We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Club Hotel Cantamar

Booking.comUS$71*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Club Hotel Cantamar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Club Hotel Cantamar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Don't use their scuba, appalling. Compared to web site, 2hr late departure, no breakfast, rusty boat & poor lunch. Safety wise, they didn't check diving credentials, insurance or health certification. Due to late departure, dive guid trying to still squeeze in 3 dives, resulting in 45 mins surface interval time. I've dived all over the world & this by far...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clrat
Juan Antonio R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Club Hotel Cantamar, responded to this review

Hello clrat. We are very sorry for any inconvenience. Our diving days do not include breakfast as you can read on clubcantamar.com/diving.html . All our diving guides, instructors and crew are certified, and our ships are insured. Usually we get good comments on onboard lunch, the amazing Cantamar fish ceviche or onboard sandwiches. Usually our dive masters don´t squeeze time...

Chicago
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Club Cantamar has a small storefront right on the Malecon, near OXXO. Walk right in and reserve your whale shark, sea lion or espiritu Santos experience. They are super friendly and very knowledgeable. Their prices are reasonable and they make every effort to accommodate you. But, first you must get in your Baja state of mind. Things are casual and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank briannas955
Tlaxcala, Mexico
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Don't recommend to go there if you are looking for a great experience. Unprofessional and non well organize, we finally had to come back to LA Paz after the tour on our own transportation since no body was there to pick us up. Don't recommend it at all, choose an other agence tour!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank July M
Juan Antonio R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Club Hotel Cantamar, responded to this review

Hello July. On behalf of management and crews, we are very sorry of your experience, and took immendiate measures to avoid any customer the problems you had in your trip. We hope that your experience in La Paz was amazing as we love our island, and work hard every day to give all the tourists an amazing time in La...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We didn't stay at the hotel - we did use the services of the Dive school. Had a great excursion. We swam & snorkled with the whale sharks and saw a bonus a pod of bottle-nose dolphins up close. They could have sold us a trip to the beaches - but didn't advise that we go because it was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MooMoo0701
Chicago
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is not a USA four star resort. It is a wonderful Baja family's best shot at their dream-come-true. Enjoy it with them. Be thrilled to share their dream, or stay somewhere else. By US standards it is unfinished in places and worn out in other places. This facility is about 20 minutes west of the Malecon in La Paz....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank briannas955
Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Our group totaled 23 people, we stayed Nov 7 through Nov 14 2015 and we were there to dive. Keep it in mind, the hotel is far away from the airport; it took us 3 hours to get there! It was dark and scary the night we arrived, but when we woke up the next day the whole hotel looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy C
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Los Islotes is a great place to snorkel at a sea lion rookery, but the Club Cantamar trip was poorly organized and run. Instead of 6 hours, it took 9 1/2 hours. We were picked up at our city hotel on time, but then there was a wait at the downtown office. They put 4 divers on the boat, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLH_7
Westminster, CO
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We spent a week at Club Cantamar as part of a large group of scuba divers. Despite the size of our group, the staff was very attentive to our needs. The food was tasty and plentiful. Food in the restaurant was prepared by a chef trained in the U.S. Delicious, hot lunches were prepared on the dive boat by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aloha_47
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I had a single room, king size bed was a nice surprise, air conditioning + ceiling fan, clean, daily maid service, daily supply of water bottles, fresh towels etc. The hotel is on the water with a beach but not open ocean. It is set back in a bit. So is it beach front? You decide The food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divers4life
North Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Six months ago I went here with my boyfriend and a friend, honestly I like to think that I have travel enough to enjoy and to be able to determinate wether I am getting a good service or not. And I understand sometimes it´s not the employees fault but the company´s... however some other times it´s both, a terrible experience...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luis R

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
7.3 km away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
449 reviews
14.7 km away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
13.9 km away
Hotel Blue Business Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 40 in La Paz
188 reviews
14.1 km away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#5 of 40 in La Paz
333 reviews
12.0 km away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 40 in La Paz
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Pichilingue bay, in La Paz, Baja California Sur, Cantamar Hotel provides a nice, quiet stay in a great family atmosphere, with full restaurant service at our VistaChula Café, a freshwater pool and a beautiful sunset beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Hotel Cantamar

Address: Manzana F Lote 1 | Puerto Comercial de Pichilingue, La Paz 23208, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Price Range: RM239 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Cantamar 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Club Hotel Cantamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantamar Hotel La Paz
Cantamar Resort La Paz
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Club Hotel Cantamar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
San Francisco, California

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Club Hotel Cantamar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask, but beware you might not get a straight answer”
812emilyg, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“get ready to relax”
brentferg7, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay at the hotel. Only dived with the centre”
Sammyscubalegend, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go to these guys for snorkel & dive excursions - Baja Diving Service By Club Hotel Cantamar”
MooMoo0701, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs has more privacy.”
andycW3398WA, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$71* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$71
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates