 1151, great view and not to far from everything. Our family's room AC didn't work properly 1139, and it left a musty smell in there room and I noticed mildew on the curtains. Their shower also leaked and would leak all the way into the entry of their room. Our other family's room was 1078 and they had no complaints. Beds were very comfortable! I seen alot of complaint about towel and bedding not being changed. I did notice a lack in this but they do not have laundry on site so I can understand. Do you at home not use a towel more then once, or change your sheets daily? When we needed towels I left the maid a note and we got new ones. And our bed was changed during our 2 weeks. Pool towels can run out when you need to exchange but usually if you go back later that day they have more. Entertainment They always had something going on, we enjoyed the white party twice and a beach party. Some of the shows in the teacher could use more seating as there were often people standing to watch the shows. The day time entertainment team is always on the go and working very hard, but they are french speaking so it can be difficult to understand and I didn't find they interacted with us as much as they did french visitors. Service Almost every worker we met always had a smile on their face! The pool bar guys are the best, one interaction and they will remeber you and what you drink! Lobby bar staff is about 50/50 same with the snack bar, we did incounter one rude staff there. But over all we were very pleased with the service at this resort. Chairs Some days it's easy to get a pool or beach chair but on nice days beach chairs are hard to come by, and they are very uncomfortable. I understand it's common at resort people hold chairs for themselves all day, I can understand doing this while you go for lunch, but I did see times there were chairs held that people never sat in. The pool chair would also fill up quick if the weather wasn't great and if you didn't snag one before 9am you maybe SOL. I think the resort could use more chairs. If you are traveling with a baby bring a summer infant high chair because they do not have many high chairs at the buffet and there are alot of babys at this resort! Overall this was a great resort, clean, with friendly staff! It's on the smaller side which I enjoyed because it didn't require much walking around. A resort map would be nice upon check in just to help you find things the first few days! I would say this resort is mostly family's and older couples, if your a younger couple looking for a party resort this may not be the place for you. If you are unsure about booking because if negative reviews I would bite the bullet. We had a lovely experience and would say this is a great resort for the price point in cuba. Remeber you are traveling to Cuba so things may not be as great as other countries but they are doing a great job!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear kate b : Thank you very much for commenting about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have chosen us to enjoy your vacation. We hope you have fully enjoyed the services offered at our resort. Cordial greeting:
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike R wrote a review 9 Feb
Port Elgin, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
Adrian ( general manager) and Yolanda (manager) thank you for a wonderful experience, I have been dealing with Adrian and Yolanda for a few years mostly from a different resort (Sol Varadero Beach) and they never disappoint! Hotel has been completely redone and is fantastic, lots of food and the food despite what a lot of folks say about Cuban food was best we’ve had in Cuba thus far and plentiful. All the staff is friendly and courteous and fun to around. Lots for the kids to do , the week we were there the weather was not great, very windy so the beach was out most days but we did enjoy our time lazy around pool , the resort is a 4 min cab ride to downtown Varadero which is great as it’s nice to get out and see “city” if that’s your thing . Thank you again !! Mike and Crystal
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mike R: Thank you very much for sharing your review of our resort on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to have served you at Sol Caribe Beach. We are glad that your stay at our hotel was satisfactory. a cordial greeting :
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robncoco wrote a review 9 Feb
1 contribution
We switched halfway through our trip from Roc Arenas to Sol Caribe. We wished we’d been at Sol from the start had we known how nice it was! The variety and freshness of food and drink was outstanding! The staff were warm, vibrant and friendly. The hotel is modern and clean. It was a beautiful resort!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear robncoco: We are very happy that your stay at our resort was satisfactory. Thank you very much for commenting on Tripadvisor. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Miguel S wrote a review 4 Feb
Leeds, United Kingdom3 contributions
+1
The hotel is in a great spot with great beach access and lots of potential but little things let it down. Firstly, the towels situation is dire. There are never enough in the laundry dept to change when going to the beach probably because most of them are draped over the pool loungers as a 'reserved' sign. Quite infuriating. Also the room towels are swapped intermittently; on one occasion just folded up and put back on the rack. Secondly, the food offering is below par with what one would expect at a resort like this. Most of the restaurant 'canteen' food is tepid, at best, and with not quite enough variation and reluctant staff over the days we were there. However, the 'a la carte' restaurants appeared to have made an effort and the food was quite good with efficient service staff. And thirdly, the tennis courts and mini golf areas, whilst in good condition, were unusable because the tennis rackets or golf clubs were never available. We asked on numerous occasions to borrow the required equipment only to be met with a shrug of the shoulders and a non-commited "maybe later". Zero effort. The Shack area, where you can grab a hamburger or ham & cheese toastie is ok but watch out for the birds as they flock around the tables constantly waiting for scraps. Entertaining enough but not if you are ornithophobic (yes, I did google that!). The selection of drinks available is rather good except for the coffee. Twice we were told there was no coffee available which for a hotel of this size and offering is unacceptable. And don't expect to use WiFi in your room. The best areas are the lobby and, surprisingly, by the beach. All in all, the hotel, the room, the beach and the pool are good. The food, the service and the amenities are poor. Be sure to check out other hotels in the area before making a decision.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own coffee. Get a sun lounger by the pool early. Don't rely on the WiFi.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Miguel S: Thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you didn´t enjoy a pleasant stay in our resort. We will take into account all you mentioned in your comment to improve our services. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 562 - RM 1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
393
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOL CARIBE BEACH: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,279 Photos (Varadero, Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sol Caribe Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (7.1 km), Mi Casa Beatles (1.3 km), and Josone Park (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sol Caribe Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Bar Atlantida, La Gruta El Vino, and Waco's Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sol Caribe Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sol Caribe Beach offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sol Caribe Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (8.7 km).
Is Sol Caribe Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.