We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Maria and Joe are excellent and go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. I had a very comfortable, relaxing, and joyous stay. They were very helpful with activities and beaches to visit. The location is perfect and was within walking distance to many great restaurants and bars. I highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irinaalexandria
viequestgh, Manager at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Irina. It was so great to meet you. Evan has good taste ;) Please return soon and stay a little longer. Maria

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you don't rent a car in Vieques, don't go here. We read about this being near the Ferry Terminal (15 minutes) and decided to take it thinking Vieques should be a small enough island. Not true. Vieques has 2 distinct neighbourhoods, Isabel II and Esperanza about 15 minutes of a drive from one another. If you're a tourist, you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank the_0ne
viequestgh, Manager at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Tropical Guest House. We are actually closer to the entrance of the most beautiful beaches in the US Fish and Wildlife Reserve than if you are on the opposite side. We are a 12 minute walk from the ferry port which is especially important if you are taking a 6:00am ferry back to the...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was an amazing place to stay. Joe and Maria are amazing people. They made us breakfast each morning, took the time out to chat and answer any questions we had about the island. Maria recommended the best beaches to visit, taxi cab service, and what restaurants and bars we should try out. Joe was only too happy to chat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
viequestgh, Manager at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Evan for this great and very informative review. Joe and I are so happy that you chose us for your first, and second, stay in Vieques. I hope it's a trend of many visits to come. Thank you for also taking the extra time to mail us a thank you card, it brought big smiles to our faces....

Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Joe and Maria are amazing people and host. They treated us like family and we felt at home. When we got to Vieques they picked us up at the Ferry since we didn't know where we were going. Their hospitality is beyond anyones expectations. Joe's cooking is amazing and Maria makes you feel like you have not left your home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
NY
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at the guest house a few weeks ago the place seriously needs a lot of improvements. The first thing that we noticed when we got there was that the office and hallway were horrible painted and not even finished, then when we finished checking in we were going up to the room and the hallway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liugn
viequestgh, Owner at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for complimenting the staff. We do work hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and get what they need. YES, we are indeed in the process of painting. However, we try to do so when we are less occupied so as not to offend people with the smell of the paint. As far as the beaches, the nicest...

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an average place to stay. The room was very basic and could do with some improvements. First thing we noticed as soon as we walked in was that the light in the room was not working. For the entire stay we had to make do with a small table lamp and the light from the bathroom. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank geitaj
viequestgh, Manager at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review

First we would like to say thank you for staying with us at the Tropical Guest House. We apologize if your stay was less than pleasant. We offer humble, affordable accommodations and are making improvements daily. We take pride in customer service. If there was anything you may have needed, including additional toiletries, we would have been glad to provide...

Washington DC/Virginia
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Realistically, the accommodations are similar to average motels in the States, but the staff really earns the stars here. The location is not the best, as it is in a residential neighborhood on the other side of the island from most of the action in Esperanza. However, it was a relatively short walk to a few businesses in Isabel Segunda,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curlysteve
Tavares, Florida
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nice guest house. very basic. OUTSTANDING staff. As friendly as you can ask for. Rooms are very basic and can use improvements. Slept great. Breakfast and coffee was wonderful. Welcome cocktail upon arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChefJeff
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

A few months ago , i was there in tropical guess house , and joe and maria were great wt the best care and comfort, im colombian and i did not know too much about the viequez and on my first visit i had a big trouble finding accommodation was holly week and i did not habe reservations!! Joe and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscar A
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 3 September 2013

No doubt about it..... best hosts ever! We enjoyed our stay at the Guest House very much, hopefully we can come back one day and stay more time to enjoy the island. Once again thank you very much for the lovely service and welcoming atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith N

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
1.1 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
360 reviews
3.4 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,766 reviews
6.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
554 reviews
0.3 km away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
391 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tropical Guest House is conveniently located in Isabel Segunda, on the north side of the island. We are walking distance to the ferry, the historical fort/museum, restaurants, and everything "town" has to offer. The beautiful beaches are only a few minutes drive away. Our 15-room guesthouse includes single and double rooms, as well as studios with small refrigerators. Studios can accommodate larger families and groups. All rooms in the guest house have private baths, A/C and TV. Relax in the TGH lounge. Free Wi-Fi internet available. One night stays are welcomed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Guest House

Address: E41 Calle Apolonia Gittings, 00765-3704, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Price Range: RM357 - RM405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guest House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call Maria”
ErnestoV_13, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great and exceptionally clean”
526germanv, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was on the ground floor and it was super quiet. I'm sure the upstairs rooms where just as quiet.”
Jessesgirl2016, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet place. Nothing to complain!”
jaakkok130, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you decide to reach the hotel walking from the port, do it before the night.”
28adrianz, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates