We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Royal Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Continual unannounced refurbishment going on during our stay. Work continued 8am - 9pm+. Had to be moved rooms repeatedly to avoid the construction and its noise. All sauna and spa facilities shut down. Hotel suggested we visit their sister hotels spa however this was a 15 min walk up the street in -30C weather.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markbH5346OM
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not ideal, and that you were not informed about the renovations on the roof and in the sauna area. These renovations were done to improve our guests comfort and experience. Our sister hotel, the Elk & Avenue was...

Calgary
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This hotel has amazing staff that are friendly and very helpfull. The rooms are spacious and clean. The price is great for such an amazing location - right on main street. We had a great time and can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6715IQmelissam
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* rated review on your stay at the Mount Royal, it is well appreciated. We are pleased to hear how amazing our staff was. They actively participate to our guest satisfaction, as well as the hotel location, and the quality of rooms. It will be our pleasure to welcome you in the future. Sincerily, Estelle Lo...

Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The Mount Royal Hotel was a great place to relax and wind down from the sights and adventures that Banff Has to offer! The Front Desk Staff were excellent. It is in the middle of town and close to everything! A grocery store across the street as well as a bus stop that took us right to Sunshine! Having used...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank O571CLjohnc
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We are pleased to read you and see how much you loved your stay at the Mount Royal. Our staff will be happy to read your nice words as well. As you mentioned, as our hotel is centrally located, it gives an easy and fast access to restaurants and shops, and our...

CALGARY
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Absolutely loved the central location of the hotel. We were able to walk around the town. The stores and restaurants were all very close by. Even though we didn't use the restaurant on-site, it was nice knowing that it was there. The staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We found the rooms quite comfortable and the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna K, We thank you for the time taken to share your experience with us at the Mount Royal Hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests, as our guest satisfaction is very important to us, and your kinds words concerning our staff will passed on. Sincerely, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Edmonton
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Pros: Location is perfect. Friendly staff. Affordable rates. Cons: Front desk and check took way too long. Hire more staff! View from room was awful, all I could see was vents and brick and considering where this hotel is located that is just unacceptable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is interesting to read your comment concerning the long time for the check in or check out, as we always try to have the proper staffing to avoid this situation, but we thank you for bringing that issue to our attention. Also, we are happy that you liked the hotel location...

liverpool
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Room was miles away in the hotel, long corridors to drag your suitcases along, view of carpark and curtain hanging off the track ( reported this but it was never fixed ) food was nice in the downstairs pub. Good location but would look to stay somewhere else if we visited again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank durie
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very well appreciated. As we are used to say, our guest satisfaction is very important for us, and it is always good for us to hear about all feedbacks. We are taking in consideration your comment about the hotel itself and the cleanliness of room. Thank you Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here for one day. This hotel was good, located in the middle of all shops, restaurants and facilities. Anyway, Banff is not a very big town. The inhouse restaurant is also nice. The rooms were clean and spacious. The reception staff is very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kulwinder S
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is situated downtown, so yes, all access to restaurants and shops are walking distance from the hotel. We are very pleased to read your comment about our staff. Our guest satisfaction is very important for us,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night in june 2016. Banff is really beautiful. Gives me a feel of Switzerland. This hotel room is facing Main Street, small room but ok for a single person. They provide ear plugs so I guess is because is facing main road and you may find it abit noisy. No Breakfast provided. You can walk around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AQUALUNA1
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to see that your stay was awesome, and yes, as our hotel is situated in downtown, some nights can be noisy sometimes. The access to shops and restaurants is very easy and you are right, one night will not e enough! Regards, Estelle Lo Piccolo...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times and enjoy it very much. It is perfectly located on Banff Ave with easy access to shops, restaurants and bus stops. You can also book ski trips and other excursions right from the hotel. We also love the jacuzzi and quaint little pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichelleB, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is with a great pleasure that I have read your feedback. We are always pleased to hear that our guests liked their stay with us. Regards, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We were guests during the fire and I want to start out by saying how much I appreciated the staff at MRH and their tireless, endless, compassionate work they did (and are still doing) for their guests. They took a terrible situation and did their absolute best to ensure that everyone was cared for. I cannot begin to describe the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank awal_526
BrewsterTravelCanada, Public Relations Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Awal_526, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Mount Royal Hotel. Needless to say, it was a very unfortunate event that occurred and we're so thankful that no one was injured or harmed, and that everyone was evacuated safely. While we're saddened that this iconic hotel has been damaged, we look forward to rebuilding in...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
1,081 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,355 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: RM433 - RM497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
getaroom.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates