We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eldemire\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed at Eldemire's Inn for 7 days this January, and had a lovely time. As others in the comments say, this is not a place for the mindless tourists who need the comforts of a hotel and the hand-holding of tour managers and all-inclusive packages. This guesthouse is purely a home-base, out of which you organize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eforce617
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Greetings. Thanks you for the wonderful review that you have provided to the travel community, about our Guest House. Yes we do try to the utmost of our ability to provide a calm and nice atmosphere to everyone. A real tropical ambience, as you experienced, whilst you stayed here. Thanks for your observations pertaining to not being able to make...

Reviewed 3 February 2015

ok lets see this place is as bad as it get its not safe no smoke alarms dodgy wiring the bed had fleas my girl friend and i got loads of bights the pool is filthy when you ask for anything we where fobbed off it should be closed as the owner has no manners it stinks of damp and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gordon O
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Dear former guest. I think that maybe you have written this review about another property in that your description of your issues does not match who and what we as owners and description of our property. Firstly, all rooms have to, AND do have smoke alarms in them, as the Fire Department inspectors comes to inspect the rooms a few...

Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2015

If you're the kind of traveler who stays in name-brand hotel chains, has never entered a grocery store in another country, and is used to 5 star accommodation, then Eldemire's Tropical Inn is not for you. If you're the kind of traveler who stays in local B&Bs or hostels, loves exploring local hangouts, and relishes the opportunity to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney W
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your very kind and honest review about us and we are so elated that you had a great time staying at Eldemire's and enjoying the island. As you were aware, we do try our best to ensure that you, our guest, is happy with everything. We hope to see you sometime in the near future again. Much...

Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Overall it felt like a quiet little private retreat with just a hint of home. The inn is much larger than it appears but you can't really tell because most of the foliage gives many of the unit entrances a feel of secluded privacy when you come and go. We had a late evening arrival so check in for weary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tayoka
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank so much for your lovely review about myself and the Inn. This kind of review gives us a boost to hear nice reviews from our guests and gives us an insight into what our guests like (and don't like) about staying at our place. We are one of the few local Caymanians that are licensed by our own...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Booked one of the apartments for my trip, with private kitchen. In the weeks leading up to my trip, Tootie was always available to answer any questions I had, and once I actually got to Grand Cayman the place wasn't hard to find or get around from. The house was clean and all the staff were friendly- Bob was especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathal D
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Booked one of the apartments for my trip, with private kitchen. In the weeks leading up to my trip, Tootie was always available to answer any questions I had, and once I actually got to Grand Cayman the place wasn't hard to find or get around from. The house was clean and all the staff were friendly- Bob was especially...

Livorno, Italy
Reviewed 13 November 2014

The place is very quiet and you can sleep well, it's not too warm inside the house thanks to the trees surrounding the place, we had to keep the air conditioning at minimum if not powered off, which was surprising for the island's climate. The kitchen was well furnished and near the door, before entering the room there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 00EmaRacing00
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Filthy, dusty living conditions. Air conditioners don't work right. 85 in your roon at night. Refrigerator doesn't keep any thing cold. Swimming pool filtration didn't work. Dead frog and crab in water. Bbq filthy, no propane. Weeds all over pool deck. Horribly maintained, thank god for motels at 7 mile beach

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven C
CarolEE E, General Manager at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

“Best place to ruin a vacation” 1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW Filthy, dusty living conditions. Air conditioners don't work right. 85 in your roon at night. Refrigerator doesn't keep any thing cold. Swimming pool filtration didn't work. Dead frog and crab in water. Bbq filthy, no propane. Weeds all over pool deck. Horribly maintained, thank god...

Southbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Want the quintessential cultural GC experience? Stay here. It's walking distance to Georgetown, Smith Cove, Sunset House, Art stores, etc. It's quaint, eclectic, and host is amazing. She leaves you space and room to breathe.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank karyn626
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thanks for your kind and honest review of Eldemire's and am so happy that you had a great time staying with us and hope that you return sometime in the near future. Please if there are any tips that you feel would enhance a visitor's judgement of our property in any way, we would welcome any feedback that...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn for a week in April, and had a great time! We've stayed on Grand Cayman before, mostly at The Retreat at Rum Point, so we knew our way around fairly well, although a lot has changed after 2005's Ivan! My husband, 2-year-old-son, mother and I all shared the pool-side self-catering suite. My son...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MotherofSquirms
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind and honest review of Eldemire's. I am happy that you spent a good time at your little "home away from home" and we also enjoyed having you stay here. if there is anything that you saw that could be improved upon, please be sure to email us as we always strive to improve on our product....

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On our way to Little Cayman for a dive vacation, we stopped over nite in Grand Cayman due to the connection flight timing. We found this inn on the net, and after emailing and asking questions, we booked a night. We took a taxi from the airport to the inn, and then spoke with the daughter who called her mom,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kip F
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am so appreciative of your honest assessment of Eldemire’s and as you are aware, we always ask our guests to inform us on how everything was for them. Within a few days of your departure, we placed 2 new beds in the room and hung a new ceiling fan, and as soon as we are not full (which...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
3.8 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,228 reviews
6.2 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,664 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4,773 reviews
0.3 km away
Sunset House
Sunset House
#1 of 1 in George Town
524 reviews
32.1 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
What words describe Eldemire's best? Friendly, Informal, Simple, Charming, Affordable, Peaceful. Our simple little "Caribbean style" guest house, offers an ambiance of informality and friendliness, and is perfect for "free-spirited" travelers who just want a clean, nice, down to earth place, closely situated to everything. And, not have to spend the kind of money that they would have to, at a big resort. Of course the big resorts have lots of amenities, clean, comfortable, air-conditioned rooms to sleep in, as generally speaking, visitors go exploring and/or diving all day long. So you save lots of $$$$ when you stay with us!!! In the 38 years of being in the tourism accommodation sector, we can truthfully say that most of our guests are those who just like a charming and simple alternative to the bigger, busier, expensive hotels. Instead they would rather spend their vacation dollars on enjoying our beautiful beaches, diving, snorkeling, good restaurants, varied excursions, etc. And a rental car. Our place will feel to you like a "home away from home" where you can relax and feel at home! In 1977, Tootie's Caymanian parents, opened up rooms in their large home (now known as Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn) to visitors coming to Grand Cayman for vacation, or to conduct business. Then in 2000, Tootie and her family took over the business and made a lot of changes which included colorful decor, furnishings, etc. Then a pool and large deck were built and lush tropical vegetation and colorful tropical plants and banana trees were placed all around the pool. So when you sit back and relax by the pool, you experience an authentic peaceful tropical aura. Our location is on the west side of the island, across the road from the ocean, and ten minutes drive from Owen Roberts Airport and famous 7 Mile Beach. Within a short walk is a beautiful white sand beach, the island's best art/craft shop, 2 fabulous oceanfront restaurants, a fitness center, 3 Dive centers, Cathy Church Underwater Photo Center, and Georgetown with lots of shops, restaurants, the Museum, and Duty Free shopping. Our property consists of 4 private 2nd level rooms with private bathrooms, and a large shared kitchen and relaxing lounge downstairs. The 2 comfortable self-contained one bedroom suites have their own private kitchens, lounges and garden entrances. Two Studio Suites have their own private kitchenettes. Our amenities? All rooms and suites are air-conditioned, have private bathrooms with towels and bathroom products, complimentary tea and coffee, Cable TV, FREE WIFI and free on-site parking with security lighting. So, in essence, what we offer is a peaceful, quiet, charming, cheap, "Island style" Guest House, close to everything. A real little "Tropical Oasis". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

Address: 18 Pebbles Way | Grand Cayman, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Price Range: RM462 - RM866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldemire`s Tropical Island Hotel George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
5 months ago
Florence, Alabama
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for apt 1. Right by the pool”
 of 5 bubbles k_wfrost, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For sleeping, make sure to run the a/c and windows closed or chickens will wake you”
 of 5 bubbles jmickschl, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will love Eldemire's if you want a true tropical experience!”
 of 5 bubbles JEBM123, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Studio suite downstairs by the main door - great wifi reception, very cold mini-split a/c, comfy double bed (not a queen bed - don't believe Expedia!), very spacious room. Kitchenette was missing some basic equipment which we just borrowed from the main kitchen down the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles garagebutterfly, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Rooms closest (no more than 2 rooms away) to the office get the best wifi reception from inside the room. The apt offers tremendous value but you may be able to hear upstairs guest but also if you sit right next to the door you don't have to go outside to the courtyard to pick up the free wifi.”
  • View of apt private courtyard from the kitchen
 of 5 bubbles tayoka, 28 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5