We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,108: English reviews
Hampshire UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the very start of this holiday experience I knew it would be something different something to cherish & remember. In fact our visit was July 2016!! I didn't want to leave go of these memories & give them to someone else. At the resort we were greeted by our Butler who carried out his work so unobtrusively & in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VivHampshireUK
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that our team members went the extra mile to ensure you had the most relaxing and memorable stay possible. I am sorry that the unacceptable behavior of a few other guests and a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I know nothing is perfect, but my honeymoon was more than perfect! The whole experience at Sugar Beach Resort was outstanding! I love everything St. Lucia has to offer and I like to stay at places that are not main stream. I found Sugar Beach and fell in love. It was a little on the higher end of our price...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KT V
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good Day, On behalf of the entire team, I want to say how delighted we are that you had the honeymoon f your dreams at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. It is always gratifying to read reviews such as yours but even more so when we know you were celebrating such a special occasion. Thank you so much for sharing...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not stay at the Sugar Beach Viceroy Hotel. We stayed in a nearby property. We did eat several meals there, did water sports, rented beach chairs and celebrated fireworks on the beach NYE. The staff and manager of the beach restaurant were fantastic. Sometimes the service was as you'd expect - on island time... but without a doubt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cklingseisen
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to visit Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time on the beach, especially the New Year’s Eve fireworks spectacle between the Pitons—there is no better way to ring in the new year. I am sorry you found our service slow at times. As you quite rightly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I simply adored it here. A real paradise on earth, the beach is simply outstanding, yes I do agree however that the prices are very high, but do think that the scenery is just incredible. I recommend you to visit the beach here for a day, however please be aware that one sun bed cost 50 dollars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Livy W
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your day visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We agree with you wholeheartedly that we have one of the most spectacular locations in the world and are delighted you had to opportunity to enjoy the amazing scenery. I am sorry you found our prices higher than...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a Residence to take all the family away for a Big Birthday, and it was fabulous. The whole resort is lovely, although you are a captive audience and food and drink is very pricey. We did have a problem with the air conditioning in two of our four bedrooms that could not be fixed, but the hotel management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Lizzie
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for posting this review of your birthday stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I am truly sorry you had an issue with the air-conditioning in your Residence. While the problem should not have happened in the first place, I am happy to read that our team members worked tirelessly to get the problem resolved and...

Chatham, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointing is my best response. Very Overpriced. Not 5 star by any means. Location is beautiful, beach is very nice white sand and water is clear and clean. Nice beach chairs though first come first serve and other resorts share the beach. It was not crowded during our stay.Not provided room with 2nd bath that we requested at booking or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MPitonyak
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, We appreciate you sharing your comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the issues and concerns that you have raised in your review. We pride ourselves on providing a consistent luxury experience to all of our guests, yet it would appear we fell short on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying in a Luxury Beachfront Bungalow having arrived on the 26th of December and will be leaving on the 8th of January . The three butlers Mosiah, Maneske and Mchaille,are an absolute pleasure and are taking great care of us! We came across a few hiccups whilst staying here;our main concern was our dining experience at the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Tanya P
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for posting this expansive and helpful review of your festive season stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. On behalf of the entire team, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with the exception of the glitch you have reported. We will be investigating your comments to fully understand what went wrong with the timing of...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We did not stay here but took a shuttle from our hotel down to the beach twice in our trip. The location between the Pitons is totally unique in my opinion. If you are not a resident don't worry you can put your towel down and enjoy without the cost of a lounger. To the right of the jetty is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, We are delighted you enjoyed your time at sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort relaxing and making the most of the beach. We do have one of the best locations anywhere and I am happy you spent some time taking it all in and doing some snorkeling. Perhaps your next visit will be as a resident guest. We hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

direct flight from Gatwick is great, arrived in the rain at hotel and was underwhelmed. Villas were fine, but a little generic white and cracked concrete roadways link everything up and down the steep hilly location. after a good nights sleep the sun came out and all the rainforest greenery seemed a whole lot less gloomy but refreshing and protecting....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark H
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. It would appear from your comments that you were generally underwhelmed by your stay and that is always disappointing to me and the rest of the team. There is a wealth of activities to take part in both at the resort and in...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Was a day visitor at The Sugar Beach Viceroy Resort here last week. The parking for visitors is up near the tennis courts where you pick up a shuttle down to the beach area. The beach area is nice with a pretty setting. You need to plan on buying a drink or some food in order to use the resort....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, We appreciate your feedback about your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the incident you described. This is not reflective of our usually very high standards and for that I am truly sorry. We pride ourselves on exemplary service and attention to detail and it would appear...

2,215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1793)
Viewed
View from Room (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (330)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (316)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (12)
Viewed
Other (564)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (375)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Luxury Cottage (60)
Viewed
Luxury Villa (74)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
4.4 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
878 reviews
1.0 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,190 reviews
32.4 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
1,110 reviews
15.7 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
27.7 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Bayside Restaurant
Bayside Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Price Range: RM2,121 - RM8,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, West Indies, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort staff and other travellers.
129 questions
Ask a question
Southwest Oklahoma
5 months ago

See all questions (129)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower numbers are closer to the beach but cost more.”
 of 5 bubbles JSZS, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“a room close to the pool and beach”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraoO80MD, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were only here for the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles CBH487, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A villa is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles StrelM, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For great views choose a room up in the hill....shuttle takes you to the beach but we found it easy and convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles TTRosieTR, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5