We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanums Gestgifveri

Save
Share
1 Apoteksvaegen, Tanumshede 457 31 Sweden
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tanums Gestgifveri
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Tanumshede does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Tanums Gestgifveri, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guests have access to a sun terrace, outdoor furniture, and newspaper while staying at Tanums Gestgifveri. In addition, Tanums Gestgifveri offers breakfast, which will help make your Tanumshede trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Rastplats Världsarvet Tanum (1.9 mi), located nearby, makes Tanums Gestgifveri a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Tanumshede landmark.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of the nearby restaurants that are within walking distance of Tanums Gestgifveri, such as Restaurang Kallaren (0.2 mi) or Idas Hembageri (0.1 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Vitlycke Museum.

Tanums Gestgifveri puts the best of Tanumshede at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish
153Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 64
  • 26
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Keith S wrote a review Aug 2019
19 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was really special. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom but the room was otherwise very nice. The stairs do not squeak, which you might expect for an older building that has been remodeled. The restaurant was just average for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Perra152, Informationsansvarig at Tanums Gestgifveri
Responded 17 Aug 2019
Hello Keith! Thank you for your review! We Will look into the peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, we dont ”allow” that, thank you for givning is that tip. The stairs are completely silent. The only floor that we allow sqeeking is the restaurantfloor :) We wish you a nice holiday and a welcome back. //Per-Henrik, Tanums Gestgifveri
Read more
Juan L wrote a review Jan 2019
Dublin, Ireland118 contributions75 helpful votes
Family oriented facilities with nice and comfortable rooms, parking is easy and free and the have a long restaurant with no really attractive menu. Seems that seafood is the top on here but it’s only available on weekends so I had a burger...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Perra152, Informationsansvarig at Tanums Gestgifveri
Responded 17 Feb 2019
Hello! Thank you for you review. It is correct that during offseason the restaurant is open on weekends officially. On occasions when we have bigger groups such as golfers, partys, konferences etc, We are open for the public aswell. We are open everyday during highseason, june-august. We really hope that you will have another chance to visit us again and try our restaurant //Per-Henrik, Tanums Gestgifveri
Read more
vikingo47 wrote a review Sep 2018
Tenterden, United Kingdom207 contributions71 helpful votes
Lovely buildings. Reception area with very comfortable armchairs and a warm feeling. Classical music in the background. Breakfast was plentiful.. The bathrooms were small and the shower not easy. But it is an old building and to have en suite bathroom must been difficult to fit. We did not try the restaurant as we felt a very uninteresting short menu.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Perra152, Informationsansvarig at Tanums Gestgifveri
Responded 27 Sep 2018
Hello Viking! Thank you so much for the review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. A few bathrooms are a little bit to small, we know that. That is a thing we always carry with us when we are renovating our hotelrooms. We wish you a warm welcome back //Per-Henrik, Tanums Gestgifveri
Read more
Rūta S wrote a review Aug 2018
Lunde, Norway42 contributions10 helpful votes
It was our second time here and this was very disappointing. They still have amazing food and a very pleasant reception guy, BUT. We called and booked a room on Friday and said we gonna come late. The girl confirmed that somebody is going to be there to give us the key or she will call back and tell us where the key was. When we arrived nobody was there, all the doors locked. Nobody took the phone. After a while we had to ask some guests to let us inside and we kept playing "hide and seek" looking for the key. Finally we saw an envelope with a key inside, but the name want ours. Anyway we took a chance - it was middle of the night, we were tired and with a baby. So looking for an other place to sleep was not an option. Next morning the receptionist said it was good that we found a solution and wished a good day and moved us to the room that actually we booked. Well I know for sure that we are not going back there - it feels very unpleasant to be forgotten in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Perra152, Informationsansvarig at Tanums Gestgifveri
Responded 27 Sep 2018
Hello Ruta! Thank you for you Review! We are very sorry for the missunderstanding that was held between us. We sure knew that you would be coming late - and we did wait for you until midnight. The hotel was closed for the night but there were still staff waiting for you at the restaurant - serving guests. However, there should be a note at the frontdoor telling you were the restaurant is at and that staff is there to help you. The receptionist later also tought that you wouldn't come since she told you to call us if you were later than 10 PM - and we didnt hear anything. We are very happy that you found a solution. We are very sad for the missunderstanding. We really hope that you will stay with us another time - this time with staff waiting for you with a smile. //Per-Henrik, Tanums Gestgifveri
Read more
reise-tanta-di wrote a review Jul 2018
Lafayette, California2370 contributions324 helpful votes
The Gjestgiveriet had been in continuous operation since 1863. Everywhere there is something to look at or to explore. The property has deep history. There are even two old burial mounds nearby. My room was small but comfortable with nice decoration. I liked the comfortable sitting area near the reception. The breakfast room was cheerful and the food delicious. I would like to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Perra152, Informationsansvarig at Tanums Gestgifveri
Responded 10 Jul 2018
Hello Reise-tanta! Thank you for the lovely review. Tanums Gestgifveri is build in 1663, not 1863, We celebrate 355years this year. We also have different roomsize, standard, superior, suit. If you want bigger room, just book superior :) You are most Welcome back //Per-Henrik, Tanums Gestgifveri
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastVastra Gotaland CountyTanumshede
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tanums Gestgifveri
Which popular attractions are close to Tanums Gestgifveri?
Nearby attractions include Vitlycke Museum (2.5 km), The Rock Carvings in Tanum (2.5 km), and Greby Gravfält (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanums Gestgifveri?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Tanums Gestgifveri?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tanums Gestgifveri?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanums Gestgifveri?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sjögrens i Backen, Telegrafen, and Grebys Hotell & Restaurang.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tanums Gestgifveri?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Tanums Gestgifveri located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Tanumshede.
Are pets allowed at Tanums Gestgifveri?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tanums Gestgifveri?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to Tanums Gestgifveri?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Rock Carvings in Tanum (2.5 km) and Rastplats Världsarvet Tanum (3.0 km).