We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Panoramas (113)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 698: English reviews
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent five weeks at the Hotel Playa Mazatlan on my winter break from COLD Alaska. The rooms were large and clean. Maid Service was excellent. They had to move me after two weeks from my Garden View room due to previous reservations for the adjoining room and upgraded me to an Ocean View room. It was a pleasant surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ute G
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest (Ute G) We are thrilled to hear of your experience and glad to hear that we will be hosting you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us, we would love to point out a few things to do in and around the town as well as the hotel. Best wishes and safe travels,...

Oklahoma City
Reviewed 1 week ago

First let me say that Mazatlan has done some things to improve it's image since the arrest of Guzman. The beaches are cleaner. The ocean water is cleaner (not truly blue, but no longer oily brown.) While there is still a lot of spray paint graffiti on buildings, is has been lessened somewhat. Now, the Playa Mazatlan is not the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maz_friendtoo
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Propietario at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, (Maz_friendtoo) We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about Mazatlan, the Hotel and our surrounding areas. I am surprised to hear of your perception on a lack of service due to recent presidential elections; please note that this is not the case, yet I am more impacted by us not having the ability to...

Lamoille, NV
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You'd have a hard time finding a more beautiful facility for the price. The hotel is large and exquisitely clean, well maintained, with one of the nicest beach fronts in town. Just beautiful. I'm giving it a four instead of a five because of the restaurants- food is pretty 'meh'. The hot tub is more of a lukewarm tub -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mountaingirl1961
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest (mountaingirl1961) We are thrilled to hear that we have earned your recommendation, I will point out some of your concerns to all interested parties in the hopes that we will continue to strive for excellence for all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me direct if I can be of service to you in planning...

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

As of last January, my wife and I had been going there for about 16 years, and we always got the same room for at least the last 10 years. Not so in 2016! We will not be returning. We were not at all happy with the room we got, and tried to complain to management, but to no avail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cruisinggal71
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest (cruisinggal71) We appreciate you taking the time to post your comment, but I am a bit surprised by some of your statements, please note that the hotel does offer a Loyalty program to our repeat guest; one that I personally assist in the process of managing and maintaining. I would love to learn more about your comment...

North Pole, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service is great. Staff is very helpful. Grounds are kept in excellent condition. Our family and friends have been visiting Mazatlán for four years in a row. We very much enjoy our stay at Hotel Playa. This year we are lucky enough to be able to share our time in Mazatlán with our three adult children. From the beach vendors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick R
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest We are thrilled to hear of your experience and even more so to hear that we hosted your entire family. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us again. Best wishes and safe travels, LT VIENT

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is so much to love about Hotel Playa Mazatlan. The location cannot be beat! It is right on the beach and at the very best spot - in the busy shopping area, near the big grocery store and not far from El Centro. The restaurant is huge and open to the beach. Andl the staff are so helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat555too
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest We greatly apprecciate all your kind comments and recomendations, It is our pleasure to be of service. Please let us know if we can be of any further service. LTVient

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my two young daughters to Hotel Playa 171/2 years ago and had a blast ! When I got remarried last year we went there for our honeymoon. My husband had never been to Mexico so I knew he had to experience Hotel Playa. It matched and exceeded our expectations. The staff were so accommodating and everything was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank btsyjhnstn
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, (btsyjhnstn) I am thrilled to hear that we are able to meet and exceed your expectations, and that you honored us with the celebration of your honeymoon. I am glad that we will have the opportunity to continue to create unforgettable memories for you and yours. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct if I can...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Husband and I spent 1 week. Over-sized, partial ocean view on 4th floor had a large balcony with patio table and chairs to admire the beach. The grounds are impeccably maintained. It is clear management take pride in their resort. Staff are cleaning from sun-up to dusk and are at your service. English is sometimes limited, but that's part of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa P
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest (Teresa P) We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and feel honored that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. I would love to point out some of the various restaurants and amenities available to you in the evenings as it seems you might have missed out on...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here for a wedding in November We had arranged for a king size bed and ended up with 2 double beds and no vault in room. We got a safety deposit box at the front and 9 out of the 10 times we did not even have to sign for the box. The room key did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebigb1960
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, (thebigb1960) We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, I will do my best to acknowledge and review your comments in the hopes of resolving some of your concerns. 1 - "double beds"-- please note that the hotel does not guarantee king size beds in our standard rooms, as they are limited, therefore offered on...

Palmdale, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only visited here for a few hours as part of a beach excursion from Princess Cruises. The buffett was pretty good. The pools were very crowded from guest at the resort. The new pool had no chair's or chase lounges at the pool. It was IMPOSSIBLE to relax on the beach because of the constant interruption from the vendors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LA_Deputy
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this review

Dear valued guest (LA_Deputy) We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, I am sorry to hear that you where unable to fully enjoy the facilities and our ammenities, perhaps next time if you stay as a guest, we will have a better opportunity to serve you. Best wishes and safe travels, LT VIENT

1,553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (985)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (184)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
9:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (327)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (532)
Viewed
Amenities (78)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Cielito Lindo (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Kids Pool (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (15)
Viewed
Penthouse Pacifica (96)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View (26)
Viewed
Superior Family (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Villa Hermosa (38)
Viewed
Waterfall Pool 1 (23)
Viewed
Waterfall Pool 2 (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.2 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
592 reviews
8.2 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
2.6 km away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,382 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 80 in Mazatlan
48 reviews
1.5 km away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Playa Gaviotas 202 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Price Range: RM310 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Playa Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Playa Hotel
Hotel Mazatlan Mexico Playa
Playa Mazatlan Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Playa Mazatlan staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Playa Mazatlan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are quieter than others. State your preference when checking in.”
 of 5 bubbles 80uteg, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I don't think there is a quiet room anywhere but they all have something special about them - overlooking the beach, by the kid's pool, Etc.”
 of 5 bubbles pat555too, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“North tower is quieter. Ocean view is great. Get an upgraded room.”
 of 5 bubbles izzydito, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on North side quieter”
 of 5 bubbles geraldk263, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The boutique rooms are worth every penny.”
 of 5 bubbles gtcoupe65, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay