We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 525: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The food (dinner and breakfast) was first class. The chef even told me how to do the perfect poached egg. The room was fantastic with suberb attention to detail. Every member of staff provided excellent friendly service. I will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidrQ5936QZ
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hope to welcome you back shortly

Arbroath
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Very comfortable rooms which are well equipped with lots of nice touches like a fridge with fresh milk, orange juice and water in it. The staff are all excellent and the food is really good. The pie of the day was excellent! Breakfast has a nice selection of cooked things.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks Hope to welcome you back shortly

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, we had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast there in the morning. The food was incredible, especially for dinner. The staff were attentive and really nice and the room we stayed in was done out really well and felt really homely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccag0dden
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Than you for your thoughtful feedback. So glas you had a good stay....thats another good job done

Micheldever, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Would highly reccomend staying here, rooms are really well maintained and decorated and feel very homely. We arrived quite late and the staff were excellent, breakfast also superb with great attention to detail and excellent service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ballabriggs91
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We take immense pride in ensuring our guests receive that home from home expereine when staying with us. Many thanks for your feedback

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Absolutely fabulous stay, food was superb, beer was excellent, rooms perfect, everybody very friendly, me and the wife just loved the place will definitely be going back for another stay, location ideal between two beautiful village towns catterick and Northallerton, everything about it was perfect .👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismG2001YC
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Wow what great comments. Thank you. Trip advisor is a very powerful marketing tool and your feedback is priceless to us.

Reviewed 25 November 2016

This is our fifth stay at the black horse. The welcome is always warm and friendly, nothing is to much trouble . Staff are so nice, and can't do enough for you. Bedrooms are always clean, and modern . (Did miss the biscuits this time), but nice tea and coffe facilities . Food in the evening is fab, and of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedbak. I apologise for the blip with the biscuits. That has been adressed fro future guests. Really look forward to welcoming you back

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Have stayed 4 times now, and always superb. Pleasant environment, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and excellent food, and keep a good pint. Rooms very nice, characterful and comfortable. No negative points.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jongreig
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

So glad to here that you are receiving a consistently superb expereince on each visit. In the customer service industry this is always very satisfying feedback to receive and a great recommendation to potentially new customers. I shall share this with all my colleagues. Look forward to your fifth visit.

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Great hospitality, service, accommodation and first class food. Couldn’t be better. Shegar suite had all facilities and personal touches, the bed was large and comfortable. Bathroom had a walk in shower, roll top bath, selection of soaps and a couple of bathrobes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie W
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Shergar is very popular as it is one of our larger suites and our guests really apprecaite the extra touches in the rooms. So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Very pleasant stay at this rural peaceful location but the bed was too hard and uncomfortable and at almost £130/night really hurt! Made official complaint to the general manager with no reply. Made same complaint to a more senior member of the organisation and again totally ignored. Same concerns about mattress made by TripAdvisor contributor in August this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davey12357
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. We take all customer feedback very seriously and I sincerely hope you were not ignored I have spoken to the General Manager and he was not aware of any recent complaints regarding mattreses. I would be really grateful if you could ring me directly on 01609 749010 so I...

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We found the Black Horse Inn to be a little gem in our travels. The staff were all very welcoming and in particular Rosie made us feel as though we were part of the family/ local community. The food was par excellent, presentation, taste, was all second to none. Definitely value for money and not to be missed if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HEMac_11
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. The team here all enjoy pampering our guests and ensuring they are indeed made to feel part of the family (if thats what they want) I will share your feedback with everyone and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
23.6 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
8.0 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
272 reviews
16.7 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
670 reviews
34.6 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
639 reviews
9.9 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: RM498 - RM925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Limoges France
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great room, loads of space and lovely bathroom ”
dav1dmorton, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The bathroom floor was really slippy as was the flooring around the roll top bath in the room. Otherwise it was pretty much perfect! There are even ladies sanitary products in the room. Everything is thought of!”
kinster, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Shergar for aspect, size”
Sue&Ian, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Shergar (ground floor)”
Pauline267, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms in the annexe are great for those of us with creaky knees!”
Judy160, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5