We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Expedia.comUS$107*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$139*
US$107*
US$119*
US$139*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunset Gardens Guesthouse in St. Thomas was the filthiest place I have ever stayed at in my entire life of traveling. I won't even begin to go into the dirt that was in our rental. We wanted to move out, but knew that we would not get our money back, so we made the best of it, but it really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norma23116
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Norma, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to review our guesthouse. I apologize that met a room that was not cleaned to your standards. This is not the norm here and as you saw other rooms while here, you are aware this was an isolated incident. As for the price of our room, yes we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. We arrived and came to an outdated, absolutely disgusting hotel. The doors were all falling of the hinges. Filth everywhere. The floors looked like they have never been cleaned. The refrigerator had live and dead insects in it and was completely Frozen at the top. The spiral staircase was put together with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the4drivers65
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing our property. I apologize that you found our 3 Bedroom Unit unacceptable for you and your family. Expedia did a property inspection just prior to your arrival and this unit was one of the units they saw. We do not claim to be a pristine rental resort and we work hard to do upkeep on all...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading multiple reviews about this property, I decided to book my 6 night stay here. Someone recommended room 5 and that's the room that I received. Although I booked a mountain view room, I was given room 5. I appreciate my request being honored. Upon checking in, I think that Deb was more excited about my transfer centennial gift...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HoustonMoni
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Monica, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I understand the issue with updates in the rooms. We are constantly trying to upgrade the property and will be working on the room upgrades in the not too distant future. In regard to the bugs though, we have a very stringent regimen that we follow and have a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed there for 2 days while waiting to check in to my rental property. Bring your own food to cook. No place on site to eat. I had reserved again for another week while still waiting to move. I cancelled when my new place was available but had to pay full price $954.00 cancellation fee. Was not happy about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther W
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Esther, We enjoyed your visit with us. We were excited when you cancelled as we knew your place had finally opened up. We never charged you for the booking. So you should be happy about that. Best of luck to you in your new life here on St. Thomas. Deb

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is where me and my girlfriend got engaged. Sitting out on our private balcony overlooking the amazing and beautiful St. Thomas. AC worked very well, had a full kitchen and a huge bathroom. We would just sit and drink on our balcony and just dream of living on the island full time. We would love to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank den4rius
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Request room 5! Service was good! No early check-in. We walked to a shopping center 15min walk downhill lol but it was fun. Taxi service is $20 cash from the hotel to the airport. But there is a safari taxi that's only $1 cash to get around the island! Ice is $1, our room had a full but small kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn A
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We booked a room here online for just the first night, because of it's close proximity to the airport and the marina. Once we arrived, we knew we would stay for the duration of our trip! The manager, Deb, is an incredible woman, helping us with anything we needed, as well as giving us local tips for our stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
East Alton, Illinois
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Deb - Kirt and the rest of the staff made our stay amazing! I was traveling with a senior citizen helping him to full his bucket list. They all a accommodated us in an upper level room to avoid lots of stairs. Whenever we needed something they were there with an answer or advice. Also they were eager to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mechelle_gibbs
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I came here on vacation with my family and was looking for a spot that wasn't going to break that bank. These guys are the least expensive on the island from what I found. The room was clean and deb at the front was amazing. VERY friendly and informative about all things island vacation related. In short i highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goffster2
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your kind words and your review.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I've been to the VI many times, won't stay anywhere else on St. Thomas. I stayed at more expensive places with terrible service, but Deb and her staff were spot on and always friendly. The room was spotless and the bed very was very comfortable. I loved having a full size kitchen. The hotel is close to the airport and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank You Rob for taking time out of your busy life to leave a review. We appreciate it whole heartedly and can't wait for your return trip.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
2.0 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
623 reviews
1.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
676 reviews
1.5 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
23 reviews
2.5 km away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
236 reviews
2.5 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering fabulous views of the Harbor you can only get from being on Crown Mountain, this guesthouse offers free off street parking, a shared community pool with deck and grill, as well as free WiFi. Each of the simply furnished suites at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse include a fully equipped kitchenettes with kitchenware, a stove with oven, small fridge. Rooms also feature a Flat-Screen satellite TV. Some rooms offer Sofa/Bed and Private Balcony, and others offer a shared balcony. Coin-operated laundry facilities are available 24 hours a day. The nearest supermarket is 1.2 km away while Downtown Charlotte Amalie where you can shop or enjoy the walking tour is 3.2 km from the property. Pistarkle Theater is 8 km away, Mangrove Lagoon is just 12 km away, while Hassel Island is 5 km from the property. Cyril E. King Airport is a 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 11 - 4 Contant | Crown Mountain, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Price Range: RM526 - RM805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Gardens Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Gardens Hotel St. Thomas
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Gardens Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot recommend anyone stay here.”
norma23116, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views to die for!”
  • View from our balcony
den4rius, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Home away from. The rooms have everything you'll need. An a view to die for.”
Mechelle_gibbs, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother; this was a bad choice and we don't recommend this hotel. Very noisy; paper thin walls.”
travnerdnutz, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Know what you are getting before you book and don't forget about the 20% tax that gets added in St. Thomas, added $200 to our bill.”
LiveinUSVI, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
TravelocityUS$107
TripAdvisorUS$107
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates