We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Weve just checked out after 12 nights at this great hotel. The location is only 2 blocks from the malecon and close to groceries and local restaurants. The rooms are small and have minimal extras, but they are very clean and comfortable. The addition of the room safes is great! The staff are very helpful, friendly and hard working. Jesus,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lael P
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such nice review! It was our very pleasure and honor to have you stay with us; we got used to seeing you and we miss you! Please come back soon to this your home away from home!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days great location. Close to the beach. Restaurants massage areas and more stuff really close. Has a small pool on the top and they serve breakfast eggs waffles coffee milk bread etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny D
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to read how much you enjoyed our location and facilities. We had a great time having you over and we sure hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The location is amazing, you need to walk some Minutes to the "malecon" where you can find many bars, restaurants or enjoy a walk with your friends or family. The pool has an excellent view but is very small. You can have free breakfast but there is not variety of food nor beverages. The parking is included and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David F
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the time you took to evaluate us. We are glad to read that the location of our little great hotel was so convenient and served well to the purpose of your trip. Pleas know we had a great time having you over and we hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you...

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Chose this place based on all of the reviews in Expedia and this website. Our experience was quite similar to the most recent experiences of other travelers. We booked a room back in January for a week. We reserved a double which was supposed to be a matrimonial. When we entered our room, we saw two twin beds. We complained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clyde m
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much on your feedback. We are very please to read you had a pleasant stay and that we were able to take good care of you. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the bedding. Thank you so much for staying with us. Please come back soon to your home away from home!

rhinelander wi
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We had never stayed in the downtown area of Vallarta and picked the Hotel Porto Novo. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel was renovated about 6 years ago and is very modern and clean. The staff were all great but Jamie the bellman went beyond. When I asked if there was a lavenderia close by to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhinelandermike
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, specially on the staff and Mr. Jaime, we sincerely appreciate it. We are very happy to read your stay was a pleasant one for it was our very pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying and please, come back soon!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Perfect location away from the touristy part of PV and to beach, Playa Camarones. Breakfast was a plus but lacked imagination after a few days. Rooms are tight but modern, clean and balcony on Avenida Mexico made a difference. Decent water pressure. AC available. Front desk staff should learn to greet and smile from the personable bellmen. Semana Santa crowds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeachBoHo
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We apologize on the WiFi, a lot of devices where connected making the signal weak. Thank you so much for staying with us, we had a great time having you over!

Reviewed 17 March 2016

We were greated by Jamie and made us feel really appreciated! He was very helpful and attentive to our needs! The hotel was very clean and perfectly located. I would recommend this hotel for it's location but not for the breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne J
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry to read the breakfast service was not enjoyable to you. We have submitted your comment to the Restaurant for them to consider. On the other hand, we are glad to know the staff was nice and that you enjoyed our cleanliness and location. We had a...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 15 March 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights and will do it again! The rooms are really modern and cozy! For the price we paid, we were extremely pleased with the room. Really clean from the lobby, the hallways, all the way up to the room! Friendly staff, AWESOME free breakfast! Things I'd recommend they get is better Wi-FI...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cal076
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to read you had a nice stay, we had a great time accommodating you. We appreciate your recommendations on the safe and we sincerely apologize on the WiFi service. Thank you so much for staying with us, and please, come back soon!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Nestled between the main thoroughfare of Avenida Mexico on one side and a block from the beach on the other, this 3-star hotel is a good value at 900 MXN a night. The rooms are smallish but not especially cramped. The beds and bedding aren't great; the mattresses are stiff and the sheets are of lower quality. The AC worked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MisterEtraveller
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and evaluation. We are glad to know your stay was overall a good experience and that the value of it was worthy. Thank you so much for choosing us, and for staying with us! Please come back soon!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Overall a great place, really nice people and felt right at home here. Try to not get put down by all the selling if places that they pitch to you, its how everyone makes their money in Puerto Vallarta, everyone has a bookie for their tours, but they were nice and overall helpful. the wifi does stink, so you do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pookeye
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to read the staff was helpful and nice and they made you feel at home (for you were!). Thank you for choosing us and for staying with us!

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
301 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
418 reviews
1.8 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,001 reviews
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
124 reviews
1.0 km away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#24 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: RM169 - RM298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Joliet, Illinois
over a year ago
Trafalgar, Indiana
23 days ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“IF you get a double ask to be moved to a matrimonial”
 of 5 bubbles 538clydem, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony room on Avenida Mexico unless you want to look at Hotel Pescador on the other side!”
 of 5 bubbles BeachBoHo, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The beds were very comfortable and our room was somewhat quiet too!”
 of 5 bubbles jocelynej16, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The least desirable rooms might be the ones facing the main street - Avenida Mexico”
 of 5 bubbles MisterEtraveller, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the view from the window. Avoid the ones with the view on the middle of the building and air-condition system.”
 of 5 bubbles adamb2203, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay