Sunscape Puerto Plata

Carretera Luperón. Km 5 Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 00547 Dominican Republic
Traveller (4642)
360
Panoramas (66)
Dining (476)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 11 resorts in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sunscape Puerto Plata, set on the golden sand beach of Playa Dorada, is located on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, in a world of pristine beaches and tropical jungle. Only 20 minutes from Puerto Plata International Airport, Sunscape Puerto Plata is the ideal setting for an unforgettable vacation. This familyfriendly 585-room resort faces the Atlantic Ocean and is surrounded by a beautiful 18-hole golf course designed by the famous Robert Trent Jones. Spacious accommodations offer private terraces and kid's amenities with options including connecting rooms, an elevated experience in the Sun Club and an adults-only section. Guests will enjoy all the privileges of Unlimited-Fun(R)- where everything is included and no wristbands are required - including unlimited access to six bars and nine reservation-free dining options, live music, local entertainment, land and water activities for all ages, the Explorer's Club for Kids with Red Cross certified staff and the Core Zone Teens Club. Guests can also rejuvenate at the Sunscape Spa by Pevonia(R), play golf ata nearby course, enjoy excursions to natural wonders or the historic city of Puerto Plata, and of course, enjoy Sunscape Puerto Plata's stunning, golden sand beach, Playa Dorada. We’re committed to redefining your travel journey with our best-in-class CleanComplete Verification™ practices. While health and safety have always been our top priorities, these new protocols further elevate our standards of quality and cleanliness, enabling you to vacation at any AMResorts® property with the ultimate peace of mind. Our 360-degree quality, safety and hygiene system takes into account every aspect of resort operations, backed by the highest-level third-party certification. We will be evolving and innovating our procedures continuously and will share the newest developments as they are implemented. Our protocols begin the moment you start planning a vacation to the time you return home! To learn more about our quality, safety and hygiene practices, please search for AMResorts CleanComplete Verification™ in your favorite browser.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
Spanish
6340Reviews1218Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,351
  • 1,213
  • 472
  • 168
  • 136
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Athena C wrote a review Jan 2020
Guelph, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
My family and I stayed from January 10th until January 17th, 2020.

BAD: Upon arrival, we were put in the farthest room possible, in building #7. Conditions of this room were VERY poor. There was no power for several hours and even when sunny, was very dark. There was next to no view with some greenery, a fence and the local street. Both of the locks in the room were broken, so there was a concern for safety. The location of the room was terrible (right next to the Main Street) and due to the location, we were kept up all hours of the night due to base from the local club at the mall, buses and cars driving on the street, as well as multiple car alarms and shouting going on throughout the night. The next day (after arrival), we upgraded our room.
We found the staff to be just ok. There was the odd person to go out of their way to be especially helpful and friendly but for the most part, we felt the staff lacked personality.

GOOD: Though we weren’t happy about having to pay extra $ to upgrade our room, we are so happy that we did. The room was beautiful, clean, roomy, bright, great location, with added perks and with a beautiful view. Pay the extra $ to upgrade to the Sun Club...it was is totally worth it!
We usually go to bigger resorts, so we loved that this place was more on the smaller scale and everything was close by.
The food was delicious. We usually do get bored with buffets at resorts but we did find the selection to be decent and they do mix it up with different themes, including Mexican and Asian inspired choices. Though we wish there were more a la cart options, the options they did have did not disappoint.
The entertainment, superseded our expectations. The shows were excellent and the dancers were especially fun and friendly. Two individuals who really stood out to us and you should stop and talk to if you get the chance is Juan De Jesus, as well as the entertainment Supervisor, Edgar both who continually had a smile on their faces and always went out of their way to talk to us and make sure we were having a good time. We participated in most of the entertainment experiences, including dance lessons, pool aerobics, the cocktail party, Tacos and Margaritas party and of course the Disco at Castaways. So much fun and really added to the overall experience.
We did take advantage of the $109US Spa package and it was so worth it. Our service providers were Cristina and Alicja and they were absolutely wonderful. The massage was excellent and their service was exceptional.
We are more pool people but did go to the beach a few times. The beach was beautiful. Nice light sand and not too much debris, coming in from the ocean.
Overall, I would recommend staying at this resort but I would suggest upgrading your room to the Sun Club, wether family or Adults.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear AthenaC2323, On behalf of the entire team, we would like thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience at Sunscape Puerto Plata. We would like to express our thankfulness for your wonderful lines referring the beauty and the service of our hotel and the kindness of our staff. In Sunscape Puerto Plata we are committed to ensure our guests the best vacation ever. It is a challenge for us making all our guests leave our establishment completely satisfied with what we offer and, that`s why we have shared those inconveniences you mentioned with management. Please accept our most sincere apologies for those aspects you mentioned, which we are trying to improve. Finally, we want to remain at your disposal to assist you in your next visit, that hopefully is going to be pretty soon. Best Regards, Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emerson c wrote a review Feb 2020
London, Canada6 contributions10 helpful votes
Just got back from this resort. First of all the staff make this resort one of my favorite very friendly and go the extra mile. Two of the best bartenders are in the sun club adults only section Jaun Manuel & Francisco Jaquez always smiling and if they seen you coming which they usually did your drink was ready for you. We were there last year and the food was amazing i found it was not near as good this time around but im not there for the food. Congratulations on going with paper straws and washable plastic glasses a great change from the throw away ones
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Emerson C, Thank you for trusting us your holidays in Sunscape Puerto Plata All the member of our Sunscape Puerto Plata, that served you during your stay, will be thrilled to receive your wonderful comments. Your kind feedback and suggestions are much appreciated; we will add these remarks in our plan of continuous enhancement, as they help us to achieve perfection in every aspect. We know we’ve said it before, but thank you again, for the affections expressed in you thanks to our staff; rest assured that we will go out of our way to surpass your expectations in future visits. We look forward to your return! Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
advisorUsa wrote a review Mar 2020
usa5 contributions2 helpful votes
Just got home from 2 wks of pure heaven. We have been going to the Dominican Republic for 19 yrs This place was the very first we went to and is always amazing. I can not say 1 single bad thing. Food Morning Renate I'm not sure if your friend found his dog but I brought Ryan to work this morning and on my way back I went by the railroad station old railroad station in Mooers and there's a little wooded area to the right of the station where Larry Marnes lives and there was a dog roaming around into that have everything you could think of to eat.The beach buffet for breakfast and lunch isy more restaurants to choose from,but the buffets have so much to chose from that we mainly eat at them.
Sunclub has its own private pools and bar restaurants
The staff are so very kind, always smiling and so helpful.( Please tip them). They are very hard workers for sure.I could go on and on of what a great place this is . The thing that amazed me this year is they actually pressure wash the pool chairs at night to get all the lotions off of them. Bathr
ooms are spotless no matter when you go in them. grounds are beautifully manicured. Absolutely LOVE this place, Next year is our 20th anniversary and hope to bring all the family there
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear advisorUsa, We are so pleased you allowed our wonderful resort to be your holiday destination and we are very thankful for the time you have taken to share your experience. It is wonderful to learn that your time with us met with your expectations and it has been a pleasure to read all of your great feedback. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Madeline Cabrera eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony M wrote a review Feb 2020
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada6 contributions5 helpful votes
This was my third time staying at an all inclusive resort.

The good: The rooms and facilities were probably the freshest so far, I was hard pressed to find anything that felt run down or overused they worked very hard to keep everything tip top in my opinion.

The layout is a definite plus with a large upstairs patio attached to the 3 al a carte restaurants area with ample seating for many. Due to the no reservations policy you will find yourself hanging out and socializing in this open area while waiting for your pager to go off. It seems like a pain but works really well, with a pizzeria and bar set up in the area you can have some pizza by the slice and a couple drinks while you wait. In prime time you can wait up to 1 1/2 hours but this really isn't an issue, I mean sitting around and having a drink is why you came here wasn't it? Unless you are impatient then that's what the buffet is for. I found the food to be average or better in most areas and wouldn't give any complaints for that.

Bartenders do a great job keeping up to the demand, we didn't purchase the sun club package so had to get our own drinks most of the time and got to know some of them quite well.

The Bad:

Wait staff is either poorly trained or understaffed in the buffet area, it was typical to not be offered water or coffee until I was nearly done my meal, we tried different sections but it was all the same. In an area with about 20 tables, maybe 4-5 actually filled 1 staff would be busy resetting tables and ignoring the current customers. It made no sense, it was never extremely busy, there was plenty of seating available at the time and I couldn't get a glass of water. This was nearly every day it got to the point where I stopped leaving a tip because nobody ever showed up to assist me. When I dined in the steak joint with my wife and daughter the server took my wife's order, stopped to talk to a fellow employee, took my daughters talked to someone else and then my order. This blew me away, I really felt like we were an annoyance to him and he had no time for us.

The last thing to say is the hounding to purchase a timeshare gets old really fast, it is pretty relentless and you expect to be offered -10% off spa's, etc but it never seemed to end while on the grounds. The beach vendors are right up in your face as well but that's nothing unusual I just thought the resort itself would be a little bit of a safe space.

I expect a little bit of pampering at a resort but In the end I probably wouldn't return because the service was lacking, you expect the staff to offer a minimum of water or coffee when you are seated not when you are finished the meal.

I've rated this as average but in my mind it's a fail, you don't go to all this trouble and travel to stay somewhere that is just average and utterly unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stayed in building 12 that was right next to the beach, this is also near the disco that is open...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Tony M, We are so pleased you allowed our wonderful resort to be your holiday destination. And thank you for bringing to us your joys and disappointments during your stay in our Sunscape Puerto Plata. Thank you for all your comments and also the negative aspects that we definitely need to take a look into. All of your feedback is extremely important in order to improve ourselves. We look forward to your return! Kind regards, Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick C wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
My wife and I came here for a baby moon with our first child due in four months. We purchased the adults only sun club package. This was our seventh trip to an all inclusive in the Dominican Republic and our second time to puerto plata. It was our first time at sunscape.

Pros
The staff are amazing and truly work hard to make sure you’re having a good vacation. They follow COVID protocols always wearing masks, cleaning areas, and multiple hand sanitizer spots. The beach was gorgeous. While there was a few vendors on the beach, they were nice and didn’t bother you much longer if you said “no thanks.” The bartenders were attentive and the drinks were what you’d expect for an all inclusive (nothing exceptional, but nothing terrible). We tipped staff regularly, but I think they’d be great no matter what.

Cons
The food here was the worst of any all inclusive we’ve been to in the DR, by far. I’m not a picky eater, and before the trip I thought the past reviews noted here about how the food wasn’t good was just people who expected five star dining and hadn’t been to an all inclusive. There was honestly not one meal that I actually was happy with. Locals flood this place on the weekend. While it was pretty quiet on the Thursday and Monday we were here, it was very busy on Friday through Sunday. The WiFi is very spotty but wasn’t an issue if you didn’t want to use your phone too much. We noticed a lot of mosquitoes in the sun club private area and needed bug spray to avoid being bitten a lot.

Sun Club
For sun club, there’s supposed to be two separate room blocks with separate private pools, the sun club family and sun club adults only. Without informing us before the trip, they had closed down the sun club adults only, and instead put us in the sun club family area but upgraded us to a suite. The food and service in this private pool was better than elsewhere. While it was nice having a suite (but we really didn’t need or use the space), we specifically booked this place wanting an adults only area. Instead we had the choice of a small private pool with about ten kids screaming and splashing us, or one of the larger pools with even more kids. When we went and talked to concierge asking for a quiet area, they tried to remedy it with a free massage and a discounted manicure for my wife. Don’t book the adults only unless you call and confirm with them that it’s actually open.

Big takeaways:
The staff are great, as most seem to be in the DR. The food was very bad. Don’t purchase the adults only sun club as it’s currently closed, and don’t expect there to be any quiet kid-free areas, especially on weekends. We’ve been let down by our two vacations in puerto plata. I’d recommend just paying a bit extra and going to punta cana instead. Our favorite by far there is dreams punta cana which we’ve been to twice and would HIGHLY recommend over this location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Econcierge Sunscape Puerto Plata, Ventas at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Dear V6880HHpatrickc, Thank for choosing us and providing us with your review. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our beautiful facilities and the friendly. However, we apologize for any issue you may have come across during your stay, as well as any deficiencies in our part. As a service-oriented company, we strive to deliver remarkable experiences to all our guests. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience. Warm regards, Madeline Cabrera eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Franklin L wrote a review Dec 2020
New York32 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
My family and I had the misfortune of staying at your hotel from 3rd of dec 2020 to 6 of dec 2020 in room numbers.

During our stay, we encountered a number of
service issues that I think you should know of and hopefully do something about.

First, I want to say the your staff is amazing but if you don’t give them the appropriate tools to make sure your guest are happy , don’t blame them. We are very satisfied with all the employees.

Second, the night of arrival I want to say how bad your food was at the buffet. The food was cold and not chewable to the point that some of us didn’t even eat. The wine we paid for tasted like it was made with grapes dipped in bleach water.
After we complained to the staff they left a note at one of our rooms to come to lobby, as they explained to us the they will make a special diner for us at the SunClub VIP area.

The diner was worse than the one at the buffet because they had to carry it from the buffet area when you have a kitchen at the SunClub VIP. if you wanted to change our perspective of what we thought about the buffet you should have done provided a different menu, but it was not done.

The lunch at the SunClub VIP area was good as Carlos was making sure that everything was good and there was a chef in that kitchen.
Dinner at the Italian restaurant for some of us that didn’t do the bon fire wasn’t what we expected either.

This VIP area is one of the worst VIP area my family and I have ever been in the world.
This is the list of some of the things that should be offered at the SunClub VIP area.
Hight quality amenities, Private beach area, Private prefer pool, Special pillows, Private check in and out, Bar with selection premium drinks exclusive at the club lounge amongst a few other things.

The drinks were not even close to premium, the pillows are the worse. We didn’t get a private check in or check out , we didn’t have a private beach, the pool is too small for the amount of rooms you have in the SunClub , the beach was not private. It’s not even worth to mention the rest the things.

The housecleaning staff at your hotel did a great job , like I said before we can’t complain about your staff as they do the most to take care of the guest. Especially Carlos at SunClub lounge.

I hope you agree with me that this type of service is completely unacceptable at so many levels. We do understand that with the pandemic everything has changed and that you may have less staff, but people are trying to support you as a business and for us to come from different parts of the world to spend time with family, It is not the kind of treatment I would have expected from a four and half star hotel of your state and caliber. I am very disappointed from this bitter experience.

I would like to hear your thoughts about my complaint and the steps that you are willing to take to prevent such incidents in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Econcierge Sunscape Puerto Plata, Ventas at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 8 Dec 2020
Dear 489franklinl , Please receive a very warm greeting from Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa and also thank you for your feedback regarding our staff, which is our most valuable resource We were saddened to learn that these situations distracted your attention from the enjoyment of you vacation. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; that's why it is important to highlight that as soon as we received your report, we gave the proper follow up to your concern and try to accommodate you and your family with the intention of improving your stay with us. It is worth mentioning that we have a professional Quality Control Manager who over sees the resort and verifies that we are always within company internationals standards and regulations and thanks to the commitment that we have with our food an beverage recently our property received the Cristal Certification for International Standards in Food Check. We deeply regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations and hope that you understand it was never our intention to disappoint you in anyway. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; therefore, we strive to provide the best quality service to all, nonetheless, if you ever consider visiting us again any time in the future, we’d be sure to do everything within our hands to turn this past experience around and show that we are worthy of your kind patronage. Sincerely, Madeline Cabrera eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2017
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FamTrip wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada34 contributions4 helpful votes
Visited this resort back in November 2019, the checkin was ok, not the perfect one, had to wait about 2 hours before we were let in and just to find out that our connecting rooms were still locked. Come on, guys, you do not realize people need these rooms to be actually opened for unpacking and organizing their stay?
Had to call reception 2 times in 40 minutes, still no luck, until my husband found somebody from stuff on the floor to open them for us. The doors were finally opened but they could not be closed back again, as there is simply no door knob on them. You can only push or pull it, depending in which room you are.
No air conditioner in the main lobby, reception is really poor in customer service, they just listen to you and go back to their computer monitor so you never know if the issue is going to be solved or not.

The food is fine, clean and somehow tasty bur there is no variety, so get ready to eat the same set of meals each day of your stay.
The resort is small and there was no people upon our arrival, but it got extremely overcrowded on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, as they let locals in and this small place becomes a mess. There is absolutely no room for the amount of people in the buffet, the lines are huge and sometimes there is no sense of line at all as local people just trying to take advantage of their short stay and leaving you empty-handed on some delicious treats. Also, they ask for your room number and how many people are going to eat EVERY time you are coming for a meal, which is really annoying and was driving me nuts every time as I don't want people around me to hear that my room is currently empty.

Basically no cultural life at night, the mini-disco is just pathetic,
pool is extremely small, another pool close to lobby is even smaller,
the beach has all sort of craft sellers for you, so forget about nice quiet leisure time on the chaise lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear Adj_1284, Thank you for choosing us, and taking the time to provide us with your honest review. We deeply regret your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We were saddened to learn that these situations distracted your attention from the enjoyment of you vacation. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; therefore. We thank you kindly for bringing these issues to our attention, this can only help us to make improvements in the future. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
656lorio wrote a review Feb 2020
Nepean, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful beach, gentle slope to water can walk for miles in either direction.
Service in Sunclub area was great
Lunch Buffett by the beach in Castaways nice option & 2 bars available
Found the sellers a bit annoying they were not aggressive
Beach was clean & seaweed when it occurred cleaned up quickly
Chairs are saved for hours even though signs posted
Pools
Main party pool Music & activities with swim up bar
More umbrellas needed or shade areas again chairs saved early
Lots of people smoking
Towels are nice but Sunclub short supply
Buffett: good variety no lineups Food was good Limited seafood fish options no shrimp lobster extra $
Fresh fruit salad chicken pork beef & vegetarian only issues getting coffee wine refills
Restaurants Service was hit or miss need to improve attentiveness of staff people wandering but difficult to determine who is serving
Pizza was good not open for lunch
Drinks were ok Presidente Beer only option More real fruit juice please the bartenders were attentive
Rooms:clean big good water temp pressure limited storage space
Sunclub: recommend 2 small private pools service snack
WIFI Overall was terrible even Sunclub
Lobby: more chairs tables are needed for guests and music
Grounds: nicely kept, hotel separated by mangroves from the beach
It’s a nice resort to spend a week at the pool on the beach I would rate as a solid 3.75. Higher rating would be if the food and wifi improved. Price was good for what we received.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear 656lorio, We so much appreciate you taking the time to share this review about your recent stay at Sunscape Puerto Plata. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, as we are always looking for opportunities to address any areas of improvement and growth opportunities. We understand you had some concerns during your stay. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can, therefore, we have taken note of each matter you had and this information will be passed along to the involved manager for further review, as guest satisfaction is our top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. Warmest Regards, Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah R wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am a firm believer in you get what you pay for with an all inclusive. Given the price the resort was fine. Our room was clean. There are no fans in the bathroom so it quickly turns into a steam room when you shower. There is also 0 insulation in the rooms meaning you can hear doors slamming, drunk people yelling, and your upstairs neighbor flush the toilet at all hours. Our door also wasn’t sealed properly so you could see light through the frame at 3am.

Food was average nothing to write home about. The specialty restaurants essentially served similar entrees but put a different sauce on it and called it something else. Ex we are at Del Marino (Italian) the first night and I had “tri-tip” beef with a sauce on it. Thin strips of beef, tender, and tasted good. On the Argentinian night I again had the “special cut of beef” which was the same thin beef slices with a different sauce. Portions were small which was great because if you were still hungry you could have more vs not eating all of a larger meal and wasting food. Drinks were smaller and alcohol was bottom shelf, which again is expected for an all inclusive and as long as you’re not drinking neat or shots you won’t notice. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they took great care in making sure everyone enjoyed themselves and keeping the resort clean. Multiple pools were nice, and kept clean. The gym was boiling hot with no AC at all times of the day. Overall if you are looking for a budget friendly all inclusive this is the place to stay, but if you are looking for a more relaxing quiet resort I would suggest you consider other options.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Econcierge Sunscape Puerto Plata, Ventas at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Dear sarahrD6505JJ, Thank you for choosing us, and taking the time to provide us with your honest review. We were saddened to learn that these situations distracted your attention from the enjoyment of you vacation. For us, it has been a pleasure to be your hosts, and we are filled with great satisfaction that you have enjoyed our good service. Our goal is to provide spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors; therefore. Nonetheless, if you ever consider visiting us again any time in the future, we’d be sure to do everything within our hands to turn this past experience around and show that we are worthy of your kind patronage. Cordially, Leonor Álvarez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084. info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lata O wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I recently got back from my trip here with my parents. We were pleasantly surprised! The resort was so clean, there were so many workers who were involved in making the resort presentable at all times. The food was so good - I loved the buffet during breakfast and lunch. During the evening, we went to the Italian restaurant: De Mario and it was soo good! We also went to the Asian restaurant and had the sushi, salmon and the rice ball - quite delicious. I also was a big fan of the water aerobics in the pool area - Junio was great at guiding us in the pool area. The beach was also beautiful and the water was clear. The vendors are all registered so they approach you but when you decline their services, they go away. The beach area does not have many nearby resorts that are full so there is lots of space for you to relax out there. I was a big fan of the entertainment including the Coconut party & the paella party. The beach also had the Catch of the Day which was Salmon on Tuesday. It is clear that the workers work very hard to take care of the resort guests and this was well appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Dora000123, On behalf of the entire team of Sunscape Puerto Plata, we will like to thank you for choosing us as your holidays destination and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor`s community. We feel so happy to read your comments about our hotel, you cannot imagine how thankful we are when reading your positive review, it looks like we have succeeded in making another guest to experience our superb service, this is our main goal and this is why we feel so emotional to acknowledge just this. The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back here in the future, do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking. Cordially, Kelvin Vásquez eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002 info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from William H
Welland, Canada20 contributions18 helpful votes
I can't say I have seen yogurt but then I don't eat it wether. In running the buffet through my mind's eye and the way it is set up I don't believe there is.
Show all answers
Answer from lylewarden
Bainsville, Canada1 contribution
Yes. There was a pasta station during lunch and supper, and an omelette station during breakfast. Hope this helps.
Show all answers
Bev D asked a question 17 Feb
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Where can you smoke at the resort? First day here and a little lost
Answer from Scott B
Kitchener, Canada4 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes they have designated areas to do so
Show all answers
Brittney asked a question 1 Feb
Halifax, Canada10 contributions9 helpful votes
Would anyone know which # building Sunscape Superior Garden view could be?
Answer from Angie P
Perth, Canada382 contributions143 helpful votes
Google the resort map and you can see the building numbers. Pick one you prefer and send the resort an email. We stayed at sunclub both times we stayed. Once in adults only, other in family sunclub.
Corinne C wrote a tip 4 Feb
Lower Sackville, Canada4 contributions
"For travellers of a certain age, I recommend the adults only Club. The pool area is quiet and you usually have no problem finding a chair."
Read full review
Jen S wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
"Bring a Yeti or Bubba to fill with water or beer. Dish soap to wash them out Floaties for the pool"
Read full review
Manuel M wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
"They Have to go and Visit Susncape it's Awesome!!"
Read full review
Angie P wrote a tip Jan 2024
Perth, Canada382 contributions143 helpful votes
"Take Sunclub for more amenitie & select premium alcohol. Great suite with poolview at the family Sunclub 17204 or adults only section."
Read full review
Kedar wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brampton, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Go to speciality restaurants early to avoid long wait."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Plata area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 527 - RM 930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo puerto plata hotel puerto plata, puerto plata barcelo, grand flamenco, occidental grand puerto plata, occidental grand flamenco puerto plata, grand puerto plata, flamenco occidental, barcelo puerto plata dominican republic
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Puerto Plata
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
585
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNSCAPE PUERTO PLATA: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 5,193 Photos (Dominican Republic) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunscape Puerto Plata
Which popular attractions are close to Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Las Americas (6.4 km), Rancho Lorilar (4.3 km), and Taino Bay Puerto Plata (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Lee's Beach Bar, Le Petit Francois, and Ristorante Passatore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sunscape Puerto Plata have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunscape Puerto Plata offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sunscape Puerto Plata offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunscape Puerto Plata?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (6.2 km), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (6.1 km), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (6.2 km).