We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The YWCA Banff Hotel

0.5 km from Banff centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The YWCA Banff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My sister and I stayed at the Banff YWCA for a full week during our vacation. It was about $100/night cheaper than anything else we found, so we were not expecting perfection. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. They provided clean towels daily, and came in to make our beds & vacuum the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieDsM
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MarieDsM, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the value and cleanliness of your accommodations, as we strive to offer comfortable rooms for budget-conscious travellers visiting Banff National Park. Thank you for the feedback regarding our bathroom floors - feedback like...

Tri-Cities, Washington
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

It was very basic as expected. We had a private bathroom, which was tiny. It had a shower and a toilet, the sink was next to a bed. It was not super clean. The bed was comfy. It had a nice view of a mountain, which made it more pleasant. There is a cafe on location which is handy. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCass319
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KCass319, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and providing us with feedback we can use to improve. Indeed, it can be expensive to stay in Banff during peak season summer months, and we strive to offer clean, simple and affordable accommodations to budget-conscious travellers. We're delighted to hear that our friendly staff made a great...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Very, very basic room but nice fresh white linen, clean room with huge window and spectacular view. Just over the bridge from the hustle of downtown. Really enjoyed my stay and have saved at least $100 by not staying in an overpriced Banff hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deb P, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay! We're glad to hear you appreciated the convenient location and the great views. We strive to provide simple, clean and affordable accommodations to our budget-wise travellers. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay will have a...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Had a great stay here. It was quiet, rooms and showers were clean. The only reason I did not give this a 5 rating is due to the restaurant not being open during my stay. I don't remember seeing anything in the confirmation about this. Otherwise, great stay! thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wendy O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear you had a quiet and comfortable stay. Our apologies for the change in our cafe hours - your feedback has been noted! YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise, and revenues from our operations are reinvested into community programs...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We went to Sunshine village for a short snowshoe trek after which we visited and treked up to the lower falls of Johnston canyon. Then we went to Banff to watch the Santa Claus parade. We had booked into a Y lodge and little did I know it was the YWCA. My wife does not tell me everything. Anyway, after...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Harold2010
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We knew going in that this is not the type of hotel we normally stay at so expectations were low and were met. The room was clean, though the bathroom was so old it was off-putting. It was a private bathroom though so at least it was just for us. Everything worked but we could not find a way to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank albertasn0wbird
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello albertasn0wbird, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The hotel is indeed an older building; in fact, it was the original Banff Mineral Springs Hospital! It is worth noting that the noise from the train is a sound that is heard from almost every hotel and residence in Banff, as the railway has...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2015

There were four of us travelling together, my husband and myself, my daughter and my elderly dad, so we needed three beds. Their "family suite" was perfect. It had an ensuite and there were extra bathrooms across the hall. The Banff YWCA has been around a very long time and is a bit tired but it is situated right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rl_wk27
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the family suite, as well as the convenient location of the hotel. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay at the YWCA Banff Hotel will have a positive impact on this...

Medicine Hat
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

My husband and I booked our wedding at the facility in June 2014 for our wedding in September of 2015. The price was right and it was in beautiful Banff. The rooms are basic, but clean. In July 2015 they told us they couldn't accommodate our expected number of guests that they had told us they could over a year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allienickmarlainam
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello allienickmariainam, Congratulations on your marriage! It is great to hear that you were able to procure a venue that was a match for your final guest count. It is regrettable to hear your feedback regarding our hotel and your father-in-law's difficulties with accommodation, as it would seem that there was miscommunication regarding the room bookings you made on behalf...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Visited this facility in August 2015. Paid around 150$ per day for the stay but the price paid didn't match the expectations. The room looked more like a prison .. Front desk guys (except one elderly person) were not welcoming and courteous. Bathroom was cramped .. wifi was poor.. I understand its a charity institution/ budget facility but paying 150$...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A_M007_chinar
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello A_M007_chinar, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with our property and felt that it was not a good value. Staying in Banff can be a challenge when it is high season, and we strive to keep our prices reasonable and budget minded...

Reviewed 3 September 2015

We reserved the "SUITE" room expecting the similar rooms to what is posted in their website (http://ywcabanff.ca/hotel/rooms-rates/suits/ -- as of Aug25.2015). After we did all the grocery shopping prior to checking in (our horrible mistake!) expecting a reasonable form of a SUITE room in North America. When we walked in, our family felt we were scammed as the rooms do...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jin C
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide a review on our hotel, and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In all fairness, the amenities included in our "suite" rooms are clearly identified on the web page that you have linked to. As well, we offer free parking to our guests, with parking...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 32 in Banff
642 reviews
2.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.2 km away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
471 reviews
2.1 km away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: RM232 - RM490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing away from street and elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TwoCrabs, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for room facing court yard”
 of 5 bubbles 368CathyC368, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 'facing the courtyard' are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles QuietlyRetired, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be glad these people are there offering good value for money in banff”
 of 5 bubbles nielgillespie, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay high at the back and away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Harold2010, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5