We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Vista Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Vista Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for La Vista Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Our room was comfortable but the view was terrible. We booked through another on line company to get this destination, and later by email, were not able to confirm what our room would be like. I found it hard to believe that a room in SXM could have such a brutal view of the what people go to SXM for....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jgonyeau
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jgonyeau, I am so sorry you did not have the La Vista Experience in a room with a nice view..I have a feeling I know which room you were in, and I am guessing we were fully booked and unable to move you! For that tropical feeling you are looking for like in Mary's Boon, please request La Vista...

Westbury, New York
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We were back at La Vista, when arriving it is like coming back home. They are continuing improving / maintaining the resort. La Vista is in the middle of other resorts but has a good Restaurant, a great Pool, not a lot of frills but excellent staff on board. Rooms are very clean, great views so close to action. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AHC_Westbury
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Dear AHC, Thanks so much for considering us your home away from home. You hit the nail right on the head..what you see is what you get, nice pool ( 2 actually), good restaurant with good food and live entertainment and a relaxing stay! My staff and I have been here for many many years, and we know how to...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 January 2015

This was our first trip to Saint Maarten, and it could not have been nicer! Between the nice accommodations, the helpful and friendly staff and being in this bit of paradise it was an outstanding experience. We had a rental car to drive around a bit, but there were plenty of beaches, restaurants and markets within easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matthew W
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Yogacarol !!! Thanks so much, we love you too, thanks for being with us so long! See you soon!! hugs Andrea

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We have been vacationing in St. Maarten for almost 20 years and stayed at different resorts on the island. Until we found La Vista three years ago. It’s wonderful. We found a very relaxing and friendly atmosphere with fantastic views of the ocean. Wonderful and helpful staff which makes us feel very much at home. The location is great and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Herman D
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Herman! I am happy you liked it here, looking forward to many more visits in the future! Hope you are not too cold and missing us too much! regards Andrea

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 9 December 2014

this is a older property, the grounds are very well taken care of. the suites are in need of alittle upgrading; bathrooms are dated; had 2 full bathrooms in my 1 bedroom unit. other furnature /amenities in the unit were good/newer. good views from the unit. staff was very polite/helpful, they took my groceries/luggage to the room that i had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flatanman
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Hi Flatanman, Glad to hear you got home ok! You hit your review spot on with everything you mentioned. BTW...the bathrooms in that unit are slated to be updated this coming September, so you must come back to have a look. I am very proud of my staff, as they always make everyone feel at home, and they know what...

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 December 2014

After a half mile meandering drive up the hill overlooking Simpson Bay, we arrived at our cottage style efficiency room. The room was clean and quaint. A front porch, enabled us to watch the Cruise Ships arrive in the port .The endless pool also had a spectacular view of the Ocean.When we had an issue with our TV , the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki6775
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vicki, Thank you for your review! We loved having you here, and I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that the cottages now also have a TV in the bedroom ! And as for the walk back up the hill, it is not too bad, and that way you can have...

washington, dc
Reviewed 23 November 2014

First time staying at La Vista Beach Resort and it wasn't as I expected. The grounds were very clean and we had a magnificent view of the beach. I loved that we had a private balcony where we sat some days just to listen to the ocean with a cold beverage. What we didn't like so much, the water was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teeWashington_Dc
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Hi teeWashington, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you had come in to see me during your stay to let me know of the problems. There was indeed a main water break, and I thought I spoke to everyone, as the fix did not hold twice when we opened the water too early....

Boston
Reviewed 23 November 2014

My husband and I just came back from a week in St Martin. It was our fourth time at La Vista. La Vista is wonderful. You will find it to be very relaxing and island friendly. The pools are great and even the beach is awesome to sit on. You will not swim here, it is rocky. The daily service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcplante
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Hi McPlante, I am happy you enjoyed your 4th stay with us! Lucina is a sweetheart and has been with us for a long time. You summed it all up in your review. And actually, on calm days there are two spots where you can go in the water and have an awesome snorkeling experience. Hope to see you next...

Caledonia, Illinois
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Such a wonderful place to stay... Close to groceries , restaurants and excursions! And a 15 minute cab ride to anywhere!!!! Friendly staff and guests! Great in house restaurant too! 2 bedrooms were great ... Stayed in the penthouse ! Brilliant view! Not for someone who can't do stairs though! But very nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria L
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

Maria !! I am so happy you all enjoyed it. It sounds like you got to sample both the ocean front resort ( La Vista Beach) as well as La Vista resort. Thanks for pointing out that we are close to everything, while still in a quiet residential area. While we are close to many restaurants, I hope you sampled...

TX
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Been staying at LaVista for nearly 20 years now.....never disappointed! Always refreshed, updated and sparkling clean with awesome views. Love the small family atmosphere and the great staff. I look forward to seeing you all again in April. Nice to be moving out of storm season !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisee98
Andrea B, General Manager at La Vista Resort, responded to this review

You are so sweet! 20 years is a long time, so you have seen some changes and grown up with us. I am thankful you are STILL enjoying it here. You are what makes my job enjoyable and why I keep improving the resort to bring you the best vacation experience possible! Thank you Thank you Thank you..on to the...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about La Vista Resort

Address: 53 Billy Folly Road | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Price Range: RM502 - RM920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Vista Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from La Vista Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for "La Vista Beach"”
mik345, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the street side. Which was good for us because we were always walking around.”
jaclyna45, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at La Vista Beach for direct ocean front views.”
  • Direct ocean front pool. Picture taken from my room.
CaribbeanGlen, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its all good”
seashells2016, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for a room away from the road.”
Balcombeite, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5