We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

Save
Share
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(44 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for The Fox Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
94
32
6
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
94
32
6
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcontinental breakfastrooms are modernpurpose builtrange of beerslive locallylarge gardenper headair conditioninglasagnaminute drivecomfortable beddouble roomshort staypuddinghome stylegreat meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Dirty, tired, chef needs to be sacked, waitresses have no people skills & owners couldn't care less about any complaints they just make excuse after excuse as if it's you fault you didn't like it! Clientele are either old or chavs........I recommend avoiding!More

5  Thank karen31052017
Response from LG121983, Owner at The Fox InnResponded 17 August 2017

I'm not surprised to read this review, *rolls eyes* in fact I half expected it after your comments on our Facebook page became more and more vicious when I simply tried to explain our position to you. For the benefit of any others reading this...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

If you have nothing better to do than sit and wait for over an hour for your meal and then a further 10 minutes for vegetables and sauces once it's in front of you and getting cold - come to The Fox at Matching Tye!...More

1  Thank ThatSandy2014
Response from LGCford, Owner at The Fox InnResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to us yesterday. The reason that you waited for your main meals was because one of your group ordered a starter. We sent this starter within 10 minutes of receiving the order, waited for it to...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a twin room with my sister. We did not want to pay extra for breakfast and just had what was included. Although there were two packets of cereal we only had one muffin, one orange juice, one bottle of water...More

1  Thank pat a
Response from LGCford, Owner at The Fox InnResponded 15 August 2017

Hi, Apologies, it sounds as though your room was only set up for single occupancy, clearly we don't expect two people to share one muffin a pack of biscuits and an orange juice! Wish you would have popped in to ask for some more provisions...More

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Stayed here overnight. Staff welcoming Ate light lunch as we'd been warned portion sizes were generous and the quality food didn't disappoint. Booked disabled room with wetroom.which had good access, wheelchair turning circles etc. Good shower with extra grab rails - impressive for a non-chain...More

Thank THEL0bmeister
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The title says it all.... We went there last night and had a great meal. Proper pub grub with very large portions. We couldn't fault anything. The staff were really friendly, but we did do our best to confuse the waitress. We ended up with...More

Thank Paul R
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Charming Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Mid-range Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Quaint Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Business Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Quirky Hotels Hotel in Matching Tye
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Charming Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Mid-range Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Quaint Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Business Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matching Tye
#1 Quirky Hotels Hotel in Matching Tye
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tessarichardson
27 May 2017|
Answer
Response from LG121983 | Property representative |
Yes all rooms have en suite bathrooms with bath and shower except for the accessible room which has a wet room.
0
Votes
Linda B
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LG121983 | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we have a large car park to one side of the pub and another smaller car park on the garden side.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All room are "Ground Floor", no steps and wide doors, useful if mobility were a problem."
Read review
"Only one disabled room"
Read review
"If in the Harlow area or travelling from Stansted, stay here its much better than the high street brands."
Read review
"Great everywhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing