We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garraway Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Garraway Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel should advertise itself as a motel. Firstly throughout the whole visit of five days we had no AC. Even after the "technicians" fixed it. So we used fans for the entire visit. The Continental breakfast was very substandard the first day our whole group was there they kept running out of food. And the offerings were not up...

1Thank Charlene P
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Charlene. We have taken your observations and comments very seriously and as you know we responded earlier to these by email clarifying the reasons for the discomfort you experienced which were not entirely of our own making. As explained, the elevator is serviced by technicians overseas which account for the delays in attending to this problem more speedily. Dominica...

Castries, St. Lucia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

did not get much time to sleep or hang in the room but I must say, the room I got #306 was very comfortable and homely. The staff and accommodations are very welcoming. I used the stairs instead of the elevator and I was pleasantly surprised that it was not tiring.

Thank brownecameron
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are so appreciative of your positive comments on the hotel which we will convey to Staff who we encourage and support to provide the best service possible to our guests. We depend on your patronage and we know that with such complimentary remarks they will be even be more greatly motivated to do what they do best which is...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

A bit pricey but has spacious room, good location. Beware of apartments from end 5 to 1, they are facing the main street and there is a lot of movement from Friday. There are interesting dishes in the restaurant, both for lunch and dinner

Thank JulioPohl
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your comments and observations. As far as the movement on Friday evenings is concerned this is due to increased social activity on the weekend over which we have no control but have brought the issue of the noise generated to the attention of the Authorities who we believe are making every effort to address this so that...

Puerto Rico
Reviewed 28 March 2017

I stayed here recently and it seems that all the complaints from previous guests have been addressed. My room had A/C and the included breakfast was satisfying. The hotel overall looks dated but I found it clean.

Thank bmarques
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your observations for which we are grateful as we rely on these to improve our service and product as a whole. We hope to upgrade the property which is a work in progress and we trust that this will be forthcoming to enhance your next stay with us. Best regards

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed two nights and the best of my stay was the service, staff solved almost every request I made. The room had no A/C not sure if was removed or just not working, during afternoon the room turns really warm and the fan is not enough to cool down a little bit. The bathroom needs serious fixings. In general...

Thank mynord390
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We welcome your constructive and instructive comments which will certainly enable us to address the concerns you have pointed out. We are so appreciative as some of the issues you raised are only brought to our attention after guests leave which could have been dealt with had this been pointed out prior to their departure. Nevertheless, we have addressed these...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Everything u can imagine was bad, continental breakfast had mold growing on it. I am disabled and was forced to climb steps to third floor because the elevator was always breaking down. I was over charged after the agreed price, contract was altered without my permission. After checking out I returned home, I was charged double. Go to fortyoung get...

Thank Tamica S
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely concerned about the comments you have made and would have certainly addressed these IMMEDIATELY especially that about the mould on the breakfast which has never occurred in the twenty and more years that the hotel has been operating. We would be grateful if you had brought this to the attention of Staff and Management as we pride...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We visited for dinner- it was Indian night. The restaurant was mostly empty, but that didn't seem to make the service more attentive. I understand "island time" but we waited unnecessarily while the only server disappeared for lengthy amounts of time. The food was bad. Shrimp were cold and chewy, the fish was so well done that it was chewy...

Thank Tim H
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We extend our apologies for what you describe and regret that this was not brought to the attention of senior staff so you could have been compensated accordingly. We always appreciate constructive comments which will help us to improve our product and enable staff to provide the excellent customer service that are trained to deliver. Best regards.

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Came to Dominica for two nights on business.There is central air conditioning and it doesn't work they provide a fan.The shower is lukewarm water at best and the towels can't dry your skin since they are so light that they are soaked in two seconds.Unfortunately there are only three real hotels if you come on business and I've stayed at...

Thank Waitheman
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We note your comments and regret that during your stay, though brief, we were unable to address the concerns you have raised. This would certainly have been done had it been brought to the attention of Management by changing the room, the towels etc. as these could have been addressed. We however thank you for your patronage.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

great friendly staff, do anything to help, offered us to sit in the courtyard because of the heat, nice cool cold beers, loved my time there, if you're coming off a cruise boat, just head straight across at the pier, you won't regret it

Thank vinniega64
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back with as many cold beers as you can drink. A pleasure to have contributed to making your visit to Dominica enjoyable. Thanks again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Georgiana will greet you with a smile, a nice cold beer, and discussion of American politics, the proper way to say the islands name and what to see and where to go! Just steps from where the cruise ship docks, there is a welcoming space! Free unlimited wifi makes a nice perk, as we have been charged for wifi elsewhere!

Thank Goddessofthegrill
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and staff and look forward to welcoming you again to the Garraway Hotel where we pride ourselves on providing friendly and hospitable service. Best wishes and thanks again!

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (30)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (11)
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
827 reviews
1.7 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.8 km away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
1.9 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
15.8 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: RM353 - RM539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garraway Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Reading, Pennsylvania
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garraway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from my room overlooked the Bay and was a wonderful spot to view sunsets.”
brownecameron, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 302 good two double beds”
69BigAL, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Look for one I on the west . may see a sunset”
darroux33, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If they still have karaoke on Friday night it is not a good idea to stay on the second floor, above the bar.”
Lifrarpylsa, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
AlS098, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates