We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of The Downtown Hotel
 Click to rate
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is right in the main square in soufriere. We had the city view room. Great balcony views of the mountains behind soufriere. Room was big, two fairly comfy queen beds, ac, fridge, microwave and kettle. Tub was a little high to get into but other then that a perfect spot for the price. The host was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buck104
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This is a budget hotel compared to some in the area but the price reflects what you get. Massive room, the bathroom is a bit basic but lovely shower and hot water in abundance. Fridge and AC worked fine and lovely balcony to chill on. We moved here from a place up the hill and were much happier right in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen G
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect place to sleep. We spent exactly 8 hours every day in our room because we were so busy exploring the island, scuba diving and hiking. It's in a super convenient location. The city is very safe... maybe the friendliest people, as a whole, we've ever met. It's easy to walk to different restaurants or take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nellarubin
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We booked a week long stay at The Downtown Hotel and wished we spent the extra money on a nicer hotel or resort. Our first impression was not great, as the room did not match the picture and the view from our room also looked much better in the picture. The toilet does not work properly and after each use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your stay! The design of rooms has not been changed from what is presented on our website . We have a range of different rooms and for each a different design and view. This is why your comment regarding the difference in what is pictured is a bit puzzling. Here,...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

The facility is conveniently located in the heart of the city. If space is available, you can park along the street. It's a bit unusual, as the first two floors are shops and offices. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a magnificent view of the city and Piton. However, the AC unit did not work, so we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don D
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay! First and foremost , the Downtown Hotel is located above a shopping complex, where drugstores, restaurants and retail stores are at each guest disposal. Many have expressed the convenience of our location since you are just a few steps away from everything. We are pleased to know that...

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My stay in Soufreie was a wonderful experience. All staff at the Downtown hotel were wonderful. I miss the locals already and I haven't been home for 24 hrs. The less fortunate no problem. Give back and God will always bless you. Love Terri/Vinc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terri w
Maynard, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I really like these guys! Spend the few extra bucks and get a room that faces the water - an unbelieveable view from a big balcony pretty high up. Big room, nice water pressure in the shower, very friendly staff. It is in the heart of this small town on a central street which is definitely not upscale but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy G
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We stayed here for just one night, on our extra day heading up the coast to Castries. Accommodations are pretty basic, with the bathroom looking a bit tired and a refrigerator and coffee maker kind of tacked on. Also, our shower head wouldn't work. But the air conditioning was functional and the view over the bay was great. Private balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fe_Flyer
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a sea view room with great views over the bay and The Pitons, with a balcony to sit on. Staff were helpful and friendly, although a problem with the credit card machine wasn't resolved for 3 days, with the ladies being very laid back about it. The only negative point was having to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Azurian
travel041, Manager at The Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay at The Downtown Hotel! I'm pleased that you were satisfied with our facilities , hospitality and amenities. The credit card issue was by no fault of our own , the company providing this service was experiencing an issue with the lines. However, as you noticed, this was resolved...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for an amazing vacation without being locked in to a boring resort this is it. I really enjoyed my time here I have been here 3 times and I love it. It is very safe and very convenient. You are in the middle of everything and you also get a true local and cultural experience here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markaki343

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.2 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
895 reviews
3.7 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.4 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.3 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,206 reviews
1.0 km away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is nestled within an eclectic synergy of cultural heritage and pristine environmental collages know as Soufriere, branded as the gem of St. Lucia. The Downtown Hotel was not only designed to blend in with its natural and structural environment but also with the concept of ‘a home away home’ in mind. This concept is evident in our medley of 18 welcoming rooms, coupled with our cadre of personable employees and local people; world renowned for our hospitality. As we grew in the knowledge of you, our valued clientele, our design scheme was tailored to match your needs; have a look at your future accommodations: ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Downtown Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Price Range: RM310 - RM430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Soufrière
The Downtown Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Downtown Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Totally go for waterfront view!”
  • Can't guarantee the rainbow...
 of 5 bubbles AndyG723, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Views on the west side cost extra, but worth it for one night.”
  • View from the west side
 of 5 bubbles Fe_Flyer, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we loved the ocean view rooms and the southern most rooms seem quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Wellsville2012, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a ocean view, it will be money well spent”
  • View from balcony
 of 5 bubbles 967william99, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Good choice for a brief stay in Soufrier”
 of 5 bubbles 754nataliyas, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5