We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a week long stay at The Downtown Hotel and wished we spent the extra money on a nicer hotel or resort. Our first impression was not great, as the room did not match the picture and the view from our room also looked much better in the picture. The toilet does not work properly and after each use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your stay! The design of rooms has not been changed from what is presented on our website . We have a range of different rooms and for each a different design and view. This is why your comment regarding the difference in what is pictured is a bit puzzling. Here,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The facility is conveniently located in the heart of the city. If space is available, you can park along the street. It's a bit unusual, as the first two floors are shops and offices. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a magnificent view of the city and Piton. However, the AC unit did not work, so we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don D
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay! First and foremost , the Downtown Hotel is located above a shopping complex, where drugstores, restaurants and retail stores are at each guest disposal. Many have expressed the convenience of our location since you are just a few steps away from everything. We are pleased to know that...

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My stay in Soufreie was a wonderful experience. All staff at the Downtown hotel were wonderful. I miss the locals already and I haven't been home for 24 hrs. The less fortunate no problem. Give back and God will always bless you. Love Terri/Vinc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terri w
Maynard, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I really like these guys! Spend the few extra bucks and get a room that faces the water - an unbelieveable view from a big balcony pretty high up. Big room, nice water pressure in the shower, very friendly staff. It is in the heart of this small town on a central street which is definitely not upscale but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We stayed here for just one night, on our extra day heading up the coast to Castries. Accommodations are pretty basic, with the bathroom looking a bit tired and a refrigerator and coffee maker kind of tacked on. Also, our shower head wouldn't work. But the air conditioning was functional and the view over the bay was great. Private balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fe_Flyer
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a sea view room with great views over the bay and The Pitons, with a balcony to sit on. Staff were helpful and friendly, although a problem with the credit card machine wasn't resolved for 3 days, with the ladies being very laid back about it. The only negative point was having to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Azurian
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay at The Downtown Hotel! I'm pleased that you were satisfied with our facilities , hospitality and amenities. The credit card issue was by no fault of our own , the company providing this service was experiencing an issue with the lines. However, as you noticed, this was resolved...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for an amazing vacation without being locked in to a boring resort this is it. I really enjoyed my time here I have been here 3 times and I love it. It is very safe and very convenient. You are in the middle of everything and you also get a true local and cultural experience here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markaki343
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Very happening location, the streets right along the hotel has a lot of local vendors selling fresh picked produce and fish. And it is on the top floor (the hotel lobby is on the 3rd and the rooms are on the 4th floor) of a shopping mall so there's nice convinces like a drugstore and restaurant on site, as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina M
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Overall, our stay here was really great. The room itself was great- spacious, spotlessly clean, super airtight (no mosquitos, unlike some other places), had great AC, strong and free WiFi, a mini fridge/microwave, and a gorgeous balcony. The location was a little confusing at first.. it is located on the top floors of a downtown mini-mall, but well signed. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abby K
Logan, Utah
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My daughter and I travel a lot and prefer to stay in "budget" hotels with convenient location and helpful local staff. The Downtown Hotel fit our needs perfectly. I describe our experience as a budget hotel with first class concierge - Johnika could not have been more helpful and spent a lot of time helping line up five days of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wellsville2012

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.2 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
862 reviews
3.7 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.4 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,178 reviews
2.9 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.6 km away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is nestled within an eclectic synergy of cultural heritage and pristine environmental collages know as Soufriere, branded as the gem of St. Lucia. The Downtown Hotel was not only designed to blend in with its natural and structural environment but also with the concept of ‘a home away home’ in mind. This concept is evident in our medley of 18 welcoming rooms, coupled with our cadre of personable employees and local people; world renowned for our hospitality. As we grew in the knowledge of you, our valued clientele, our design scheme was tailored to match your needs; have a look at your future accommodations: ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Downtown Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Price Range: RM312 - RM428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Soufrière
The Downtown Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Downtown Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Totally go for waterfront view!”
  • Can't guarantee the rainbow...
 of 5 bubbles AndyG723, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Views on the west side cost extra, but worth it for one night.”
  • View from the west side
 of 5 bubbles Fe_Flyer, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we loved the ocean view rooms and the southern most rooms seem quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Wellsville2012, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a ocean view, it will be money well spent”
  • View from balcony
 of 5 bubbles 967william99, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Good choice for a brief stay in Soufrier”
 of 5 bubbles 754nataliyas, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay