We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Green Iguana is fabulous. We stayed there for one night on our way from the upper 48 to Tortola. Gwen and John are so relaxed and friendly, they just contribute to the perfect atmosphere! The inn itself has lots of foliage, and of course, iguanas. We stayed in H2, which has an big balcony with an awesome view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chemamy
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Many of our Guest reserve a single night stay while passing through St. Thomas to various other islands, USVI and BVI! The view of the harbor from the end of the street (the top of the 99) is fanstatic! You can see the cruise ships from Havensight dock to Crown Bay Marina, and on a clear day, you can see...

Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Due to the threat of yet another blizzard to hit New England, we left for St. Thomas early & were lucky to find a room for one night at the Green Iguana (before heading out to our planned destination) . Gwen & John couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was lovely, perched high above Charlotte Amalie and only steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilyn r
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Being from Ohio, we know how important it is to escape the snowstorms when you can! We were happy to have had a room available for your last minute change in plans! Thank you for enjoying the gardens! We love the fact we can garden all year! Now if we can find the names of all the plants! Please consider...

Minot, ND
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our island-hopping trip included two nights on St. Thomas at the Green Iguana. The room was awesome, and we were acutally surprised at how nice it was for the price! We stayed in room A6 - and it is all the web site promised. We enjoyed the small inn / local experience that was offered by the Green Iguana. John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verla R
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Charlotte Amalie is a GREAT location to Island Hop from and to! Since we are close walk to most of the ferry routes, you do save on taxi fares! If you have heavy luggage, a short taxi ride will get you to the docks in 5 minutes! And I love that you can watch all the ferry activity in the...

Putney, Vermont
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Everything just worked here. Relaxed and attentive managers, Gwen and John, were perfect hosts. We were allowed to leave our luggage both before we could get in to our room the morning of arrival, and after check out, since our ferry wasn't till late in the day. I was especially impressed on the phone when making the reservation, that Gwen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VTLisaB
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We try very hard to accommodate early and late arrivals, with at least a baggage hold so you can enjoy Charlotte Amalie and the Historical aspects of St. Thomas! Thank you for trying Ideal Restaurant for Roti! John tried them on your recommendation! The Roti is very very good! And it's just a short walk from The Green Iguana Hotel!!!...

Ohio
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Well I must say this wouldn't be my first pick for a roomto as I would prefer an Embassy Suites or other 3+ star hotel but I really loved this place. Really not much more to add than what other reviews have mentioned but we stayed in H1 and the room itself was cute. Everything was fairly worn but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roshaykay
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

I agree A building has a better view, however all the views from every room are just beautiful! Please know the housekeeping issue you mentioned has been noted and the housekeeping staff has been asked to keep a better eye out when sanitizing a room for our Guests! Your next visit will be spotless, we guarantee it! We have also...

New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Green Iguana is right next to Blackbeards Castle at the top of the 99 steps, a chichi neighborhood but without the chichi feel. Very nice rooms, with kitchenette if you'd like, clean, simple, well furnished, with balconies and views. Hosts John and Gwen are outstanding. Lots of helpful details - a basket of sunscreen to take to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flygirlnh
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

John and I look forward to the sunsets every evening! Even when there is an "island shower" sometimes a bit of the sun shines through! A2 has a spectacular view of everything going on in the harbor, from Fort Christian to Crown Bay and beyond! Thank you for finding us! We will meet again soon!

Manheim, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were a party of 4 and booked 2 rooms. Our rooms were clean and cozy with a balcony that afforded us beautiful views of the harbor. the hotel managers,Gwen and John, were friendly and very helpful. This is a small hotel with 9 rooms. We stayed for a week and had great service. Don't let the fact that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmt17545
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

The Guest Rooms with full kitchens are very popular for our Guests who spend their Caribbean adventure with us! While all our rooms have a great view of the harbour, your room has one of the best! And the balconies are great for relaxing in the evening and star gazing! We know how important certain ammenities are, such as morning...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We spent the night on our way to Tortola and it was perfect. The owners are very relaxed and helpful....all around comfortable stay in a beautiful spot with great views and in walking distance to the Green House...our main mission!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boatchick9
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings to you in Alaska! We'll bet the warmth and sun of the Caribbean is welcome this time of year to you and our Iguana Fans from the north! We are so happy you were comfortable and found the hotel to be convenient to the places you wanted to visit and needed to go! We hope we will see you...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Green Iguana in February 2013. What first struck us was the stunning view. The rooms all seem to have a great view of Charlotte Amalie from the top of Blackbeard's Hill. Gwen arranged a cab for us and they were very helpful in terms of knowing the surrounding area well. There were really only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brewcity77
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Alot of travel guides group the small hotels, inns, and Bed & Breakfast facilities together and are sorry you felt deceived, however we are happy you found us! The issue of enjoying a walk after dark is a common one here on the island. John and I have been coming to St. Thomas AND to The Green Iguana Hotel for...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here in February for a single night before a sailing vacation. The combination of a cheap room and a single night reservation was exactly what we needed. It is located at the top of the 99 steps right next to blackbeard's castle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe M
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We don't mind one night stays and were happy to accommodate you before your adventure! We have many Guests who stay 1 or 2 nights before sailing and then again for a night or 2 after sailing. Sort of the "vacation after the vacation"!!! We hope to reserve a room for you next trip as well! Enjoy!

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
545 reviews
0.5 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
668 reviews
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
411 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: RM753 - RM903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are the lofts but if you want a balcony go with H1 and H2!”
 of 5 bubbles Q7981QGpamb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room list for availability, size, location within the hotel's A and H buildings to book yours in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamL809, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
 of 5 bubbles R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in A6 and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles stmoody, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5