We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel just completed repairs after Hurricane Matthew. Rather than turning us away, our gracious host, Petrona "cooked up" a delightful breakfast while we basked in the sheer beauty of the restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Bay. Would love to go back...a must see for friends..

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid D
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

How wonderful to learn that you were made to feel so welcome and in addition enjoyed your experience so much. A wonderful breakfast is a great way to start a day, especially when you can enjoy the lovely panoramic views and feel on top of the world. Thank you! We do hope you come and stay with us on your... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I enjoyed three nights at the Mockingbird Hill Hotel in early November with our ten month old baby. The hotel's setting is very beautiful. It is located in the midst of a vast and lush tropical garden with many spots to "hide away" and to snug up with a good book. The rooms are spacious and tastefully... More 

Helpful?
Thank claudiaking
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I recently visited Jamaica for the first time and stayed at Hotel Mockingbird Hill, somewhere I'd known of from other travellers for many years. What a delight. I've stayed at many, many "eco-lodges" or boutique hotels that aim for sustainability, but few if any have succeeded as does Hotel Mockingbird Hill. The rooms (I was in #5) are all different,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GillianKendall
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

You have captured the essence of the experience we offer our guests so well. Thank you. It is the combination of simple elegance combined with aspects of our values. We operate not just as a hotel but partner with our stakeholders - both our suppliers and our guests - to bring about a more sustainable world and to create prosperity... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Unfortunately we didn’t like the Mockingbird Hotel at all. The only positive surprise of this hotel has been the young German intern doing all the service there. She has been really lovely and helpful. But: She was the only person working in service there. An intern… Also the hotel is quite run-down. It is old, the furniture looks from the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kungenwauzi
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

Despite the fact that our records show no guests from London, UK in August, and we do not recall welcoming anyone from London during this time (hence our inability to say goodbye) we are sorry to learn that you did not like the hotel. We are however glad that you did enjoy the meals served. Unfortunately, based on your comments,... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2016

After a meandering drive from step back in time Port Antonio, you turn off the main in Drapers, just before Blue Hole and Fairy Hill, is the commencement of a worthwhile adventure. The climb up the Portland-lush hill side, aiming right turn after right turn, is worth it...then there you are, far from the madding crowd on the door step... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl B
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016

First of all, you definitely have to spend some time there. Even if it is just for one night but it is an experience itself. You are welcomed with a cool and well smelled chill towel and a fresh welcome drink in the bar enjoying the first impressions – what a view!! You get a folder with lots of information... More 

Helpful?
Thank muelleranke1
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Nestled in the hilltop forestry of Port Antonio, Jamaica sits Hotel Mockingbird Hill. With views of the ocean in the east and the curved indent of the town below, you are close enough either way with both the beach and town being no more than a 5min drive from either, but still up in the seclusion where you can breathe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie-Monique L
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We have just come back from a lovely three day stay at this picturesque eco-hotel. It was already dark when we arrived, which was fun when trying to navigate the steep winding hill up to the property. This looks a lot more daunting than it actually is. Once parked in the ample car park we were met by the night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorldInAWeekend
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

The best part of travelling is being open to new experiences, exploring and discovering new things and yet feeling at home. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in such detail and thus helping to create the right expectations for other persons planning their vacation. It is important that one comes prepared for the harmless "wild life"... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We didn't stay but booked for dinner when staying in the area. What a beautiful location and property - even though it was raining heavily we could see how stunning it was both inside and out. We had a lovely meal, beautifully served, and the staff were very warm and welcoming and good with our young son. It was one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DhakaJen
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the meal and the setting as well as the care and good service. Thank you. The opinions on the portions vary - most guests find them very generous especially with all the complimentary accompaniments that are provided, including a generous basket of home baked breads and rolls and an amuse bouche. The... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Damp bedsheets, maybug infestation, mosquito infestation, insufficient lighting, regular power cuts, no air conditioning, intimidating rude staff who double up as the owners, appalling food cooked by the owner, very misleading website and grossly overpriced. I have absolutely no idea how this hotel continues to receive any positive reviews -it simply doesn't make sense. I've stayed in many hotels across... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francesca H
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review

These guests have chosen to write another vitriolic review complaining about the owners of the hotel, the service, the food and the property having already done so in a previous one (Scary Authoritarian Owners Made Us Run Away). They wonder how we could have ever received any positive comments. The fact is that in 23 years we are proud to... More 

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.8 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 15 in Port Antonio
417 reviews
1.1 km away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Antonio
213 reviews
0.5 km away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#8 of 15 in Port Antonio
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 15 in Port Antonio
154 reviews
205.2 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
75.2 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Price Range: RM942 - RM1,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mocking Bird Hill staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mocking Bird Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper rooms have views of the ocean as well as the gardens. All are spacious and well designed.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianKendall, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms all have unique character as a boutique hotel would be expected to have it.”
 of 5 bubbles carlbP2020UC, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful; the sea views are generally higher and garden views lower”
 of 5 bubbles TheWorldInAWeekend, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are worth the extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles mgadevonian, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying the extra for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnLepley, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay