We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Start your review of Judy House Cottages and Rooms
 Click to rate
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We rented a cabin and had a wonderful time! The porch and the beautiful landscaping was a perfect setting for relaxing with a bottle of wine and a deck of cards. We enjoyed the ability to walk to pretty much everywhere we wanted to go -- they weren't short walks, but enjoyable ones! There's a small beach at the bottom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sniccinics
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you need to be pampered and have someone constantly serving you, then stay in a resort. On the other hand, if you want to meet people from all over the world and experience the local Jamaican people and culture, this is a great place to stay. I stayed in the most plush accommodations on the site, the Zoe room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year's Eve after booking a cottage very last minute. The cottage was beautiful and had everything you could need and more. I also have to say that all the staff went out of their way to help me when I had messed up with the payment and they were all so forgiving and accommodating. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noor D
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 'New Year's review and so glad we were all able to help. At the Judy House we constantly try to improve our customer service and it's so good to hear when it works for you. So glad you enjoyed yourself so much. Hope to see you at the Judy House again one day ... One Love!

Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Judy house has been our home in Negril for the last three years, and for good reason. The land is beautiful and lush, set up on the hill, just a 10 minute walk from the sea. Zoe room is our favorite, as it offers more than just the dorm rooms( which also are just fine, when traveling on a smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine S
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Love it that you two, amazing mother and brilliant daughter, return to the Judy House every year to spend your vacation with me. You are not just great company, but you are are so wonderful with other guests, particularly new ones who leave a little more advice and support on their first visit to Negril/Jamaica. Steering them to some of...

Longueuil, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very far from the beach, the restaurants and the bars, about a 40 min walk. Dirty! even with the net around the bed, I had so many bugs bites everywhere! And it is impossible de sleep with the farm and the rouster right beside my room!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith G
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Oh dear what a terrible review. You arrived very late at night, after our normal check in time, sat outside drinking with your rooms doors wide open .Before daybreak you were complaining about my property to anyone that would hear, both staff and wonderful guests on vacation. You did not even give the place a chance and now to see...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I chose Judy House because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and it was everything the reviews said and more. I stayed in a double with an ensuite which had a private garden that provided me with the privacy I wanted. I meet many young people from all over the world that stayed in the hostel part of the Judy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Judy House, Negril. So glad you enjoyed your short stay in the new Judy House in Brighton. 30 mins away from Negril in the beautiful, local, fisherman and farming community is my favourite place these days in Jamaica! Nice that we have had some many visitors to it already, the...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Two buddies and I stayed here 3 nights. The staff is amazing Ms H, Martel and Sue. We stayed in the hammock tents for two nights and I had no issues. The rooster does wake up early though. Lol. Night 3 we stayed in the cottage and let me tell you thats amazing. Communal areas are great. Wifi works good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cesar V
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and taking the time to write it. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and many thanks for the 'tips' which I know will help other guests. One Love!

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I loved Jamaica from the moment I landed in Montego Bay, but I loved it even more when I got to Judy House. Sue had arranged for Clive's Tours to take me to the hostel and I was greeted with a Red Stripe and Andre the driver even stopped by an excellent Jerk Chicken for me to pick up dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Renuka S
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Great review and yes love the title "perfect for the solo traveller" which many, many single guests make use of al the time. I was a solo traveler in Jamaica for many years and I used that experience to create all the businesses I have designed, built and managed here. The detail of your review is wonderful for others planning...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Sue is very helpful and nice, helping me find a driver to pick me up and answer my questions. The house is very lovely located in beautiful hill and the working staff are very friendly as well. Recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyncu
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Short and to the point, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review us. Much appreciated your feedback and hope you will visit us again one day soon. One Love!

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Very basic accommodation which was expected anyway but no bunk beds which is good. Rooms are a little small. Unfortunately the keys for your personal security box fits everyone's security box which is not ideal! Friendly atmosphere and helpful staff which is always good! But must say people continue to smoke in the non smoking area where you eat your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and taking the time to write it. Interesting 'Hippy Accommodation' title? We do get a few, but most come from a variety of different countries (56 in 2016) and are travelling for a number of different reasons from world travel to a quick vacation abroad. Very basic accommodation, price begin at $8.50US per night (Hammocks)...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (420)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (209)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.8 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
1,277 reviews
3.6 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
970 reviews
2.9 km away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Judy House Cottages property began life in December 2008 and finished construction in 2012. At the front of property 2 pretty, cosy, private, self-catering cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful tropical garden, with flowers, fruits & vegetables in abundance. The cosy, wooden cottages have verandas, private patios, hammocks, safes, cable TV, wifi, kitchen equipment and everything you should need to make your cottage your home whilst in Jamaica! Property is kept in pristine condition, including the communal patio, dip pool, bar-b-que, sun deck, rock garden, outdoor baths & shower. Nestling at the back of the secure property is my Backpacker Hostel, 8 bed, 5 basic rooms sharing kitchens, bathrooms & communal areas for world travelers and cottage guests alike. Added recently is a double private room with ensuite and private garden, plus 2 hammock cabanas where you can rent hammocks to sleep in. There is free WiFi for all too. A small, well stocked 'Honesty' bar/shop is provided for guests 24/7's to enjoy drinks & snacks for when you just want to hang out on property which has lots spaces designed for just that. Set in a real local, friendly community giving you the chance to experience the real Jamaica, with shops & bar close by and Mary's Bay Beach on the One Love Drive right at the end of my road. Quiet, with a real country feel, but with all the beach, restaurants, bars and other tourist facilities just a walk away. Sue can also organize airport shuttles, tours, scooter rentals and is a very valuable tourist information resource herself too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Address: Westland Mountain Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Price Range: RM102 - RM395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Judy House Cottages and Rooms 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Judy House Cottages and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judy House Cottages Hotel Negril
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Judy House Cottages and Rooms staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Judy House Cottages and Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Highly recommend a cabin, but you have to find the chatter of chickens and goats charming and not annoying.”
 of 5 bubbles sniccinics, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Far as possible from the room right next to the rouster”
 of 5 bubbles 187judithg, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“better choose room with courtyard and private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles flyncu, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The room i stayed in suited me fine!”
 of 5 bubbles Dee0070, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are only slightly more expensive, go for that!”
 of 5 bubbles madisonb149, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5