We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center

Hotwire.comUS$95*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$105*
US$95*
Great Deal
US$105*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is nice but there is catch don't take room to the left of the reception it's small it's smelly and lots of lizards chameleon inside the room take room right of the reception they are big n spacious breakfast same in another Caribbean hotel don't expect much hotel staff was nice n polite bar attendant friendly overall mix reaction

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AnchorageHotelDM, Manager at Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Warm Caribbean Greetings from the Anchorage Team! We wish to thank you for your kind observations and for choosing the Anchorage as your home away from home. We value your feedback and are always seeking ways to improve our product and offerings. We do admit that our poolside rooms to the left of the reception are in fact...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can stay at, say, Fort Young, which is 4 star. But the Anchorage is the best place to stay. A short ride to downtown Roseau. Use the white vans which have an "H" in the beginning of their license plate to get around town. $2 EC is all! Just stand on the side of the road and wave them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregg B
AnchorageHotelDM, Manager at Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Backemeyer, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage as it was indeed a pleasure hosting. We do hope to see you again for next year's Sperm Whale trips. Warm regards, Shama St. Hilaire

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a refundable rate for a stay 2 months in advance of a visit. I cancelled 6 days later, well within the defined cancellation period. 7 weeks later and the hotel still won't refund the charge to my credit card.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
AnchorageHotelDM, Manager at Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tom P, We are indeed surprised to receive your feedback as it is our policy to offer a full refund once cancellations are made 6 weeks prior to your expected arrival date. We do apologize for the inconvenience and would be grateful if you could contact us directly so we can resolve this matter. Kind regards, Shama St....

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The rooms here are clean and a good size. The first floor rooms have balconies and overlook the sea. We were there for three nights in mid-March and the hotel was only 30% full. The staff seemed to have no direction from management. It has the location and could be much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This hotel is along the waterfront in Roseau but a little way from the city centre so you would need to get a taxi or bus. The hotel itself is very basic and the rooms reflact this. The TV was one of those old CRT 14inch things hanging from the wall and the air-con had seen better days. Still the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K3NZ
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The introductory educational aspect was helpful before you left on the trip, and the commentary during the tour was great as well. The crew was all very knowledgeable and helpful. The boat was big, and clean and had lots of space for everyone. They made sure we found some whales, so that was awesome! The rum punch after we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m_paff2
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Perfect place to stay in Roseau! Right by the sea and close to several of the most popular attractions on the island. You should take a taxi or a bus to the city center - it's quite a long walk. We stayed at the Anchorage while visiting Roseau for the carnival. People on Dominica are very friendly and helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June O
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I picked this hotel because it also had a dive center but the weather was bad and we were told master diver was not available to do an intro scuba tour for us. We were open to staying at the hotel for longer than the one night we booked in advance but after seeing the room and hotel we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tam P
Pittsburgh
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Due to our lack of booking anything for our last few nights, we wound up at the Anchorage for a night. Our expectations were not very high coming into it, but by our departure the next day, they exceeded our expectations. Though the room is outdated, it did feel clean. We loved the fact that we could sleep with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeppiTraveler
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This was a very affordable and close to the capital Roseau. The rooms were clean by Caribbean standards, the beds were clean and the AC was a nice and cool. The front guest, security, bartenders and staff were very friendly and approachable. I plan to stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelu0

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1.6 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
830 reviews
0.2 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
30.8 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
69 reviews
28.5 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
17.3 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal location for family and friends, divers, hikers, whale watchers, adventure seekers and those traveling to Dominica on business who want to relax after work.Perched on the edge of the tranquil Caribbean Sea, only one mile south of the Capital city, Roseau. The Anchorage, “Dominica’s Adventure Center”Our Hotel offers 32 spacious, air conditioned en-suite bedrooms, comfortably furnished with island-style décor, direct dial telephones, high speed internet and Cable TV. Our Oceanfront rooms each have 2 Double beds or 1 King sized bed and our Poolside rooms have 1 Queen sized bed and can accommodate an additional single bed. All of our rooms overlook the calm Caribbean Sea with a coastline view of Roseau, the capital.Your home away from home, you can sample home-style Creole Cuisine alongside a mouth watering continental snack menu at our full service Ocean Terrace Restaurant or relax in our Carib Bar & Poolside Lounge sipping our famous “Laro’s Anchorage Rumpunch’ or enticing local cocktail.As Pioneers of the Dive & Whale Watching industry in Dominica, we offer a full service PADI Dive facility. Our fleet consists of a dedicated dive vessel, Domnik, a 30’ custom boat accommodates a maximum of 14 divers or 20 Whale Watchers. Additionally we offer 2 other vessels which are used primarily for our Party Cruises and Whale Watching tours; Passion, a 75’ sailing Catamaran which accommodates up to a maximum of 60 passengers and Miser’s Dream, a 60’ powered Catamaran which is comfortably furnished for overnight island trips and can accommodate from 5 people up to a maximum of 50 passengers. Our Whale Watching and snorkeling tours depart several times a week.We can boast the Caribbean’s only Sperm Whale Skeleton mounted near our lounge where our guides hold educational talks and briefings for our whale watching tours. There are many activities available at The Anchorage from shore diving, snorkeling, fishing, games and Kayaking for when you may need a ‘wind down’ from the Nature Hikes and many other land based activities we can organize for you. The Anchorage is home of Dominica Tours, ‘the Nature Island’s Experience Coordinators’, a complete Destination Management Company, our representatives can assist in organizing just about any experience in Dominica for you; whether adventures on land or at sea, Bird Watching, Hiking, Heritage and Cultural tours and talks; Community based and Youth development activities. Whatever your choice, our friendly and helpful Team at The Anchorage awaits the pleasure of being your hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center

Address: Castle Comfort | P.O. Box 34, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: RM389 - RM615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel And Dive Center
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Roseau
Anchorage Hotel Roseau
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first floor overlooking the sea.”
TonyF798, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in 137. Big room, white sheets, a view of the water with waves lulling you to sleep”
PeppiTraveler, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They have poolside and seaview rooms. We stayed poolside and it was fine - we even had seaview, too.”
Abraxas8, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront room are cozy and sunny”
LucienZozime, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pool rooms are smaller with a little balcony, sea rooms are very large with two beds, but you can't sit out, so it depends what you prefer.”
562geh, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$95* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$105
TravelocityUS$102
Booking.comUS$105
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates