We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Bull Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Black Bull Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Lauder is a pleasant Border village with few accommodation choices. This establishment may well be capitalising on this factor, given our recent experience. The room rate for a double was £99 with £5 per head extra for breakfast. Visitors might expect a fairly good standard of environment and service for that sum. What they don't expect is an average (if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irisrose2015
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

I visited the Black Bull for a meal with my sisters the meal was very good nice and hot. Service was very slow and other people got served before us so that made the wait longer . Will visit again when I am back in Scotland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane w
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here overnight before heading for the Newcastle ferry. Room was badly in need of decoration lots of flaking paint and cracks in the woodwork, not what We would expect for £99.95 excluding breakfast. The shower cubicle was small but the shower was excellent. We waited 40 minutes for our meals after ordering, food was good when it arrived. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrlamb2011
Lauder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

I ate here with my family on the evening of Friday 31 July. I have a severe allergy to mustard so need to be vigilant when eating out. I asked a member of staff if the homemade dressing contained mustard and the chef confirmed it did. I then selected scampi from the menu without dressing on the garnish and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sky_Blue870
Aberdeen
Reviewed 26 July 2015

As a local family of 18 (aged 3-80), we had booked for a meal last night; we had pre-ordered our meals for 7pm. We arrived at 6.40pm. It was 15 minutes before our drinks order was taken and our meals didn't start to arrive until 8.05pm - an hour late - and one meal was missing. We informed the waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank juliette45
Stuart K, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juliette, I'd like to start by apologising for the delay you had for your food during your recent visit - our normal policy of asking for a preorder on larger groups did not work on this occasion and for this, again, I can only offer you my sincere apologies. All food is cooked freshly to order, however your delay...

Byrness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Don't go here if you want a meal 🍴 as you will wait for anything up to 2 hrs as we all did. The service was lousy the meal was medioca and above all there was also a decrpensy over a poss smashed window that went near us. We won't be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andy L
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I have stayed here a few times now when working in the area. Always try and book when I can. The rooms are clean and spacious. Although the building fronts on to the A68, the road is very quiet of a night, so no traffic noise to worry about and there is ample off road parking behind the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicPrussik
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Stayed with our two young children in a family room for 2 nights. Lovely bright room, spotlessly clean. No bath but strong shower. We could access the wifi for both the hotel and pub (both required passwords). Ate in hotel both nights, food was excellent, very good value for money, kids ate for free with a paying adult, no issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilski99
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Stopped for 2 nights. Room old fashioned & bathroom in need of renovation but very clean & comfortable. Staff did not engage in any form of conversation although polite & smiles! that was it, so no atmosphere. When having an evening meal we had to politely ask another gentlemen at a nearby table if we could borrow his salt &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat1665
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely room with very spacious bathroom.Slightly quaint but excellent comfort and cleanliness.Very reasonable price and worth every penny.Due to very early starts and other committments did not eat in hotel but restaurant/bar was busy with diners. Staff very friendly and helpful Will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morsel1

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauder
0.6 km away
Carfraemill
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
155 reviews
16.9 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
823 reviews
29.3 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
28.7 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
28.5 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prominent brilliant white hotel established 1780, and recently refurbished. Offering modern British cuisine and professional service.8 individual en-suite rooms. Great location for exploring the Scottish Borders, yet only half an hour from the centre of Edinburgh. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: 13-15 Market Place | Berwickshire, Lauder TD2 6SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Lauder
Price Range: RM407 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Lauder
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bull Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear rooms would be quieter as the front is directly onto the road but this is not very busy due to the remote location.”
 of 5 bubbles tripadal, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor rooms are brand new”
 of 5 bubbles pedroprest, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We saw a couple of other rooms as well and they were all a very high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles 624janew, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms are right onto the High Street which is quite busy especially first thing in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles 926martynb, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles terimurnin, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay