We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arena Gorda _ Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
53 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Priceline
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
FindHotel
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/22
Booking.comUS$173
TravelocityUS$173
Hotels.comUS$173
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8473)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (1044)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#98 of 197 in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish
9020Reviews1661Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,028
  • 2,470
  • 1,346
  • 580
  • 598
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mel K wrote a review Yesterday
West Sussex, United Kingdom82 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
First holiday since covid, expecting too much probably... Check in, nightmare, any slower the staff would be asleep. A welcome drink wouldn't have gone amiss after the flight and transfer, just a thought. Room was fine, your only in it to sleep. Bed was so comfy, cleaned regularly. Food , for me was fine, so much to choose from, we used 4 of the restaurants available via appointment, the Japanese was fab as was the Mexican, Italian and Grill, not so much. Staff, well if you don't speak Spanish you're out of luck. I underatand it's a Spanish speaking country but ordereding drinks, even tea and coffee was a nightmare, the pool bar just be grateful you get a drink. Entertainment was brilliant, something different every night and they work so hard. The pools are gorgeous, plenty of beds, the beach was lush. Overall It was a pleasant stay but would not return or recommend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear Client, We would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. Thank you for mentioning the beach, the entertainment, the pools, the restaurants, etc. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay and having the opportunity to change the bad perception you may have had of our Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahía Principe Bávaro Resort
Read more
Ashley B wrote a review 23 May
1 contribution
I would first like to start off by saying I have stayed at the Bahia Principe 5 times and each time has been very enjoyable! This time, we stayed from April 24-May 1. We travelled with a group of 32 for our wedding. Check in was a bit disorganized, some of the rooms were not ready when we arrived late afternoon, but it was no big deal, the alcoholic drinks we got at the lobby bar while waiting helped a lot! ;) Rooms were pretty outdated, but the maids were phenomenal! A/C worked very well. The safe worked great. No issues. Water pressure in shower and sink was great. Beds were very comfortable and always felt clean. Food was great at buffet and at the al la cartes! Any picky eater can find something! Wifi was spotty in certain parts of the resort. Most of us in the group were always at the pool during the day which was amazing! The beach had a lot of seaweed the first couple days, but after day 2, the water was perfectly clear and so warm! As for our wedding, it was AMAZING and everything we wanted. We got married on the beach and had our reception at one of the restaurants right on the beach, which made for fantastic views! Our wedding coordinator Glaymi, I have no bad things to say about her. She kept in contact with me through email the months leading up to our arrival. It was so nice to finally meet her in person and discuss everything we had done over email. She made sure it was everything we wanted, and even gave us suggestion when we were unsure about something. She kept in contact with us during our stay as well, answering any questions we had within minutes. The ceremony was beautiful and the decorations were incredible! Our photographer Pablo was amazing to work with! He was fun, outgoing, knew exactly what he was doing, and overall made our photography experience incredible! It was quite windy on the wedding day and he always made sure my hair and veil was in the right spot before taking pictures! Our reception at the Blue Bar was fantastic. We had random people trying to walk through but Glaymi told them to kindly leave as this was a private event. She was always on the ball! She was with us from beginning to the end of the night and she even danced with us while the DJ was playing! All in all, we had an amazing week with friends and family. Yes this section of the resort is old and outdated, but we made memories we will never forget!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear Client, How nice to know that you had an unforgettable wedding experience at our Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana. Rest assured that your feedback is important. On behalf of our team we thank you for sharing your comments of your stay and we hope to have you back with us soon. Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahía Principe Bávaro Resort
Read more
Jordan G wrote a review 20 May
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Starting with check in being at 3pm. We arrived at 525pm and our room wasn't ready. Previous reviews told me that happens alot, so I asked how long and was shooed away to go get a drink at the bar. I gave it 10 minutes and walked back asking where my room was. Someone else beside me was waiting for 2 hours and I refused to let that be me. After 5 minutes, I showed $1 and we got our room. We were here for our honeymoon, weeks prior I emailed the resort back and fourth about doing something special in our room, the emails went answered but the request was never filled. Not a huge deal. Getting to the room, it's just meh. Mold all over the shower wall. The bed was comfy, the ac didn't work, but the mini fridge and safe did. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The public washrooms were clean. No issues with the ocean! The pools were alittle boring, unless someone brought their bluetooth speaker, and the bartenders in each one acted like they didn't want to be there, and we are tippers. As for food. I was full for lunch and dinner but breakfast was lacking. Never got sick like other reviewers mentioned but it could happen as alot of things aren't refrigerated and if they are, not properly. The a la carte meals were great: steak house, Greek, Japanese, and Italian. Italian was overly salty but the experience was nice. All places were nice and the servers were attentive. Overall, all staff, tipping didn't really get you anywhere like you'd think it would in places like this, and we understand they have it harder than us from Canada, just wouldve been nice to see appreciation and good service for it as times are tough everywhere. We were expecting atleast 4 star and it felt like a 3. The two of us didn't let it stop us and we made it all worth while. But next time to Punta Cana will be somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Client, We would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at our facilities. We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are pleased that you mentioned the gardens, the restaurants, etc. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at any of our Bahia Principe Hotels in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica and/or Spain, and to demonstrate our commitment to service and customer satisfaction. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Marisa T wrote a review 20 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
OKAY PEOPLE GET IT TOGETHER. I just came back from a 10 day stay with my wife here and it was excellent. Reading some of these reviews and complaints are ridiculous. 1: if you are expecting to not see any bugs in the Caribbean…. Go to Alaska. Of course there’s going to be some ants and bugs. YOURE IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC! 2: People complaining that the staff speak to much spanish…. YOURE IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC! If you want to make sure that every staff member can speak english go to England. All the staff we interacted with were 10/10! 3: People complaining that the rooms look old and dated…. I have questions for these people. 1 is how much time do you actually spend in your room on a vacation? 2: if you want a luxury looking room. Go to a luxury hotel. Our room was clean, whenever we needed anything there was a staff member at our room within 5 minutes of calling. 4: People complaining about too much spanish music…. If you want to hear some AC/DC book a vacation to Texas. YOURE IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC! The music was fabulous. 5: People complaining about too many people on the beach and no privacy… they should book themselves a private villa somewhere. You’re on a beautiful beach, with awesome sand and turquoise water…. And you’re complaining? The resort has at least 6 pools that I’ve seen that they could go to and have less people…. The entertainment team did a fantastic job, there was always something to do. The buffet was different every day. The resort was SUPER CLEAN. The amount of staff they have at all times cleaning and maintaining the resort is incredible. The shows at 9pm were the best resort shows I’ve ever seen. Especially the Circus show, wow just WOW! Please read the negative reviews with a grain of salt. Some people can find anything to complain about which is pretty sad. I will recommend this resort to anyone and I will for sure come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Client, All of us at our hotel are passionate about serving and exceeding our guests' expectations. We greatly appreciate your positive comments. We are pleased that you highlighted the service, our staff, the varied food, the pools, the beautiful beach, etc. Please let us know of your next visit to Punta Cana at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Dontaya B wrote a review 13 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I don’t know where to start. The “junior superior suite” is terrible, basically motel 8 room (and even those are nicer). I asked for an upgrade after seeing these false advertised rooms and all inclusive really isn’t what it’s cracked up to be. I attempted to show them my travel agent card with my IATA INFORMATION FROM MY COMPANY, expressing that I will review them as I have others who wanted to come here. I generally like to give reviews to my clients after I visit. I’ll never recommend this place. I even offered to pay more to be at the amber luxury but was told it’ll be $50 more per day (It really was just about 10-15 more per day online). I am hoping to cancel the rest of my stay tomorrow and book at a different resort. Everyone here seems confused. Hard to find a person who speaks decent English but I expected that. Beds at the grand Punta cana are hard as bricks! no wash clothes, no room service, minibar literally has nothing but 4 sodas and 4 bottles of water. expect to over pay here, especially if you’re using a credit card. Expect to starve as well because the food that is included has time limits to when you can eat. Also should note that there isn’t a standard for cross contamination, as I watched the guy on the grill put fish, chicken, and beef right next to each other as if they don’t understand that they can kill someone who may have a fish allergy. Most meats were undercooked as well. I’m going to be so angry if I can’t leave this place, haven’t even been here a full 24 hours. I’m supposed to stay until Monday, but I prefer home at this point. Will not recommend to my clients, will inform my travel agency to remove them from our affiliated resorts as well as they don’t even honor the IATA anyway. Worst vacation ever especially if I have to be stuck here until the 16th of May. So much money wasted. I’m fed up with this place already.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, We regret all the inconveniences caused during your stay in our facilities and that these could have tarnished our image. We inform you that we have already sent your comment to the Hotel, for its due management. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana gran bahia principe
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
756
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.9 km), Splash Water Park (1.1 km), and Pacha Discotheque (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.