We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,180: English reviews
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch to the Sugar Beach resort in Soufriere. The setting is superb, with the feet in the sand. Food, the maincourse we choose sushi and the sushi is absolutly great. Very tastefull. The dessert was disapointed! No taste at all. The service is slow, very slow with exception of Nicola but he can not serve the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moorselaar
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for sharing your feedback about your day visit to Sugar Beach. I am sorry your lunch at the Bayside Bar was inconsistent in terms of the food and the service. Your comments will be shared with the culinary team and our food and beverage director so these issues can be addressed. We hope you will consider...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Top notch resort with friendly staff, beautiful facilities and an amazing view. The beach is set between the two Pitons, offering a stunning view, yet private, secluded feeling. Staff were very attentive and make sure we had everything for our stay. Definitely will return here if back in St Lucia!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post your positive comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We do have the most stunning location and an attentive team that helps to ensure our guests have the most relaxing and enjoyable stays possible. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards,...

West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 14 February 2017

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the resort. We were upgraded to a villa which has all the amenities and more one would require. The beach, restaurants and outside excursions were great. Gus and Karen took great care of us as our butlers. Verdley, our transportation guru for off resort excursions is a special person and made the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wjayk2017
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Your comments will be shared with the individuals mentioned and they will be commended for helping to make your time with us memorable for all the right reasons. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Best regards, André Boersma General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We spent an amazing week at Sugar Beach. The resort is spectacularly located located between the UNESCO World Heritage site The Pitons, but the best thing about this resort is the genuine warmth of the staff, (I think a trait of all St Lucians tbh). By day two they practically all know you by name. They predict what you want...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniella D
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day Thank you so much for taking the time to post this overwhelmingly positive review of your week at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. On behalf of the entire team, we are delighted you had such a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, André Boersma General Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 February 2017

My husband and I just came back from a week at this beautiful, lush, superior resort. Upon our arrival we were introduced to one of three butlers who graciously attended to our every need. Each of them - Nyson, Sherman, and Sean - could not have done a better job of helping to make this one of the best vacation...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TTRosieTR
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day It is always a pleasure to read reviews such as yours and to know our team members helped to make your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort so very special. Your comments will be shared with the entire team, especially the butlers who did such a great job looking after you, to highlight the important role they...

Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Beach for 2 nights to end our relaxing get-a-way. We arrived early to check-in and they immediately served us a complimentary cocktail and took our bags to await the shuttle to our room. After only waiting a few minutes they upgraded our room to a villa and we met our very accommodating butlers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brooke G
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. While it appears on balance you had a wonderful stay, we appreciate you highlighting the areas that were of concern to you. Your comments about the Bayside Restaurant will be shared with our food and beverage team to encourage...

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Beautiful property. Superb service. The room we had, a luxury cottage,had fabulous view, very large, very quiet. The landscaping is perfect. The beach has plenty of room, very quiet water, snorkeling pretty good. The food-the basic bayside was very good, the sushi at Cain excellent, But the GREAT ROOM blew us away. We are foodies, and this place was fabulous....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elschildkrout
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for sharing your glowing comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about the resort from the stunning rooms to the delicious food and gorgeous location. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, André Boersma General Manager

London
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The villas are stunning, spacious and feel like a home from home (just with a butler and pool!). Great variety of food and the tuk tuk drivers were hard working and good humoured. The service on the beach, by the pool and in your rooms was at the top level and we would love to return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole R
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for sharing your glowing comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed everything we had to offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back. Best regards, André Boersma General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We are renting beach chairs here for the 5th day. Staff told us on the first two days we can rent chairs any row we want, on the 3rd day they told us it has to be any row except of first row and other days they told us we can rent only last row since we are non guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renechka
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, It is always disappointing to read reviews such as yours. Clearly we need to do some refresher training when it comes to how we manage and approach non-resident guests who choose to spend times at Sugar Beach—not to mention those who choose to spend consecutive days patronizing our bars and restaurants. Comments such as yours are extremely rare...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Booked here for 10 nights and was rewarded with a building site view (see below - despite hotel being well below occupancy), mosquitoes in daily and nightly abundance despite complaints, a shuttle service that frequently took 10 minutes and once took 25 minutes, limited dining options (10 days was way too long), a "round the clock" butler service that is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David A
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the experience you have described in your review. It is unfortunate that you were allocated a room close to one of the new Residences that are being built at the far southern end of the property. There is currently no building work going on, but we completely understand...

2,334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1912)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
Room/Suite (334)
Viewed
View from Room (157)
Viewed
Dining (126)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (359)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (12)
Viewed
Other (608)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (375)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Luxury Cottage (60)
Viewed
Luxury Villa (74)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
4.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
919 reviews
1.2 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,237 reviews
15.7 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,139 reviews
32.5 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
731 reviews
31.1 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Bayside Restaurant
Bayside Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Price Range: RM1,770 - RM7,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort staff and other travellers.
148 questions
Ask a question
Southwest Oklahoma
8 months ago

See all questions (148)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spectacular ocean views and sunsets”
caablueeyes, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Superior cottage 904 is awesome!”
jami&billy, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Beach Front Cottage”
eZconsulting, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Push for a full sea view room, when you pay this much you have to go the full hog ;)”
alegge2017, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Villa 906 Ask for Swamed to be butler!”
joanhillary, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$660* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$790
TripAdvisorUS$660
Hotwire.comUS$660
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates