We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel on the Cay

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel on the Cay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel on the Cay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
Patchogue, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2014

I have been traveling to St Croix almost annually since the 70’s. Hotel on the Cay has been my winter retreat that I continue to enjoy. It is located on its own little island that you must take a boat to get to. This is NOT a deluxe property with fancy rooms and amenities. There is no gym, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Kathy S
Texas
Reviewed 1 September 2014

After my previous stay at HOTC about 2 years ago I swore I'd never stay there again - this after staying there multiple times in the past 4 years. Thank God they got rid of that manager, who was totally useless, and hired the guy who is there now. Sure there is still some progress to be made, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DakotaninTX
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We used our time share week to book a room on this scenic island get away in the middle of the harbor. The hotel staff were very professional and courteous. They suggested some places to eat, as we arrived late in the evening. The room was clean. It is a bit dated, but they are renovating the rooms one at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pyro498
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This place was so bad I can't imagine how it landed at number 6 on Trip Advisor. It's dirty, difficulty to access and there's no where to park. I went in the low season and literally had to park 0.25 miles away just to reach the small ferry to the island. I got on the grounds and was so put...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fortworthdoctor
waynesville
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited HOTC again in June for our 5 year anniversary. We were married there on the beach and will always have fond memories. Our group of 10 was not disappointed! You will not find a better hotel for the price in the Caribbean! ($79/night plus taxes and surcharges). Yes, the rooms are in need of an update, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank airgrace
Rochelle, Illinois
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It wasnt a five star hotel, but the price was right and the location grand. The bed was horribly lumpy, They replaced my hair dryer in a timely manner.Bring your own coffee, filters (small round ones) and creamer. Mary has them in the little store on the dock. The view was spectacular ! It was odd.....it seemed 1/2 the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brad B
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room Floor have a sand. Supose to do ir check in the room its clean, but not. The Floor it dirty. The pool never clean. Don't swim. Best practice snorkling. The staff in the restaurant and bar it not friendly. Very hard to get something. The food have a lot time to cook. Never smile never give you the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ricky M
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Hello Ricky M, Thank you for your feedback It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the variety of offering at the hotel. On the other hand we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay regarding room cleanliness. Rest assured we did inspect your room prior to arrival and the floors were free of...

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first "timeshare" vacation and this is where we ended up. Its on a little island of its own. There is a free ferry that brings the hotel guests to and from. The beach is beautiful. Its close to many restaurants and shops. The staff is very, very nice. However, the hotel is in need of a severe...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jennifer H
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Both fun and functional, this seems to be the place to be centered in Christiansted. It has everything you need to just hang out - food & drinks, pool and beach - and the ferry is always ready to run you over to town - about a two minute trip - with virtually no waiting. Talking to Mary at the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank DeepDit
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My sister and I with our families stayed over the 4th at the Hotel on the Cay. Yes the place does need upgrades, but John and Sarah are very welcoming and accommodating. My sister had problems with her room and they were moved immediately to another room and compensated for a night's cost. John made a grocery run for us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ellen S

541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (415)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (167)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Partial Ocean View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.6 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.9 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
204 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
112 reviews
2.2 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,268 reviews
3.2 km away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Price Range: RM643 - RM1,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel on the Cay staff and other travellers.
61 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (61)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel on the Cay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 922meganj, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for an upper floor for a view. East side windy, west side hot and most sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles TuscanWino, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for lots of stairs and no night life!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 158gabyh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the harbor is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles kevin9999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“To many ants and stairs”
 of 5 bubbles robertdU6677BA, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay