We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Hotel is located right in the heart of Banff where you can walk to everything. Room was a bit noisy from the Banff Avenue street side but the view was beautiful. Bathroom seemed small compared to other hotels. We missed having a fridge in the room and room was spacious enough to fit one. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1PickyMom
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate our guest's comments. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, even if you were missing a fridge. Unfortunately, we do not provide a fridge in each room, and we will be more than happy to accommodate you if you place a request upon your reservation. Concerning...

Tavueni Fiji
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Very adequate, clean and bed comfortable. The location was absolutely ideal. We could walk the town easily. We are in the center...Perfect for those seniors opting for shopping and viewing non skiing folks . The staff was friendly and helpful. Good choice for practicability and modest price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BulaVinaka1
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is well appreciated. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at the Mount Royal, and liked the location as well as the professionalism of the staff. We hope to see you again soon, Regards, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We had come to Banff to snowboard from the weekend and while this hotel is in a great location (right on the main drag) that is about all it had to offer us. Upon arrival we were told the hot tub was closed due to renovations, if we would have known this then we would have booked else where. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kailcoutu
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for your review concerning your stay with us. I am very sorry that your stay was not what you were expecting, and I am concerned about the heat issue. May I ask you to contact me on my e-mail address at elopiccolo@brewster.ca. I would like to have more information and make sure this issue is now fixed. Also,...

Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Room was quite small but fine for a place to sleep etc. The small red blanket at the foot of the bed was covered in animal hair, we threw it in a corner and hope housekeeping takes it for cleaning. Staff were friendly and accommodating with a requested late checkout. Location is great and right in the heart of Banff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petiteTreasure
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear petite Treasure, It is a great pleasure for us to read your comment, and we are glad to see that you liked your stay with us. The quality of our guest service is important, and I am glad to read that you were accommodated on your late check out request. I am pleased to read as well that you...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown Banff on the main drag, with parking in the back and a bus stop that can take you to Sunshine Village. The rooms are clean, warm and a good size. What you'd expect from a quality hotel overall. The staff are pleasant and helpful in case you are trying to figure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio Q
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Antonio Q, Thank you for time taken to sharing your review with us. We are delighted to read your comment and see that your stay was excellent. Our guest satisfaction is very important and reading comments like yours are so encouraging. Thank you! We hope to see you again on your next trip in Banff. Sincerely, Estelle Lo Piccolo...

Reviewed 7 December 2016

I read all the reviews prior to my stay and said regardless i will base my own opinion. The price was amazing, averaged 85 a night for a 4 day weekend. room was clean and well appointed. we were upgraded to a corner room with impressive views. SHOWER HAD GREAT PRESSURE AND TONS OF HOT WATER- Great for post mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Christopher W, We thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you liked your stay in our hotel, as well as the hot water, the parking, and the quality of the room. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime at the Mount Royal Hotel. Regards, Estelle Lo Piccolo, Front Office...

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights. They didn't complain about having our snowboard gear in the room. Great location, walking distance to great food and bars. No taxis needed when having a fun night out. Great for value/price we paid. Clean rooms and hotel. Friendly staff. Stayed in a renovated room. I'd stay again. They provide ear plugs for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fally M
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Fally M, Thank you for your review, it is well appreciated! It is a great for us to see that you stay was nice and that you enjoyed our facilities, our staff, and our location. Please contact us on your next stay, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again. Cheers, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Mumbai
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Situated right on the main street this quiant hotel at banff was a great place to spend a night. Its a few minutes walk from the old bridge where we spent an entire evening and pretty close to a Museum as well. I cant recall the name but there is a shop that claims to have the world best Ice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viraf H
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Banff, and in our property. Our central location is very convenient for our guests as everything is in walking distance. Our world best ice cream shop is "The Cow", and yes, they have very good and excellent ice cream...

Hampshire
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This hotel is right in the centre of town and have good size rooms which are clean and modern. Due to the hotels location they give out free ear plugs incase being so close to Banff centre keeps you awake at night. To be honest we stayed here for 5 nights and only once (without ear plugs any night) did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chino_Mac
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Chino_Mac, Thank you for your review. Our hotel is situated in the center of the town, and during the week end, most of the time, the town is busy and people are enjoying Banff until late at night, so his might cause some disturbance form people outside of the hotel. Our Security team is here to maintain the hotel...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my husband. This hotel is in an ideal location on the main strip of Banff with easy access to restaurants and shopping. My first impression was this hotel is quite unique, not modern but has an older charm. This continued to the fire place that was crackling as I entered the door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetravelinggirl1
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed our hotel, the view on the mountains, and our nice staff. However, I am concerned by the "paid parking", as our parking is free, and it I s a first arrive, first served basis. During...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
970 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,337 reviews
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: RM457 - RM525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5