We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here Thanksgiving week - it was a timeshare unit on the second floor (first floor above the lobby level). The location is super, being at the Marina waterfront. Walking access to a several small markets, restaurants, and Marinaterra's private beach. Views on the Marina side are very nice, with Tetakawi in the background. We enjoyed the outdoor deck,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abinaz
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only one good thing about this hotel...our room on the 5th floor had great view of the marina ...no furniture on the balcony though...breakfast was so so in a terrible location which looked like a basement room with wobbly tables and chairs...hotel apparently appeals to wedding crowds...so be warned to be woken up by rowdy people between 2 and 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andoffigoagain
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, first and foremost I want to sincerely apologize for this. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectation. I am sorry to hear that the noise was unacceptable annoying, we will keep working to handle this kind of situation henceforth. We hope you can...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Right on the Sea of Cortez with wonderful views of the Marina. Large room that was clean with comfortable beds, good water pressure, steady wifi. There were some cons... The best meal is breakfast, we were underwhelmed by the lunch and dinner meals and the dining room is a dingy room with little natural light, broken chairs, wobbly tables (it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank libragyrl
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. We will continue working in remodeling our infrastructure and improving our service. We hope hearing from you soon.

Metepec, Mexico
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel has a BIG gap in maintenance, reception and rooms are disappointing, facilities do NOT accomplish with hotel's category, only the pool is on good conditions. Try other options before considering Marinaterra.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saul C
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Saul, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of our company. I am very sorry to learn that your experience was unsatisfactory. We will continue working to improve our service in order to achieve great hospitality.

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

If you want to see the best coastline in the world rated Number 1 by National Geographic, experience it from the Hotel MarinaTerra. Adjacent to the San Carlos Marina where you can set off diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing or a sunset cruise. This is a fantastic hotel in the best place on earth. Don't forget to visit the Marinaterra's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMW007
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are very greatful to hear your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive review. We can't wait hearing from you very soon.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed here for just one night after a scuba trip. We paid for a suite, which included a large living room, very nice kitchen, and a bedroom. There were two separate air conditioners; the one in the bedroom was noisy, so we shut it off and used the one in the living room + ceiling fan to keep comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jms-on-the-road
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We will take your comments into consideration in order to improve the areas of opportunity you mention. We hope hearing from you soon.

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay with all the necessity's...will be coming back very soon. They have everything close by and food options too. Beers on your patio or in the bar that has a club too.. right on the beach

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike L
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice comments, we are very happy to hear that you had a great time. Come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I read several reviews before staying at the Marinaterra Hotel and my expectations were definitely not met. We stayed with other families who frequent the Marinaterra and they said that it was unusually bad this time around so hopefully it was just a fluke... As we arrived, we had to wait nearly an hour in the line at the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmex3
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience. I would like to apologize for your inconvenience. We are improving our service every day in order to achieve great hospitality. Quality and excelent service are very importanto to us. We will be very grateful if you give...

Rio Rico, Arizona
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We found this hotel through Expedia and thought it was a great deal. The hotel itself is slightly better than average, but the service is terrible. It's not that the employees are bad at what they do. My opinion is that it starts with bad management. I have traveled quite a bit through the USA and Mexico on both business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SERGIO8150
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Sergio8150, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience. I would like to apologize for your inconvenience. We are working to improve our service in order to achieve great hospitality. We hope hearing from you soon to show you that we can provide the vacation that your...

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Ranking based upon price paid, not sure I would have been so enthusiastic had I paid $150+ a night. Nice room, great location in San Carlos, pool area nice. Beach area has potential, could have been better. They are redoing the restaurant, but breakfast in the temporary area was decent. Took the sunset cruise on the Hattie (?) trawler parked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoknRich
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are very greatful to hear your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive review. We can't wait hearing from you very soon.

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
4.5 km away
San Carlos Plaza Hotel Resort & Convention Center
1.2 km away
Los Jitos Hotel
Los Jitos Hotel
#5 of 5 in San Carlos
18 reviews
11.3 km away
Hotel Playa de Cortes
Hotel Playa de Cortes
#4 of 7 in Guaymas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guaymas
15.3 km away
Hotel Armida
Hotel Armida
#2 of 7 in Guaymas
50 reviews
4.2 km away
Sea of Cortez Beach Club
Sea of Cortez Beach Club
#1 of 5 in San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Gabriel Estrada s/n | Sector La Herradura, San Carlos 85506, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > San Carlos
Price Range: RM288 - RM346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marinaterra Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marinaterra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinaterra Hotel San Carlos
Marinaterra Hotel And Spa
Marinaterra Hotel Beach
Marinaterra Resort Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely avoid the 2nd floor (the first floor above the lobby level) due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles abinaz, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for marina view.”
 of 5 bubbles jms-on-the-road, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the standard rooms! Spring for a suite if you plan on staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles Emmex3, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with balcony, so you can have a nice sunset view to the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles JSAINZ, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“South facing rooms have good views of the marina. The higher, the better. Lower rooms noisy during weddings.”
  • SW view from the room.
  • View of the marina, from the room.
  • SE view from the roon.
  • View to the East, of the rising sun and rolling mist.
  • View of the room entrance from the balcony
  • A musician performing in the dining room
  • View of the room from the entrance
 of 5 bubbles LSUTGR1, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay