We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ClubHotel Riu Bambu

16/07/2017 17/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,508: English reviews
Start your review of ClubHotel Riu Bambu
 Click to rate
Saint Paul, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We upgraded to a deluxe room and that got us a little bigger outdated room right next to the road entering the resort; furthest from the beach or pool. That was very disappointing; to find out you paid more and got less. They actually didn't have any pool side or ocean view rooms that I could see. The dinning was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivan W
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We would like to inform you that the hotel will close later on this year in order to allow the construction of some new facilities. Further information will be available soon on our official website. We can assure you that RIU is...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed three weeks in this hotel and didn't get bored at all. Super food catering for every taste from hot dogs to caviar. 4 other themed restaurants, all excellent. Three main pools, one very lively with games and music and one quiet pool with loads of sunbeds. The beach is fantastic and you can walk for miles. The sea is...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Lyn P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a week as a family 11th April to celebrate 40th wedding anniversary. Was not told by First Choice that on the day we were leaving, the hotel was closing down for 3 months for a major refurbishment. Hotel itself was ok but obviously not as good as the Riu Palace Macao and Riu Palace Bavaro where we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor C
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts once again for your wedding anniversary. As you mentioned in your review, we would like to inform you that the hotel will close later on this year in order to allow the construction of some new facilities. Further information will be available soon on our official website. We can assure...

Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited RIU Bambu from April 7-14 with our teenage kids and two other couples for a total of 12 of us, the check in went really well our keys and bands were waiting for us when we arrived. The room was ok bit of a walk to buffet and pool but that was ok, called for towels said they...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank flyers4488
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. We would like to inform you that the hotel will close later on this year in order to allow the construction of some new facilities. Further information will be available...

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perhaps there are things about the Riu Bambu that make a rating of 5/5 a little generous, but we had such a wonderful time here that it seems churlish to look for flaws. We like Riu's ClubHotel formula very much. Low-rise properties with some attention to local flavour rather than characterless international luxurious uniformity. Punta Cana is a lovely place....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank kittyandbill
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited during Easter weekend which was very crowded. Would not go during Easter again. This was also preceding the day the entire resort closed for major renovations. Overall friendly staff, decent food-not great, and gorgeous beach. This resort was a mid range resort so it lacked many amenities but I knew this when I booked. Overall good stay and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Y
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. We are very disappointed to find that you had the impression that the hotel was crowded during your stay. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services. We will share your impressions regarding the amenities also with the corresponding department...

St. Louis, MO
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was fairly good as expected. The pool, swim up bar, children's pool, and beach were excellent. Close to each other. Plenty of chairs by poolside or at the beach. The entertainment crew was excellent, very energetic and kept us busy and entertained. The quality of food and drinks was a little lower. Most drinks were locally made. Mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shintrec
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing for Riu hotel in punta Cana domenican.hotel advertising as 5* ,it not even 4*.needs modernisation.no baths .bathroom door bangs on toilet when opened .bedside drawers broken .in restaurant plates left on table all the time and very poor service.beach area dirty and needle found on beach where our daughter was playing .reception staff unfriendly and just nodded heads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roisin H
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

BEACH: Gorgeous! Beautiful blue and turquoise waters on gorgeous long stretch of beach where you can walk for miles in either direction. No rocks. Little seaweed. Gets windy so there are waves which can be fun if you bring tubes for your kids! There are tons of palm trees all around the beach and hotel grounds of this resort which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yacopow
Swan Hills, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 4 stayed from April 10-17, 2017, we had 2 rooms as our kids are 18 and 9. The beach and pool were amazing as well as the bar staff. The food on the other hand to us was not eatable! The last 3 days we were eating very little and really couldn't wait to get back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shennjoe
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bambu, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. In order to fulfill every guest expectations regarding food, our main buffet and specialty restaurants offer a great range of food options. We were concerned to note that we failed to live up to your expectations. But we can assure you...

6,609 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5987)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1579)
Viewed
Bathroom (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (481)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (900)
Viewed
Dining (446)
Viewed
View from Room (112)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (22)
Viewed
2:20
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (2264)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (569)
Viewed
Amenities (96)
Viewed
Beach (48)
Viewed
Children's Pool (35)
Viewed
Double Room (74)
Viewed
Pool (94)
Viewed
Pool 2 (32)
Viewed
Dining (141)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Other (26)
16/07/2017 17/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
29.2 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
934 reviews
25.8 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,707 reviews
4.6 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,302 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#67 of 110 in Punta Cana
4,877 reviews
4.1 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: RM610 - RM1,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ClubHotel Riu Bambu staff and other travellers.
492 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (492)

Questions? Get answers from ClubHotel Riu Bambu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be closer to the beach or pool. Don't just think a more expensive room means it is better...you will be disappointed.”
290ivanw, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to request a room near to reception as 2 storey accommodation really spread out.”
trevorc702, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“You could t Ask to be near beach; the hotel may be able to oblige. Site compact, some outlooks may be uninspiring, but NO "bad" locations.”
kittyandbill, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for close to the beach or pools”
shennjoe, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask to be in building 1 or 2”
kruczer, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Elvoline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates