We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Westin St. John Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin St. John Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin St. John Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,597: English reviews
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
425 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We own vacation ownership at the Westin St John so we go every year. I do love St John but people should realize the standard of service on St John and the pace of life is not the same as east coast city standards. Once you get past that you will fall in love. The resort is wonderful and has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen15
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your yearly loyalty and for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your understanding of the culture of St. John and were delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many different aspects of our resort, from the different dining options and fitness center to the pool, spa and beach. As owners,... More 

Level Contributor
267 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We just finished a fabulous stay at the Westin St John Villas. I will add that we were in the timeshare villas and not the hotel. So our expectations may differ from what some might want from this resort. Our 2 bedroom condo was great. The unit is relatively new and we had a view of the bay. The unit... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Msk6261
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates and for sharing your recent experience at The Westin St. John. Everyone here loved reading your review and was excited that you noted their pride in the island and also that you appreciated their Customer Service, friendly passes, and thoughtful suggestions. We were very glad to hear that your experience with... More 

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The outside grounds and property of the Westin, St. John is very well kept, however, two major factors into where someone will stay on vacation is food and accommodations! The Westin failed at both. While the food was ok, the prices were absolutely way too high! No matter we were, walking near Mango deli or in town at Woody's, there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingch
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin St. John. While there were many associates that seemed to make your stay much more enjoyable, we do apologize for the other areas in which we fell short regarding your room accommodations and the cost of food. Unfortunately, the cost of living in the Virgin Islands... More 

washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Just got done spending a week here. The hotel was average, the beach was nice because they have lots of chairs and space. The food was pretty good and the grounds were well kept. The staff at the pool bar was EXECELLENT. Cynthia makes a great mojito! I enjoyed my time here and thought the hotel was a nice destination.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dee J
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. While it seems you had a very enjoyable stay overall, we want to apologize for the inadequate service you received from Housekeeping, the staff at the Front Desk, and also Cruz Bay Watersports. Although we never wish to receive bad news, without it, we are not aware of areas that... More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed for 7 days on family vacation. I am used to high end hotels. Sadly this was not one. I stayed 4 days in a 3 Bedroom Vila and 4 days in a 2 bedroom suite. Neither was clean. Maid service was poor. For example, a wrapper from a bar of soap remained in the shower for 4 days. Maybe,... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Jon T
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed when I read your comments and saddened that you did not have an enjoyable stay at The Westin St. John. I want to sincerely apologize for the Housekeeping service you received and also the overall aura of our associates in general. I will... More 

Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in August of 2011 and we were very disappointed with our stay. The only reason we stayed at this hotel in the first place was because we decided to extend our vacation by a week and the Westin was available during our desired dates. We disliked the hotel so much that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank KL83
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to the Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and your concerns regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. While it is never ideal to hear of a disappointing visit, we truly value your feedback and suggestions for improvement. I sincerely apologize that you found both the beach and pool to be unsatisfactory. Our beach is in fact man-made and due... More 

Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The villas are wonderful. We were in a two bedroom in building 33. Great view from the balcony and master bedroom. We rented a car from the agency at the resort. Convenient and easy. Driving around the island is the best way to see it. We also rented a small boat for a day of snorkeling--the waters are amazing.

Helpful?
Thank socforward
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your review. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your villa in Building 33 and that you had a great view from the balcony and master bedroom. We were also glad that you found O’Connor Car Rental convenient and useful – I too think that seeing the island by car is a must-do activity!... More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was my second trip to the Westin on beautiful St. John, USVI in 6 months. I'm a self proclaimed beach bum and for those like me, I'd strongly recommend a visit to this island and stay at the best resort while there. I was in a gorgeous 3br Villa, a short stroll up from the main pool and beach.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank rymac10s
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable first stay with us, so much so that you came back within 6 months! On behalf of the staff and management here at The Westin, we were all delighted to hear that. Between... More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The westin is located on great Cruz bay which is about a 5 minute ride from the main town of Cruz Bay and at least 10 minutes from all of the beaches. The cabs or open air trucks take you and other everywhere. It's about 5 dollars to town where all of the restaurants are and at least 8 to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for all your great information and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We were glad to hear you found the location of the resort convenient and also that you enjoyed many other aspects of it during your stay. The pool is indeed a wonderful place to relax by the waterfall and we are so glad you enjoyed it.... More 

pa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Westin Hotel for 1 night prior to golng to the villas for a week. The hotel room was fine. Looks like they have done some renovations to the rooms during the past several years. Landscaping around the resort is beautiful. Most people are very friendly. You can always point to one that is not but don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bob32a
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review and also for your consistent 12 year loyalty to the Westin St. John and Starwood Hotels and Resorts. As an owner, we truly value your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found your accommodations pleasing and our... More 

1,523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (445)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Poolside room (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.2 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
422 reviews
0.9 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
415 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
593 reviews
6.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: RM1,974 - RM6,451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and not at all crowded. Very relaxing and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles stovall1305, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the Coral Vista Villas because they were close to everything I needed. I was on the ground floor and was pleased with it.”
 of 5 bubbles GinOaklandCA, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If I stayed here again I would not want to be on the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles yanzkc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They do not honor requests for a particular type of room or one with a view!”
  • the worst
  • the villa pool was dirty & only had 2 ft of water in it
  • torn stitching & ugly stain on side of mattress
  • lots of furniture had stains & rips
  • deep hammock-like dents on both sides of mattress
 of 5 bubbles ElleN350, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hillside for views”
 of 5 bubbles 150robyns, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay