We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 485: English reviews
Start your review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
 Click to rate
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our of our 7 night stay, 3 nights were without a TV service, with constant power outages and we overheard many guest complaints similar to ours. There is no construction advisory on the hotel website or on booking.com. The restaurant and room service meals were below adequate with many items on the menu not available or substituted, meals served cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariannapp2017
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mariannapp2017, Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate that you have chosen El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel I am delighted to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and all of their amazing amenities such as free WIFI. It is very gratifying to know our guests our enjoying our efforts and the amazing renovations. The hotel is...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The weekend for a very special wedding at the El Embajador was just an amazing experience. The room was delightful and the service befitting. The amenities were plentiful. The only thing I found deficient was the gift shop which was extremely limited on merchandise and offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelaK8953AT
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angelaK8953AT, What an incredible review! Thank you! It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo....

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for business and the room I had was excellent. Quiet and spacious. I wished I could have stayed longer. My only complaint is the concierge staff mysteriously "found" a gift that was left for me at the concierge desk after the person who left it was notified that it couldn't be found. When the staff were approached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badams392
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear badams392, Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate that you have chosen El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel for your week in Santo Domingo and it is very rewarding to see that you had a great week in this beautiful city. I am glad to read how you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. These rooms definitely have no...

Lathru Village
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed in the hotel for several years, this time was special because of renovation of the rooms. New rooms were very special, great appliances, excellent lights and mother technology. The best bed and linens to compete with the best 5 starts hotels in the world. The other wing is being renovated at this time. Great service by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddysosa
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear freddysosa, What a pleasure to receive and read your lovely comments about your most recent stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, it truly means very much to us especially coming from an incredibly loyal guest, such as yourself. From each and every one of us here, thank you. It is an honor to read how you have...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Obviously a great hotel , super service , great materials and room design , and good location . However , here are the flaws: the toilets are smaller than the toilet on my sailboat, the TV rarely has a signal , mostly none or weak and the checkout takes forever because rather than believing you that you did not take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttinmiami
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ttinmiami, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us about your recent stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. It truly is a pleasure to receive your compliments and feedback. Your compliments serve as motivation for our team to continue to achieve the best service possible for all of our loyal guests....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotels has done an excellent job on the remodelation of the room. Confortables, betifull and full of amenities. I realli like the bathroom and the selections of the soap :) I love the garden and the breackfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana M, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel as your home in Santo Domingo. I would also like to say thanks from all of our team for taking the time to share such amazing comments and compliments about your stay. It is truly rewarding to read about experiences...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed their for three nighst - effectively I always stay there - and had one of the newly refurbished rooms on the 6th floor. Pretty cool, very funcional and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet is also quite good, the service a bit slow though and another big plus there is the brilliant pool they have in the seizable garden. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert J F
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Albert J F, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your with us your recent experience at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. I would also like to thank you for being such a loyal guest, it is truly rewarding to receive such amazing feedback from guests like yourself. I am most excited to read how...

Cancun, Mexico
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I satayed in this hotel last week and thay are remodeling the whole place and had my thought about the noice and what a surprice the new room in the 5th fllor that are allredy remodel are wonderfull, they now have a bath tub and the room is huge like a suite, the decorator did a great job here lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luis m
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear luis m, Thank you for such wonderful comments and thank you for always choosing El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel it is an honor to know that we have served you for 12 years and yet we still get to delight you with our hotel. What an incredible guest you are! It is amazing to read that you enjoyed...

Oakland Park, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was good, but the location and service and history of the hotel were my favorites. God Father part 1 & 2 filmed there. Our room was recently remodeled updated, beautiful. Great for Business trips and when staying in town. Will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fragipps
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fragipps, Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a lovely review. It has been a true pleasure welcoming you to our historic hotel, El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. Our chef, Jose Soto, is definitley a master in the culinary world and I am so happy you had a chance to experience and...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Comfortable and beautiful renewed rooms, all clean and well organized! excellent service in the hotel and in the garden tent where a atended to a wedding, delicious food... I would certainly come back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina D
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karina D, What an amazing 5 point review. It is a pleasure to read your comments and compliments about your stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. Feedback like yours is so encouraging. I am very happy to read how you enjoyed our newly rennovated rooms and found them comfortable as comfort is our one of our main...

690 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (110)
Viewed
Superior Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
835 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Price Range: RM770 - RM1,506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Miami Lakes, Florida
New York
over a year ago
Bronx, New York

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms ever”
 of 5 bubbles Freddysosa, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is supposed to be great but in 2 stays I had the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles ttinmiami, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for the just remodel rooms and lower floors are best now with the remodeling isue”
 of 5 bubbles Y8078EGluism, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request one of the Remodeled Rooms...”
 of 5 bubbles fragipps, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always request a room facing the back of the hotel, there are hundreds of birds in the front trees that are very loud”
 of 5 bubbles 613JamesA, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5