We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,031 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,030: English reviews
Hemswell Cliff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Reception staff could not have been more helpful, Room was near to facilities and had some lovely goods for sale in foyer together with lots of leaflets with local information. Breakfasts were superb & evening meal was lovely and well cooked, waiting staff were attentive and very fast in serving all foods, very smartly dressed, and polite. Room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this lovely 5-star review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your mention of our staff. We're happy to read your comments about our food, especially our breakfast which sets you up great for the day we think! Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Hyde
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night this weekend (do so wish other commitments had not prevented us staying longer). We have stayed here many years ago with groups of friends, this time just the two of us celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary. Reception staff were beyond polite and helpful, really cheerful and friendly too. Superb team in the restaurant and bar, excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Excellent review to read thank you; you've put a smile on all of our faces! your comments about our staff are truly warming to our hearts. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay including our delicious breakfast! We hope to see you again soon, thanks for the 5-star rating as well!

Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned home today after a weekend at the damson dene hotel. We had a lovely time here. On arrival we were greeted by lovely polite reception staff. Having arrived late because of traffic the restaurant manager very kindly arranged for us to have a hot meal. The staff in the restaurant were very polite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen480
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and food. Thank you also for your constructive comments on our dog policy. We do ask that dog-owners respect the property and other guests and of course we do try to ensure that only well-behaved dogs...

Cramlington
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend at Damson Dene Hotel for our first wedding anniversary and we stayed in the Bluebell suite. We didnt realise upon booking but this suite had a jacuzzi bath and patio doors which opened onto a small sun terrace and walled garden. The walled garden was perfect as we took our dog so she could run about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielle_736
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful review. Thank you so much for staying and posting your 5-star remarks! We think you covered all of our strong points very well. We would add that we don't force people to put dogs in their cars; we simply request that if your dog barks when you aren't around to take necessary precautions to not disturb those around you....

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Where to start, room ( 6 ) small tired looking ensuite ok for very slim midget, shower dosnt drain so ankle deep in dirty water, yuk. Quilt so old and compacted as to be unusable. Horrible deep droning noise from fans/ mothers from the pool, when I complained was just told they will be turned off at ten, they were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank robuk111
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

From the outset, this was one of the more difficult guests to please we have experienced. Although we work very hard to be a great place to visit, we understand that we cannot be the hotel for everyone. We were made aware of how unhappy the guest was with the room and were able to move them to a different...

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here on a Living Social deal with 2 other couples. We all received free upgrades to 4 poster bed rooms with spa baths. Excellent value. Hotel very dog friendly in good location set in attractive grounds. Very friendly staff, excellent food. Will definitely use again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike w
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. We appreciate the 5-star rating as well. We're pleased you found us to be good value for money. Thanks as well for commenting on our food and staff. We will hopefully be able to welcome you back again! Thanks.

Leicestershire
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here in June for 2 nights on a groupon offer (dog friendly twin room). Nothing bad to say about my stay here at all. On arrival the reception team were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Food was amazing! We were given a voucher to stay again and definitely will be doing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieTink2013
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

It was wonderful to read your 5-star review; thank you for posting it. The fact that you will visit again makes us very happy and all of your kind comments have made us smile. See you again soon we hope. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went to this hotel through groupon, rooms were clean but a bit on the compact side, no real problems there as were only used for sleeping in, Evening meal included in the price was excellent with good choice, breakfast was also very good, managed to use the pool ,steam room and spa on our last night around 7 o,clock and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny D
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your nice review and for visiting us. Your comments about our food have gone down well with the chef and we are pleased you appreciated our leisure amenities. Thank you for saying you would visit again; we hope you do! Thank you.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a fabulous time staying at the hotel, bed very comfy and slept well, always plenty of tea coffee etc in the room. The restaurant over looked beautiful gardens and was entertained by the ducks popping their heads in the window. The food was top class and enjoyed every bit of it, breakfast was a good variety and run efficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JackieMac56
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and 5-star rating. Thanks so much for posting it and for visiting us. Your pictures look lovely as well and I'm sure people will find them useful on here! We're pleased you enjoyed our location and food as well. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you'll make the trip up again to...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Damson Dene for 2 night on a Living social voucher, the room we were given to stay in was spacious, clean and bright with plenty of storage the only problem was the size of the bathroom it was narrow and very compact so only one person at a time could use it. The staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambchop1425
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic review thank you! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope others on tripadvisor find your review helpful as it is packed with hints! We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (429)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
7.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
3.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,192 reviews
32.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,970 reviews
7.6 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: RM392 - RM825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms upstairs are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles goodenoughmick, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the duck pond”
 of 5 bubbles catherinehaigh2016, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the countryside”
 of 5 bubbles K6184JOsusanh, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book on deal, not sure it's worth it full price. Ground floor room noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jennall2014, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles maz6766, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5