We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We wanted a place to spend our first and last nights in Charlotte Amalie convenient to STT airport as bookends to a sailing charter and stay on St. John. The Green Iguana Hotel was perfect! Gwen & John, the resident managers do a great job of looking after the place and all of the guests needs. They were both a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Just 3.5 miles from St Thomas airport (STT), we are convenient for overnight stays coming into and leaving the Virgin Islands. The Marine Terminal is just down the street and the ferry to St. John Island just down the Historic 99 Steps make it convenient for you to get to anywhere in the Caribbean! Steps Streets like the 99 Steps... More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We stayed at the Green Iguana for 1 night before beginning a cruise. I had read reviews online and I thought it might work for 1 night. I still can't believe the 'service' that the resident managers Gwen and John provide! The hotel is right next to Blackbeard's Castle up on the hill overlooking Charlotte Amalie. You can walk down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank julieW6016UW
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are still envious of you and the small cruise ship you were on! That would be a great vacation for us! Thank you so much for your kind review. John and I love being the managers AND caretakers of The Green Iguana Hotel! We do our best to keep the rooms clean and the gardens free of nesting spots... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

What a fun, funky little hotel in a terrific location for walking downtown. We stayed here one night on our return trip from BVI because we didn't want to risk missing our flight the next morning. Wanted something reasonably priced, without a two-night minimum, and close enough to town that we could walk for dinner, etc. - the Green Iguana... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank robinlamp
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

I think you are the only one to refer to us as "funky" but I like it! When you are on the first morning flight out, you have to be on St. Thomas to make it through the airport in time. We understand this and do offer single night stays, although we hope on your next visit you will add... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Gwen and John manage and maintain this property and are the best folks you'll ever meet. The location provides a beautiful view of the Bay, Frenchtown and Hassel Island. Just a few minutes drive away is the Green Room located on the bay. John and Gwen turned us on to this place, FANTASTIC seafood with great service and atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank CaptRon
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

The Green HOUSE in Charlotte Amalie is actually only 7 minutes to walk for those who are not renting a vehicle. I remember our first night on St. Thomas when it was recommended we "start" at The Green House. It has been a favorite of ours for 15 years! No matter what you have the taste for dinner-wise, we can... More 

Allenhurst, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My Boyfriend and I were on our way home from St. Croix where we had a quick layover on St. Thomas. The staff from our first flight misplaced one of our luggage tags which held us up at the airport just long enough to miss our connecting flight home. With no other option available, Cape Air found us a vacant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia P
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

What can I say other than Thank You! You were so distraught when you arrived, however you did relax and put your worries behind you for a little while! Aren't the local food trucks awesome? They have "Food Truck Night" occasionally in Town, you get to sample local dishes like Salt Fish Pate' and Rotti, not to mention some of... More 

Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We needed a one night stay before leaving for a charter vacation. This was a nice stay; walking distance to downtown, clean rooms. John and Gwen (managers) were friendly and responsive. The rates are very reasonable. I noticed that they had beach towels, chairs, water toys and sunscreen for guests to use.

Helpful?
Thank Irene607
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When your flight arrives after the last ferry departs, we enjoy providing travelers a homey place to relax! We do have beach things available for Guests to borrow! Chairs, Coolers, Floaties, towels, we even have snorkel gear you can check out in the office. We have a "free-cycle" table as well, supplied by Guests who have left over sunscreen, and... More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We selected this hotel sight unseen and we were pleasantly surprised - the rooms were very nice, spacious and some had small kitchens. The hotel managers were very helpful, friendly, accommodating and approachable- a little bit like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast! They arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport and were willing to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank wtstanf
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Green Iguana Hotel! My husband John describes the Hotel as we live in this really big 10 bedroom house/villa and you get your own private bed and bath! It is a quiet little property, easy to get to from air or sea. I have to admit, the relationship with the taxi... More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2016

For our short stay we did not need lots of amenities, just a nice place to stay overnight. Green Iguana fit the bill.Hosts were very gracious, and its a short easy walk downhill to hill town, a short cab ride back if you tired from exploring town.

Helpful?
Thank Jayme S
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When you are transitioning from home to your vacation destination, you sometimes need a stop over night somewhere! We are happy to fill that bill for you! We trust that you slept well and were ready to continue your Caribbean Adventure refreshed! We hope to see you again next winter! More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Stayed for the first time this February for 1 night before hopping the ferry to Tortola BVI and stayed 2 nights on the return trip. Very simple rooms but clean rooms and the hosts were great and very easy going. The birds in the garden were beautiful! Would stay here again. It is away from the busy part of town... More 

Helpful?
Thank francesca f
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Did you see the turtles and iguanas too? They love to stop in for a drink of water we leave for them in the gardens. The little bananaquits often wait by the office door for John to open up in the morning and bring them sugar! And the hummingbirds! They aren't shy like North American hummingbirds I've seen and fed!... More 

Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We stayed at the hotel for one night layover until we moved on to the BVI. The management was friendly and always responded to email enquiries and supplied information as requested. The hotel is not modern but rooms are adequate, include a/c, satellite tv, coffee maker, mini fridge, coffee, etc. The issue we had was simpl due to noise. Quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnDWong
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry your stay wasn't all you wished for. I don't remember what the celebration was while you where here, but it is usually pretty quiet, especially at night. We are constantly working to upgrade the rooms to make your stay comfortable. The roosters are island birds and we can't do anything about them, however!! Thank you for... More 

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
508 reviews
3.6 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
318 reviews
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
671 reviews
5.0 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,133 reviews
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: RM697 - RM996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a balcony. But other rooms have wonderful views too.”
  • View from balcony of Room H2.
 of 5 bubbles stephenmL6220GF, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the beds were great! Don't know what kind of mattress, but had a great sleep!”
  • sun rise from our balcony
  • from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles francescaf356, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call Gwen direct- she'll get you set with a custom fit room!!”
  • The lovely walk to our room..
 of 5 bubbles carrieb767, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call and talk to Gwen and she will make things perfect for you!”
 of 5 bubbles dondada365, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay