We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pheasant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brill
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Pheasant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for a meal with friends after disappointing evening at the other main pub in Brill. The food was absolutely spot on, the service was superb without being intrusive and the ambience was lovely. Will be going again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank 121annie60
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for dinner on Saturday night. Food, staff and ambiance all first class. Very good menu. The venison was the best that I have eaten. Web site was most helpful. Great atmosphere and clearly popular with the locals. Hope to visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank 14malabar16
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night for dinner, bed and breakfast. The meals were memorable and the room very comfortable . Friday the bar was busy which adds to the vibe of the place.You need to be reasonably agile in the room we had as the bathroom was upstairs. All in all a good value country pub with good staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank greg s
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Had a Sunday lunch with family. Great choice of either beef or lamb which were both served beautifully although all were served with quite a lot of gravy already on the plate. 2 of our party prefer just a little on the plate so next time will ask for it separately. All food and service was first class and will... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonbecker
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We paid the £150 for b&b and a 3 course meal. The meal deal was well worth it food amazing .You could have anything off the menu steak was to die for . The rooms were really good definitely stay ere again next time we are down there

Helpful?
1 Thank 19stec78
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This was a good find. In a great location, parking is easy, the staff are friendly and the food was great. This is not the cheapest but the quality is really good. Personal choice, we didn't like the bruschetta starter much as it more like cheese on toast with red onion and garlic. The base bread was very soggy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Went there one lunch time had a good pint of beer (Brill Gold) lovely meal, service was good and everyone friendly Food is reasonable priced and Sat outside with a good view Didn't stay at the hotel did know there was one just popped in on recomendation

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevan S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Stayed in room 2 - large room with huge bathroom and excellent views of the Windmill. Were there for a Thursday night - Burger night. Food was very good. Breakfast a little disappointing - especially the choice of cereal which consisted mainly of Coco Pops or Rice Krispies. No Corn Flakes or Weetabix or Museli or anything else.

Helpful?
Thank TripMember08152016
Beccy R, Guest Relations Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello, thanks so much for your lovely review - we're really pleased you had a nice stay with us. And we're sorry that you were left disappointed with the choice of cereals on offer at breakfast. Unfortunately, we have some delivery issues that week with one of our suppliers, and so did not have the selection that we would normally... More 

Bideford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed at the pheasant for two nights bed and breakfast and we had one evening meal. The room in the old bake house was excellent as was the food. Nonetheless the stay was somewhat tarnished as we had to request that the room needed servicing when we returned from a day out in Oxford. As a result I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We were passing through Brill for one evening to visit friends and booked the room upstairs in the Bakehouse. It was spacious and well appointed, with a most comfortable bed. What a great place to stay with a view of the Brill Windmill! The breakfast in the Pub included with our room was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DadAndMom

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brill
9.2 km away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
502 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Magnolia Park Golf & Country Club
14.3 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
10.8 km away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
12.7 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely country pub, restaurant and B&B in the idyllic village of Brill, just 15 miles from Oxford, and 55 miles from London. Perched on a hill, with views over the historic Brill Windmill and neighbouring counties, we offer real ales, delicious home-cooked food and comfortable rooms to locals and visiting guests, all accompanied with friendly service and a pleasant pheasant atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant

Address: 39 Windmill Street, Brill HP18 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Brill
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Brill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 very large - above the bar, so maybe noisy if you retire early.”
  • View of Brill Windmill from the bedroom.
  • Very large bathroom.
 of 5 bubbles TripMember08152016, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the bake house while not part of the main building are very well situated looking out over Brill Common to the Windmill.”
 of 5 bubbles JimL493, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The Bakehouse rooms have a view of the countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles DadAndMom, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is fantastic but be aware that it is upstairs and the bathroom is then up another flight of stairs within the room.”
 of 5 bubbles OrchardMary_12, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for "The Bakehouse" for a great view of the Windmill. Downstairs has a private terrace. Great for a drink in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles RupertT_11, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5