We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blau Varadero

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (11396)
Pool & Beach (2199)
Room & Suite (1539)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#13 of 81 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero Beach, the hotel consists of a 13 floor modern building, completely new. Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
9290Reviews1311Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,340
  • 2,888
  • 730
  • 202
  • 131
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anne C wrote a review 27 Feb
1 contribution
Great experience at Blau. Cuba is hit and miss but we can say this was one of the better ones for sure. Great location and beach is the best. Beautiful grounds and pool. The staff are all very attentive and they are doing their best always. Entertaining each night and they get to know the guests. Friendly and warm as always. The food was alright, plentiful and healthy , but of course not a huge variety. Ok for us but…. Will go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rayner B wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have nothing to complain. The building from outside looks somehow very different than the other hotels in Varadero. But inside it is beautiful with all the plants and nice open space. The beach is stunning. We liked the food and the drinks. The evening entertainment is good. The 24 bar should have more variety of food at night but it was ok for us
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SP wrote a review 26 Feb
Canada8 contributions4 helpful votes
This was our first trip to Cuba but are experienced Carribean travelers. Let's preface that Cuba is going through supply chain issues and economic woes, and this is reflected in the price. You will get an incredible value, but set your expectations accordingly. At this resort if you were looking for things to complain about, you could certainly find many things, but for us, the most important things were done well. The Positives: - The beach at Varadero is picturesque and Blau is located on one of the nicest spots. Thick white beach, with clear turquoise water. Tons of loungers and palapas. - The staff are incredible. They are so hard working, positive and welcoming. Be sure to tip them, they deserve it! Staff were appreciative of CAD or USD tips. - The grounds are expansive with something for everyone. Lots of room by the pool, beach or the grass. There is a fair amount of walking at this resort, being somewhat spread-out. There are quiet and louder locations across the resort from different indoor and outdoor spaces, bars and restaurants - Rooms are large and clean. The beds were comfortable, each room has a nice balcony and great showers with warm water and good pressure - The international a la carte provided some needed variety in the menu. All dishes were really tasty and the restaurant had a great ambiance with a string quartet playing throughout dinner - The hot food stations were the safest food bet. Food is limited in Cuba and is pork and fish heavy but Blau made the best of what they had. Chefs at the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets would make eggs, pasta, pizza, burgers, pork and fish to order. Waiting a few minutes at these stations are well worth the wait, a big improvement over the food in warming trays - There was always something going on entertainment wise. Different activities at the beach, pool, lobby bar and across the grounds. They had activities from 9AM to 10PM every day. If you wanted downtime, you could stay away from the entertainment team to a quieter spot on the resort The negatives (but not be-all-end-all): - The wifi was the biggest complaint. I am not expecting perfect wifi in Cuba but their internet was very frustrating. Only able to connect to one device, spotty throughout the resort, getting booted off after 2 minutes if you weren't active and having to relog on every time with a lengthy username and password. At the end of the day, I was not in Cuba to be on my phone, but this wifi was painful. - Yes, the food can get repetitive in Cuba. The buffet food in warming trays was not great and sometimes looked iffy. Try to stick to the hot stations and Cuban staples like rice and beans. Bring snacks for in between meals and condiments to add favour. They do the best with what they have and you will not starve. - The evening entertainment is really loud throughout the resort and rooms. They do a good job and shutting it down by 10:30PM but if you want an early night after a day in the sun, bring really good earplugs - The public washrooms could get a little gross by the end of the day - The drink variety wasn't great. You can't go wrong with beer, wine or rum, but their mixed drinks were iffy. The resort had no gin or vodka during our week (staff said sometimes they have it, sometimes they don't) Overall, if you get a good deal on this resort and come with a good attitude, the people, resort and beach make up for the average food and a few hiccups. 5 star value!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Josie L wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
+1
Nice resort, it is beautiful. The ocean and beach is absolutely gorgeous, the beach couldn’t get any better. The cleaning ladies were lovely, make sure you leave them a tip <3. The entertainment was okay, and food was okay in Cuban standards. However, there were numerous terrible things about this resort: 1. They allow birds to fly down and eat out of the sugar bowls that they then use for the mixed drinks… I got a video of the birds eating from the sugar bowls they use… disgusting. 2. We saw quite a few cock roaches in the dining room. 3. They DONT wash the glasses UNLESS people are watching. They rinse them… don’t even use soap or scrub them. You can taste the salt of the previous persons margarita when you order your drink. We both got sick and I’m pretty sure it was because they didn’t clean the cups and we caught something from someone else. 4. The drinks are good, but only rly good when they’re from the inside bar. 5. There’s NO HONOUR system!!! We would wait at the bar for 20 minutes sometimes, and we tipped almost every time we got a drink. People would come up and shout what they wanted at the bar tender and the bar tender would serve whoever was loudest… meanwhile people had been waiting for a while. It should be first come first serve. 6. DO NOT change all your money into pesos. They prefer Canadian and Americana cash!! Some excursions only accept Canadian/American cash and if you need a taxi it’s way cheaper if you pay in American/Canadian than peso. 7. It’s hard to get water. Stock up on water!! You have to call down to front desk every time u need water and it’ll take a while to get to your room. U can get water at the bar but in tiny little cups so you have to order about 3 waters every time you want water from the bar if you want more than a couple sips. 8. Food is good for Cuban standards but set your expectations low… I lived off eggs, pizza, and bread. 9. If you don’t like smoke/inhaling second hand smoke then do not go here. People can smoke almost anywhere in and on the resort so even inside you’re constantly inhaling cigarette and cigar smoke. Lastly, I wrote a review already however, when I did so it was because someone was walking around the resort asking us to write reviews and standing over our shoulders while we wrote it. Obviously making us feel obligated to write a positive review… makes me question how many of these reviews were written because someone was standing over their shoulder asking them to write one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring American/Canadian cash
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Yudania A wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The best holidays in years. From day one to the end we have been spoiled. The staff were amazing. Really warm and nice people. All the facilities of the hotel are working. That is not always the case in Cuba. Our room was big and clean and the maids were lovely and always concerned about our well being in the room. The food was ok. Animation team was incredible and always trying to make you happy dancing, singing, playing..... The beach is unique. Thank you Blau
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
STMB08 wrote a review 24 Feb
Bury, United Kingdom294 contributions160 helpful votes
+1
Blau Varadero is always visible on the skyline if you go out, which is useful. Reception is always helpful. Rooms in dire need of an upgrade one layer of paint, old doors, old bathrooms but very comfortable beds and kept immaculate by housekeeping, in my opinion, along with gardeners, the best team Grounds lovely, though I didn't sit by the pool, too much noise and games for me. The beach was amazing, lay at the end most days, to again, avoid the speakers.The hotel doesn't cater for those who want to relax. I had a sea view room and a large balcony but was very noisy until about 11pm. The entertainment can be heard all through the hotel. Maybe front facing rooms over the entrance would be quieter , I'm not sure. My first room smelt very musty, and I was kindly accommodated and changed. Food is dreadful, very bland, salads consisted of tomato, cabbage, cucumber, and green pepper, not the hotels fault but better in the speciality restaurant. Chicken salads, etc, always swimming in oily water, not dry as expected. Wine awful, but again, better in other restaurants if you want to diet I lost 19 pounds in 2 weeks as rarely ate lunxh and missed 6 evwning meals. The entertainment is repetetive, but the string quartet is amazing! Doremis, the TUI rep, was the best I've known in the world, and I have visited many many places. She was there pretty much 6 days a week, 9-5pm, and so helpful. TUI UK is pulling out of Cuba travel from March, so I hope she still has work. Maybe TUI Germany is still travelling there. Staff in the restaurants were always pleasant and worked hard. Drinks all awful and tasted the same, the alcoholic ones and if you drink tea, take your own teabags. I wasn't keen on the Sunday lifeguards asking guests to get them sandwiches and beers. Sandwiches, I understand, but beer?? Loved Cuba, enjoyed my holiday, bus service outside excellent, I think Blau Varadero just not for me especially when Fridays foam party started !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet and relaxing holiday choose another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
dana r wrote a review 23 Feb
Belleville, Canada363 contributions145 helpful votes
The Blau Varadero is about 30 minutes from the airport. I love Cuba for the exceptional live music, incredible beaches and fresh fruit...and Blau did not disappoint! I was very impressed with the activities at this resort: aqua gym, volleyball, yoga etc. One day they even had foam piped in to the pool! Super fun! I would suggest paying for an ocean view upgrade...helps with the noise. I do appreciate that the hotel keeps the noise in the central area down after 11pm, when they funnel the party animals to the 24/7 drinking area closer to the beach....well done! There were many palapas on the beach and always a lounger available at the pool which added to a relaxing holiday. I want to send a kudos to the management: they were very visible, very helpful, always working on keeping their guests happy. WELL DONE! And did I mention the beach....music...and fruit?? Just an fyi: if you like hot, spicy food, bring a bottle of hot sauce!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pay for an oceanview room: it adds that extra touch of serenity on a holiday
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pau Coll, Director General at Blau Varadero
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Blau Varadero. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards Pau Coll General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin D wrote a review 22 Feb
Burlington, Canada29 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
We visited the Blau last week (February 12th) for the week. We went to celebrate my 50th birthday with some friends and family. It was a great experience. The hotel is clean and the people are so very friendly and amazing. The beach is stunning. One of the best we have been too. Jennifer and Dianys at breakfast and dinner were so friendly and helpful throughout our dining. The activities during g the day were so much fun. Beach volleyball with Issac during the day and dancing in the evening. Robbie the lifeguard, was so much fun to talk to and give us some great restaurant tips in the city. Entertainment was great at night at the hotel. Go into the city and experience a taxi ride for $20 Canadian in an old vintage car.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pau Coll, Director General at Blau Varadero
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Blau Varadero. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards Pau Coll General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alayne N wrote a review 22 Feb
Kincardine, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We had a great time at the Blau. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was absolutely stunning and just a short walk from the pool. Room was run of the mill, older but clean, with a nice sized balcony. Water was left in our fridge everyday. Food was not my favourite but was plentiful. Hearty omelette in the morn some sandwiches in the afternoon and I made it through. I would suggest booking your tours before arriving, sun wings Jeep tour was booked solid with jeep and fuel shortages. If you join a FB fan group there are lots of great tips and info in real time, I wouldn’t go by the reviews here. Trip in town is great and found fantastic food there. More expensive than our shuttle bus guy mentioned. We got through our whole vacation with USD (we’re Canadian)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pau Coll, Director General at Blau Varadero
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Blau Varadero. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences. Best regrds Pau Coll General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen K wrote a review 21 Feb
Toronto, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
+1
Here's my honest review after enjoying 2 weeks at Blau Varadero. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and had such a good time. But there are definitely things this hotel could improve on. I'm not here to bash the hotel but to just write about my honest experience. Let's start with the pros. 1. Beautiful hotel and grounds. It's obviously somewhat dated, but the majestic lobby with the plants 🪴 will wow anyone. The outdoor pool and beach area is breathtaking. We didn't have a pool view, but im sure that would have been a great view from up high. 2. Staff. They worked hard to include everyone and were so endearing and kind. The bartenders, anamacion team, DJ, servers, grounds keepers...all just made our experience better. 3. Good clean rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. There was no shortage of toilet paper or towels, and the rooms were perfect in size. 4. The coffee corner. I wish it had been open 24/7 because honestly, the best coffee and we miss our baristas already! 5. Plenty of loungers poolside and beach side. At other resorts, we've always had to reserve early, but here we never did and always found some to sit on. Here are the cons. 1. Food 😶‍🌫️. I know everyone always talks at length about this, so I won't. But the weird buffet food choices and lack of flavor are just odd. Also, the grilled meats were very often still rare, so just be careful. Thankfully, I always had salad and dressing and bread, and I was a happy girl! After buffet hours were slim pickings. Only sandwiches at the beach bar, which were fairly good, but just got repetitive. Give the tourists some snack choices! 2. The alcohol drinks weren't very good. Thankfully, by the end, we had figured out who made better ones or what was usually fail proof, but I was disappointed in just the basic daiquiri and Pina colada. Instead, we drank soooo many blended mojitos and sangrias! I'm sure the bartenders just had to make do with shortages, but when you pay well, you expect well. 3. Evening entertainment was very repetitive and not that entertaining. They were fine, but after you've seen one evening, you've seen it all. We always left to play games in the piano bar and came back after the music wrapped up. It just wasn't that good. 4. The elevators are always broken. Multiple times a day. I was fine with 6 flights of stairs, but if that matters to you, keep it in mind. 5. The staff aren't fed. I heard other resorts let their own staff eat buffet leftovers, but at Blau, they didn't seem to be, and most were always hungry and asking for food. I don't have the heart to ignore hungry staff, so I felt like I spent so much time every day standing in line getting them food. No regrets, but I wish for their sake, they'd be able to get some food somewhere too rather than just watch everyone else load their plates. Outdated gym - important to me but might not be to all. Super outdated and needs an overhaul.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pau Coll, Director General at Blau Varadero
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Blau Varadero.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We are pleased to read that overall you really enjoyed your stay and had a good time and that you pointed out positivly our hotel in general, the grounds, the lobby, the nice staff, the clean romos, the coffee corner and the amount of poolside loungers. But we are really sorry to hear that you had issues with the food, the alcoholic drinks, the evening entertainment, the gym and the elevators. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. However, the elevators are not always broken. At rush hours it can come to waiting times. Regarding your comment that the staff are not fed, we have to tell you that it would have been nice to talk to the management of the hotel to get accurate information before you write such an unfounded accusation in your review. We do have a staff restaurant which is run very efficiently just as in other countries as well and the quantity of the food is generously estipulated. All of our staff is getting breakfast, lunch and dinner and they have their eating times scheduled as by law. Best regards Pau Coll General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
blau hotel varadero, blau varadero cuba, blau varadero hotel cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
395
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLAU VARADERO: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews and 11,429 Photos (Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blau Varadero
Which popular attractions are close to Blau Varadero?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (0.6 km), Cueva de Ambrosio (1.1 km), and Varahicacos Ecological Reserve (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blau Varadero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Blau Varadero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Blau Varadero?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blau Varadero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blau Varadero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Xanadu Restaurant, Restaurant La Arcada, and La Panchita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blau Varadero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Blau Varadero have airport transportation?
Yes, Blau Varadero offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Blau Varadero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Blau Varadero offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blau Varadero?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.