We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Localita San Maurizio, 39, 12058, Santo Stefano Belbo Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$801
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$733
View deal
TravelocityUS$801
Booking.comUS$802
Trip.comUS$2,450
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (859)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (305)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Relais San Maurizio is a unique, unforgettable place. Refined and romantic, it is the ideal place for a true time of wellness, relaxation, soothing the senses and the spirit. An unexpected, happy discovery. The frescoed halls, the 31 rooms with unique decorations, the gardens and the park with centuries-old trees are all truly enchanting. The large outdoor swimming pool at the top of the hill provides a 360° view of the surrounding landscape. The hotel is also home to the Michelin starred 'di Guido da Costigliole' restaurant and the exclusive 'La Via del Sale' Medical & Beauty SPA. It is a partner of the Relais & Chateaux chain.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
709Reviews8Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 479
  • 141
  • 50
  • 20
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ted P wrote a review Aug 2022
12 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a stellar experience at Relais San Maurizio. It sits atop a huge hill with 360 degree view of Vineyard country in Piedmont. A former monastery, the building is charming and interesting and the grounds lovely. We enjoyed the house wine on arrival, the views, the service, the quirky but charming bar and a fabulous breakfast bistro. The bonus was the discovery of a fabulous restaurant on premises. Last but not least a magnificent pool overlooking the valet with full bar service. It’s a must if you are in the region and a destination on its own.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Consider paying extra for the new suites, but we enjoyed the rooms in the original building.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kga-swiss wrote a review Jul 2022
Zug, Switzerland70 contributions72 helpful votes
We just arrived and unfortunately we are disappointed - pretty limited charm of feeling warmly welcome - our monestary suite is dark without any view - not recommended price-value ratio - suite was confirmed with statement "unique view" which are actually some bushes in front of the window - the pool does not have any shadow, as it is too windy to open the umbrellas...no trees planted for natural shadow - we were not consulted in advance if we wanna reserve a table in the Michelin restaurant, which does not have any space for the next 2 days - Unfortunatley, the pool area is the biggest disappointment: There is cleaning equipment, a full waste bin and 2 rows of cheap 3-star lounge chairs at the pool... no ambiente or feeling of relaxation - Additionally the pool is a 3-5min uphill walk from our suite - we found stuff from the previous guests in our bathroom - 8 Euros for a tiny little coffee freddo - too expensiv + the service team and the lady at the pool are very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not worth the money. Did not experience any leading hotel of the world ambiente. No personal...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relais San Maurizio, General Manager at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Dear kga-swiss, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Relais San Maurizio. We highly value your feedback as it serves us in constantly reviewing and improving our services to enhance our guests’ satisfaction. We are disappointed to discover you had an unsatisfactory taste of our service and you did not find here a satisfactory price-value ratio. Being in an old monastery, all our rooms and suites combine the look and feel of a historical property with features and services thought for the needs of contemporary, luxury travellers. We are sorry to read that our property did not meet your taste, however we are glad you appreciated the friendliness and assistance received by our team. Best Regards Fabio Dellea Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sibel wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
It is a beautiful facility. The views, landscape, gardens, common areas and spa excellent. All the staff is well trained, very polite and professional. We had dinner at both the bistrot and the michelin restaurant which were both great. I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to go back at the harvest season
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The salt cave is a must try
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Relais SanMaurizio, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 21 May 2022
Dear Road17291196441, What a pleasure it is to read your comments about our Relais and to know that your stay with us was so wonderful. Thank you for highlighting the relaxing atmosphere and the beautiful scenery. It is always lovely to hear that our restaurant service was of your liking and satisfied your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all our restaurant team who are delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards Konstantinos Paraskevas Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Franckske wrote a review Apr 2022
Paris, France166 contributions48 helpful votes
Everything about the Hotel; the public rooms, the grounds, the staff, the breakfast were wonderfulthe room was a bit disappointing… ( clean but dated) we booked 2 nights during the week one night was €506 and the second night €322…. A monastery room during the week and the hotel was empty…. So I don’t get the different price for the same room…. I can understand if they were booked or a weekend but a week day?… Again the spa was exceptional, the staf very nice the breakfast was a dream everything your heart can desire. We had our dogs and they even got their room service menu… So Lots of positive
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relais SanMaurizio, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 21 May 2022
Dear Mr Franckske, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are really happy you appreciated our Relais with its important background and history, offering its guests a heaven of peace and nature.We agree with you about the magnificent views over the rolling hills we are proud of it. Our Spa and Restaurants staff will be happy to know that we managed to offer a top quality service and have satisfied your needs. On the other hand I am really surprised our room did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards Konstantinos Paraskevas Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StephenHeverlee wrote a review Mar 2022
Leuven, Belgium215 contributions219 helpful votes
+1
Its location is the biggest asset of the hotel. The views from the hotels gardens or the outdoors swimming pool are spectacular. The spa with the salt cave and its sun terrace is unique. We booked an executive room in the monastery for 6 nights. I insisted on a room with a patio garden so we could sit cosy outside. Luckily we did, because the room was rather small and dark (overpriced !). The bathroom is tiny, dark and the shower is unpractical. The service in the hotel varies... reception staff is uninterested and totally unhelpful. The welcoming was very cold and checkout was even colder. (no luggage service arriving of departing, no explication on the services and facilities, booking a table in one of the restaurants is too much to ask, and when leaving, not even asking whether we had a good stay or wishing to a good trip home, just a bill and a pay terminal). A total contrast with the friendly restaurant staff. Which brings me to the restaurant service. Breakfast is good, not outstanding but being served on the lovely terrace makes it special. We had twice diner in the bistro which offers a very good light kitchen. We had diner twice in the outstanding Michelin Star restaurant Guido which merits an excellent separate review here. I can only give a 3 star rating. We booked with LWH but this hotel does not meet the requirements one's expect from a Leading hotel. * overpriced rooms * uninterested and inattentive staff * grounds need more maintenance * no 5 star experience * both the Bistro as the Guido restaurant are highly recommendable
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relais SanMaurizio, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Mr. De Jaegher, on behalf of Relais San Maurizio, I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay in 2020 with us. We acknowledge your review refers to an experience of a couple of years ago and are happy to know that your impression about the location, the views and our impeccable restaurant and Spa service were good. On the other hand, I do regret you were disappointed about the size of the room, unfortunately due to the fact that we are in a historic building we have some structural limitations as you may imagine, though our hotel has a great variety of solutions to satisfy all clients’ needs, maybe a larger Superior room or a Suite would have been better solutions. Most of the procedures you refer to were established during the 2020 peak of the pandemic (digital checkout, less interactions etc.) following Covid-social distancing hotel guidelines and regulations, we were doing our best to respect them and at the same time provide a top-quality service safeguarding our client’s safety and health. We apologize if your perception was not always up to your expectations, we are happy to confirm several procedures have changed in the meantime as guidelines and regulations have improved together with the pandemic situation. We do hope that despite the inconveniences you still enjoyed your stay, and that you will be willing to give us another try in the future. We are thrilled our Spa manager and colleagues looked after you exceptionally, and that our restaurants were up to your expectations. It is our primary aim to make sure that our guests have a memorable time and when we succeed in that we are extremely pleased. Kindest regards Konstantinos Paraskevas Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petit Passeport wrote a review Mar 2022
United States122 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here in November 2019 (catching up on reviews since COVID). The setting is jaw-dropping and walking the beautifully-landscaped, expansive grounds of this historic property is a meditation in tranquility. While the buildings have maintained their historic structure, the interiors and rooms are fully-modernized. The food here, including the Michelin-star restaurant, is excellent. However, what will stand out most in our memories of this place was the exceptional service and warm hosts. They made our whole family -- especially our young children -- feel welcomed like guests into their own home. Highly recommend, hope to return someday.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relais SanMaurizio, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Dear PetitPasseport, thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback following your stay at Relais San Maurizioin November 2019. Indeed our location benefits a fantastic view over the rolling hills and vineyards and our park is a place of calmness and peace and our team has a real passion for hospitality and for delivering a 5 star service . I am pleased that you had a great dining experience in our 1* Michelin restaurant and that you benefit from our beautiful landscapes and the tranquility of our historic property . Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with the team regarding your wonderful stay. We very greatly look forward to pampering you on your next visit. Best wishes Konstantinos Paraskevas Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yukari K wrote a review Nov 2021
Chicago, Illinois205 contributions206 helpful votes
This was our second stay at San Maurizio, and we had been looking forward to our return. Unfortunately, it was a little disappointing. The room is very clean, and the hotel was as charming as we remembered. However, service quality was decidedly more perfunctory and impersonal, the room, especially the bathroom was tiny considering its price. We understand the covid-social distance factors, but rather than going the extra mile, it feels like they're using it as an excuse to phone it in. The general manager of the hotel was absent as well, which we find is typically correlated with service level. Some specifics: - the bathroom is a single sink, and a small cube shower. There is so little space that there is no space to put both of our toiletry kits and our hairdryer on the bathroom counter. We couldn't move anything without knocking the dryer off. We would not expect this for a room at this price point. To give you an idea, the bathroom is so small that instead of a door that opens out, it's a panel that folds inward. - stingy with toilet paper. They only provide one small roll of toilet paper for a two night stay, which meant we ended up using tissues by the morning (which we know is bad for the pipes) - at the bar, we were only one of two tables, and the server had to be told by the barman to come take orders because she was uninterested. We waited for a good 15 minutes. - breakfast was meh, certainly not as amazing as the breakfast we remembered. Cappuccino was lukewarm and the espresso was undrinkable. The pros: - The spa staff is fabulous. - The salt cave is great. - The Michelin starred restaurant is excellent. - The grounds are beautiful. Overall, we felt let down by the experience. Perhaps, this decline has something to do with the fact that they are no longer a Relais & Chateaux. We will probably try another hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Konstantinos Paraskevas, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 21 Nov 2021
Dear Mrs Yukari, on behalf of Relais San Maurizio LHW, I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay and happy to know that your impression about the location and our impeccable cleaning service were good. On the other hand, I do regret you were disappointed about the size of the bathroom and in general about the room, unfortunately due to the fact that we are in a historic building we have some structural limitations. Our Cistercian monastery was carefully renovated and transformed in a truly unique five-star resort, the hotel is indeed no longer a Relais & Chateaux member, as we are proud to have been accepted in the Leading Hotels of the World family. Regarding the Covid-social distance and regulations I can assure you we are doing our best to respect them and at the same time give a top-quality service safeguarding our client’s safety and health. I truly apologize for the toiletry kits. We are going to look into this matter at once in order to avoid future occurrences. I am very surprised our breakfast didn’t live up to your expectations. We have studied an à la carte style menu to give the top of quality with the maximum of safety to all our clients and satisfy all needs. We will certainly take your considerations into account to improve the experience. We are thrilled though our Spa manager and colleagues looked after you exceptionally, and that our restaurants were up to your expectations. It is our primary aim to make sure that all our guests have a memorable time and when we succeed in that we are extremely pleased. I do really hope that despite the inconveniences you still enjoyed your stay, and that you will be willing to give us another try in the future as we would like to restore your faith in us. Kindest regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed at the hotel for the second time with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. I stayed in the suite with my boyfriend. The room was big but the bed absolutely tiny for two people. We both had the worst broken sleep all week. The food portions are extremely small and fussy. We asked for a simple spaghetti and garlic dish but were told there was no garlic and no spaghetti! How can this be in Italy? I did not find the staff flexible at all. It’s such a shame that a place with such wonderful views is let down by mediocre service. Thé lunch menu is the same as the evening menu which is limited to about 4 tiny options - In thé end we had to drive to the next village to eat at meal times. I would only go back again if the hotel invest in new beds and change the menu. It’s for sure over priced for the service and standard
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Konstantinos Paraskevas, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Dear Sally, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced during your stay at our Relais San Maurizio. Guest care is of paramount importance to us. I have certainly taken your comments on board and addressed them in meticulous detail to our housekeeping department about the beds and to our restaurant about the menù. We pay great attention to our range of mattresses in order to guarantee the best quality of sleep to our guests. I am really sorry you did not enjoy a delightful and memorable stay as much as we had anticipated. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to turn around your experience for you in the future. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marco H wrote a review Aug 2021
Province of Barcelona, Spain5 contributions
Amazing location, wonderful rooms and great food! Brought our dog and the welcoming of it was excellent. Definitely a place to recommend to bring your dog. Only thing that can be improved is the staff’s attitude in the reception. You often felt that you were in the way or annoying when talking to them. The rest of the staff in all other areas were excellent!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Capizzi, Marketing at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear MArco H, i would like to thank your review and for taking the time to write it. I am thrilled to hear that you appreciated our pet friendly policy and that you dog enjoyed our hotel and surroundings . I am really surprised you are not satisfied with our reception staff, guest care is of paramount importance to us and I am so sorry you felt that our team were not as attentive as they could have been during this time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Relais San Maurizio very soon and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Warmest Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kensington11 wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Relais San Maurizio is an ancient 15th century Italian monastery. Wonderful stay!!!!! From the beginning to end all the staff were sublime. They all know absolutely what a guest need.Everything was perfect!! Ambience,hospitality,view and environment. The property is perfect in every detail. Rooms, beds, pool, bathroom:just amazing. A great balance capturing the amazing history of the building and the great modern five star room. The breakfast is superb. Special thanks to Fabio for looking after us during our stay at the bar pool. His recommendations were always spot on. He is very passionate about his work.He was lovely and very knowledgable about drink and food. We are for sure coming back and have already started to recommend Relais San Maurizio to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Capizzi, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Relais San Maurizio
Responded 14 Jun 2021
DearLon-Ton7 Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read your very welcome comments about our Relais and to know that your stay with us was so wonderful. Thank you for highlighting the beautiful scenery, the cozy atmosphere and the fine art of our hospitality . It is lovely to hear that our restaurant and breakfast service was of your liking. Guest care is of paramount importance to us. We endeavor to create memorable experiences for all our guests and we are very happy that this was the case for you. Your comments have been shared with all our staff members and especially with Fabio who is thrilled with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards K.Paraskevas Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$494 - US$1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
relais san maurizio hotel santo stefano belbo
LOCATION
ItalyPiedmontProvince of CuneoSanto Stefano Belbo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Relais San Maurizio
Which popular attractions are close to Relais San Maurizio?
Nearby attractions include Amanda's Wine Adventures (7.8 km), Centro Storico (7.9 km), and Fondazione Cesare Pavese (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Relais San Maurizio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Relais San Maurizio?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Relais San Maurizio?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Relais San Maurizio?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Relais San Maurizio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante dell'Agriturismo Tenuta San Giuseppe, Azienda Agricola C. Bianca, and Pan Pist.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Relais San Maurizio?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Relais San Maurizio have airport transportation?
Yes, Relais San Maurizio offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Relais San Maurizio?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Relais San Maurizio?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Relais San Maurizio offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.