We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Gillow

306 reviews
Save
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (171)
Dining (20)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good39%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“top floor”(13 reviews)
“purified water”(8 reviews)
“great location”(30 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (306)Write a Review
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
42
58
16
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
42
58
16
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpurified watergreat locationperfect place to walkxix centurysafety deposit boxestwo blocksstay there againcentro historiconational palacegreat bargainhistorical buildingstreet vendorstemplo mayorrooms were cleanwithin walking distanceper night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located centrally, albeit on an extremely busy street that gets pretty mixed late at night. The building looks grand from the outside, but inside is a different story. The rooms are all extremely dated, which isn't unexpected, but certain elements really...More

Thank Bluesfan87
Response from HGillow, Gerente at Hotel GillowResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest: We are very sorry that your stay with us has not been comfortable. We take your comments very much in order to improve ourselves and we hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to assist you as you deserve.

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great you’re in walking distance to most everything but i mean for the price you pay i guess you get what you pay for when i stayed unfortunately they were out of master suites so we had to get...More

2  Thank hdjmartinez
Response from HGillow, Gerente at Hotel GillowResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest: Thank you very much for your comments. Your opinion helps us a lot to realize the things we have to improve. We are currently renovating all our rooms. We hope you find everything right on your next visit.

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We paid $66 + taxes off TripAdvisor (bookings.com) for a really clean double bed room in the heart of Mexico City's historic district. staff spoke english and was super friendly. Highly recommend. FYI- there's not much nightlife in this part of the city.

Thank Biztraveller537
Response from HGillow, Gerente at Hotel GillowResponded 26 October 2017

Dear guest: Thank you very much for your kind comments. We were very pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable. We hope you come back soon.

Reviewed 18 September 2017

This hotel is in the perfect place to walk all over the Historic District of Mexico City. Lots of restaurants are nearby and also the metro station is one block away from the hotel. The rooms were clean and all we needed to rest up...More

1  Thank lesarossick22084
Response from HGillow, Gerente at Hotel GillowResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. We were very grateful to know that your stay was comfortable. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The entrance to this hotel is nice, but the rooms not so much. Yes, this is an historic hotel, the restaurant is nice, but the rooms lack a few things and the bathrooms need some renovations. The tiles in the shower were a bit unsightly...More

Thank chiquis66
Response from HGillow, Gerente at Hotel GillowResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very sorry that some things were not to your liking. All your opinions help us a lot to improve. We are currently remodeling all the rooms and hope that in your next stay all those...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345626
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$57 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$57 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (171)
Dining (20)
Nearby
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro
Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings
and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico
City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio
Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas
Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to
admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit
the wide variety of markets and plazas where any
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
leslie f
15 December 2014|
Answer
Response from KulturaRoma | Reviewed this property |
Desr Leslie, This is an old and old-fashioned hotel - that is a large part of its charm - but they are not very strong on electronic devices like email or credit cards. If you have made a booking by phone, I am sure that... More
3
Votes
leslie f
15 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from andfood | Reviewed this property |
They sent me an e mail confirmation
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"higher floors have a great view."
Read review
"There is better around for the money."
Read review
"Go to a different hotel."
Read review
"Many top-floor suites have private open-air verandahs perfect for drinks or just watching the narrow..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing