We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Horse Inn

Save
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (36)
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good15%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“roll top bath”(39 reviews)
“fresh milk”(28 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Accessible rooms
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
490
102
34
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
490
102
34
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathbreakfast hamperfresh milkthe pubblack puddingquiet villagecooked breakfastfish and chipsmini fridgelittle extrasfree standing bathbooked a tableevening mealstayed for one nightsunday nightfamily roombiscuits
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on business in November just for one night. This pub is situated in a lovely village, although not far from the A1, it was very peaceful. The rooms all have their own style#, mine had a roll top bath in the room...More

Thank Christine H
Response from Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your glowing review. We very much appreciate your feedback and the impact it has on fellow Trip Advisor users. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a family suite at the Black Horse Inn on a Sunday evening in March. The room was essentially two rooms, with a twin for the kids, and a double for us, plus en suite shower room. The both rooms had their own...More

Thank colin m
Response from Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a great review. Thirlwell, our family room is incredibly popular with our visitors for all the reasons you have noted. Hope your team enjoyed their visit to Flamingo Land and the giraffes did not disappoint. We look forward to your next...More

Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Went for a weekend away with friends. Spent a few hours in the bar and, suitably rehydrated, had a great meal. Sat by the fire-shame it was unlit! The rooms are very good and a real treat-we stayed in the family room and it’s huge....More

Thank Billyboblincs
Response from Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse InnResponded 12 March 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. Glad you had a great stay with us. Thirlwell, our beautiful family room is very popular with all our guests. I will follow up on the areas for improvement.

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovley stay a couple of weekends ago.... quiet relaxed great location. Great selection of drinks Dinner in the evening was fantastic no complaints what so ever on food or service. However I don't understand why in Mid Feb the open fire is...More

Thank Andrew S
Response from Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse InnResponded 5 March 2018

Many thanks for your glowing feedback.... baffled as to why the fire was not glowing on this occasion. The only explanation was perhaps we were awaiting our log delivery. I do apologise for this and sincerely hope it did not impact your overall stay too...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

A stunning Pub with beautiful rooms, the look and feel of this place is lovely from the outside and in, and it doesn’t stop there. The rooms inside are well thought out and bring a warmth to the place, which is echoed throughout, the staff...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heatona1974
Response from Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse InnResponded 5 March 2018

The Black Horse is a very unique location and it is always very rewarding when our very valued customers take time out of their busy schedules to share their feedback to the Trip Advisor world. The rooms are very cosy and all the little extra...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (36)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paul H
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Paul H | Reviewed this property |
Apologies people. I was attempting to reply to a single person who gave Xmas day a pretty damming review which seemed unfair to me. The problem seems to be that if you select the option to copy in the owner of in this case... More
0
Votes
Martin B
5 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from davidvG5830IN | Reviewed this property |
There are a couple of rooms at ground level, they are outside main building. Not sure of accessibility if using a wchair. There are 2 steps up to restaurant, small step into building, gravel surface around building. Call... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Fresh orange juice,milk and bottled water in the fridge. Big kids and little kids look out for the Curly..."
Read review
"Milton suit is super"
Read review
"If you’re both having baths in the gorgeous roll tops then give it some time for enough water to warm up!"
Read review
"Difficult to reach and change the plugs. TV. Kettle and fridge. But didn’t detract from the great room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing