We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Leduc, Alberta
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Hotel had friendly staff, and was very central to anything we wanted to do. Would have been nice to have a fridge, but definitely not a deal breaker. Good place to stay, and would go back for sure next time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremybE7961UZ
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jeremybE7961UZ, Thank you so much for this amazing review! I loved hearing that our friendly staff and location were a highlight of your stay! We do apologize that we were unable to supply you with a fridge but glad to hear it didn’t damper your stay with us. Thank you again for the awesome review and we will definitely...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

The room we stayed in was very secluded and hard to get to. It was also very old including the mattress. I was disappointed that we had an old room and paid the same amount as a recently renovated room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifersQ4853CS
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jennifersQ4853CS, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at the Mount Royal Hotel. We take all our guest’s feedback to heart and figure out ways we can improve ourselves for the future base on feedback such as your own. Please be aware that all of our Mount Royal Hotel rooms and hallways have been...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Great place, clean, friendly staff and good location. Maybe the best location. Amazing breakfast at the tony Roma's attached to hotel and really friendly staff there as well. All around Great bang for your buck!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodiyeg83
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent 5-star review. It is great to hear that you found the breakfast at the attached Tony Roma's amazing. They do have great staff. I am also happy to hear you found excellent value with us and found the hotel clean, the staff friendly, and enjoyed the location right in town. I would love to see...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Great location! Right down town and very closer to all restaurants and shopping stores. Just outdated but Banff is an older tourism town so.. It was clean, staff was okay, nothing special. Weren't very knowledgable about local hikes. I feel like $189 for a Saturday was an average price if not good for Banff (it did feel expensive for the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to review your stay. We warmly appreciate the feedback you have given us and we are always striving to improve our level of service. Your comments help us achieve that. I will make sure to provide our staff with better training on local hikes. It is very important that the staff are knowledgeable about what...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I did not get the booking.com pricing. Ended up paying way more for the room. It was my friends birthday. We got a cake and called housekeeping to get some plates. Housekeeping said they don't have plates and forks. That was really disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MuhtaremaI
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am sorry for the response you received from our staff. While housekeeping do not stock plates and forks they could have directed you to those in the hotel who could provide such amenities. We are very happy and obliged to accommodate guest requests. Please accept my apologies for this failure....

Edmonton
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Usually my first call when booking a room in Banff with some friends. My primary reason for trips to Banff is snowboarding trips but I like to enjoy the night life while I'm in town so the fact that everything you need is in walking distance is fantastic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank connorw881
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear that we can offer you exactly what you are seeking in Banff. We love to hear from return guests, whether they come primarily to snowboard or for nightlife, or both. A hotel has to be all things to all people. I am glad that our location really suits your needs and I hope that...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Special occasion -staff upgraded up to a suite. room was lovely. location cannot be beat! The lounge is great for an afternoon drink and snack and the breakfast was great value the following morning as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolineE5102DL
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there carolineE5102DL, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We love having our guests join us for their special occasion! I am so happy we were able to upgrade you to one of our wonderful suites at the Mount Royal Hotel for your romantic getaway. You are correct that our location cannot be beat as we are centered right in...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I always stay here. It is central to everything in Banff. The staff are all helpful and smiling and will help you with any questions you might have. In the lobby you can book any trip you would like to take to discover all of Banff's history and fun activities. I have tried many other places to stay but I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YYCdavidm
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

It is fantastic to hear that you always stay here and that you have named us "Dave's favorite Banff Place". I consider this an honor. Thank you for the review and for the wonderful comments about how helpful the staff are. We will strive to make all your future stays great. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 5 March 2016

While staying here, I was discussing reducing the additional occupant charges the managers response was "You do know you are in Banff?" Ya I didn't forget-thank you. her tone was very rude and condescending. We had 6 rooms booked with them that night bringing them business in the hotel and in the restaurant/bar.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kc2016210
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of your experience at the hotel. We honestly appreciate all feedback. I am very sorry that you found the manager's tone condescending. I can also sympathize that this interaction can determine the quality of your stay. Please know that we do in fact appreciate the business you have brought us both in the hotel...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff! Great location. Nice, quiet and comfortable sleep. Room was clean. Tony Roma's on-site was really great for our family to meet. Parking was a challenge. Hot tub and area could use an upgrade. Being a long weekend the price was high, book early for a better value rate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brucel205
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brucel205, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Mount Royal Hotel. I was happy to hear that our staff were extremely helpful and friendly during you and your family’s stay! It was also amazing to hear that you found our location wonderful and our hotel to be nice, quiet and comfortable for...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#15 of 32 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
379 reviews
0.4 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,068 reviews
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: RM447 - RM514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5