We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Show Prices
#30 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,798 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,283: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2015

stayed in room 206 not so great, matters too old... shower didn't work properly had problem with drainage... but we did enjoy the breakfast crew specially Dalia also had a great experience with Paul at the spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eliza208
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback. We will make sure to verify the room so we can avoid any further inconvenience for our future guests. We hope you will come back soon and enjoy another nice vacation experience with us.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 August 2015

I stayed in room 510 at the Sunset Marina, normally I was booked for Sunset Royal, but they were overbooked, so Jose Rios (works at the front desk at Sunset Royal) helped me go to Sunset Marina instead, he payed attention to my needs and what I was saying whereas everyone else at the front desk at Sunset Royal had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yamina D
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your experience while staying at our resort. We are delighted to learn you and your family enjoyed our food options and activities. We are happy as well that you liked our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our...

Cancun, Mexico
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Our extended family of 10 just spent a week at the resort. The staff was wonderful. Visit the spa, Paula and Nayeli gave the most fantastic massages. Rodolfo spent a lot of time with us the first night and gave us an overview of all the activities we could participate in. The next day Aurora booked all the actives for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert H
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to go above and beyond for our valued guests. Our staff work hard each day in order to make our customers feel valued, and we are pleased that this was evident during your stay with us. We look forward to your next...

Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

"THEFT" from the Royal Sunset Marine room safe - do not trust the staff or the excuses they give you. Full storey below: On our departure from the Royal Sunset Marine to our next destination Fisherman's in Playa Del Carmen we were in the taxi - I asked my wife do you have my ring, she replied no. I must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, we regret to hear about your experience during your vacation. Regarding your misplaced ring we are sorry about the misunderstanding with our staff. It is unfortunate that you were unable to contact us sooner since we received your call after your room had been re-assigned to another guest. As it is common procedure...

New York
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I have visited twice and LOVE it here. It is laid back and relaxing. Staff were SUPER accommodating. I have never seen so many people work so hard in my life. Angel (Alonso) in the pool area went above and beyond. Fabian was a great bell hop and helped us whenever we entered the hotel. The food was great. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelgirl1232015
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your vacation experience we are very happy to hear you loved it. We hope to see you again very soon.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We had three nights here when we first arrived in Cancun. We had a great 3 bedroomed apartment. Only slight downside was that it was right next to the main road. The main bedroom was so huge we didn't need to open the window, so it was okay. The whole place is spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the buffet restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElaineHanzak
Mission, Texas
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Went for a week vacation with my family and friends and our stay was wonderful. Had a good time and the service of the hotel in general was excellent. They greet you with a smile and always sees to it that you are taken care of. They made "lunch boxes" for us when we went on tour. I would like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph Y
Pine Bush, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We received outstanding service by two employees by the names of Alonso & Angel at the outside pool bar....Very friendly & courteous & went out of their way to make our vacation fantastic! They went beyond & above & deserve to be recognized for their services! Job well done , guys! We will truly miss you!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy R
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 22 July 2015

It has been my 7th year that I am vacationing at Sunset Marina and Royal Sunset on and off - I came here with friends and family in a past but this year it happen that I came alone just relax for one week... But I didn't feel lonely at all - the staff of this resort makes you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valentina D
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for taking the time to mention all of the staff members who made you feel at home, definitely the feeling we wish to offer our guests. It is also very nice to hear you a are a repeat guest and are looking forward to your next visit. Please don’t forget to follow us on...

Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the Sunset Marina & Yacht Club. I particularly would like to recognize the “activities staff”; they were absolutely awesome! I was never bored; there was always something to do. Alexander and his crew (Eduardo, Martin . . .) kept us busy, and they were very attentive to anything that we needed! I loved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allie O

1,411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (132)
Viewed
View from Room (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (243)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (375)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.4 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.4 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.3 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#56 of 181 in Cancun
2,434 reviews
3.7 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 km away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#59 of 181 in Cancun
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Price Range: RM722 - RM1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club staff and other travellers.
83 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado
Ontario
Moline
3 months ago
Green Springs, Ohio
5 months ago

See all questions (83)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for lagoon side and a ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Main floor facing Lagoon is my favorite”
 of 5 bubbles christenealtomare, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles kris19842015, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A ground level studio on the water is awesome, walk right out to peacefulness!”
 of 5 bubbles ktr1805, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view of the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles jdcarroll2016, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5