We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,985: English reviews
Start your review of Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at frenchman reef in the habor view rooms for our honeymoon 2/14/17-2/21/17, this was an amazing trip and very beautiful views, wonderful food and drinks. We did think it was very over priced so we did start eating off resort or eating at the grab and go station to save on spending. However, We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megansul427
Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the third year in a row that my wife and I have stayed at Morning Star Beach Resort. I have read many reviews about how poor the resort is. I have stayed in a different building each year. The rooms and amentities have been terrific. We arrived early to the resort. Checking in was very easy and quick....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carletonsoccer
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room had some serious black mold problems.. the ceiling in my room had black mold by the air-con output. The bathroom had damp and flaking plaster (I am guessing a leak from the room above). The speed of service in Coco Joe's is glacial..... it took an hour to deliver breakfast after we gave our order. Check-in wasn't available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We called it a Marriott with only one R. Something was always missing. Room service tray in the aisles for hours on end. The whole place needed a paint job and a thorough cleaning. Every day they washed the deck above us onto our balcony -- we wondered why our chairs and table were so dirty. The deck above was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We got married at the resort and had many friends and family there. We are Marriott Elite members so they upgraded our room. The room had 2 floors with a dirty spiral staircase connecting the floors, the decor, sofa, walls etc. are outdated and dirty with old tile floors, making it feel cold. None of our rooms were ready when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank niqkava
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear niqkava, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. With regard to your check-in, you didn't indicate what time you were trying to check in. The official check-in time at our resort is 4 p.m. and while we would love to be able to accommodate guests who arrive earlier, that is not always possible. If our hotel...

White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I and another couple spent 4 nights on the "All Inclusive" plan. My husband has some mobility issues and is on oxygen, our travel agent made this clear when she booked our room. When we got there, our room was in the Harbor View annex, on the second floor and no elevator! We requested a room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jwpnpd
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear jwpnpd, We apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations when staying at our resort, and that you were not fully pleased with your stay here with us. We are glad to know you were pleased for the most part with your accommodations, but apologize that your husband encountered issues getting around the resort, and that at...

Augusta.
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel might have been nice when it was first built, whenever that was, but its showing it's age. The price is way too high for what you get. We booked a room with two beds, only to be given one bed and told they were no more doubles available. Our room wasn't ever ready upon our arrival and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tricia M, We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay with us, and for your comments and feedback. As an older property, we are continuously working on updates and renovations, and are currently undergoing a major one. Many updates and improvements will be made in this coming year. We apologize if you are disappointed with your...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott for 4 nights on the first leg of our vacation. We were in the tower with a view of Morning Star Beach, which was beautiful. We really enjoyed the pool bar, the bar tenders were very friendly, especially Tiffany. We ate at most of the restaurants and the food was pretty good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laura S, We are happy to hear that we got your vacation off to a great start at our resort, and appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the high praise for our restaurants, and letting us know you enjoyed your dining experiences, and that throughout...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I wish I could give this 0 stars. My family and I were staying in San Juan and booked flights to fly over to st. Thomas for the rest of our trip. We called the Marriott Frenchman's Reef before booking the airfare and they said they would hold us a room and had many rooms available. We quickly booked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexisNewton11
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Night Kayaking with Josh was awesome! We saw large fish, small fish, learned about the native landscape and saw two Sea Turtles..We loved it! Would recommend it to anyone staying at the Frenchman's resort..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisaj2003
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear alisaj2003, Night Kayaking has fast become our most popular adventure that we offer at the resort, due in part to our great location, and our very experienced, and entertaining kayaking tour guides! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your adventure, and appreciate your high recommendation to future guests! Thank you!

2,772 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2409)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (497)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (577)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (210)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (211)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (792)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
932 reviews
6.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,365 reviews
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,160 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in East End
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: RM1,043 - RM2,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
226 questions
Ask a question
Roanoke, Virginia

See all questions (226)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had an island view room which actually ended up being harbor view room, very beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles megansul427, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Love the ocean front rooms at Morning Star. If you get a garden view I would suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles carletonsoccer, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 44stuarth, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevator in Harbor View annex”
 of 5 bubbles jwpnpd, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View, View, View.”
 of 5 bubbles moondogi, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5