We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Deer Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Located at just walking distance from Lake Louise. Very nice & scenic location. An old building with a great history converted into hotel. Good sized room and bathroom. Hotel euipped with Hot tub and Sauna. Hot tub was in the open at the top facing Glacier. Great experience!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the views of the glacier from our hot tub. We hope you will be able to join us again in future.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2015

What a breath taking setting and so convenient to Lake Louise! A view to die for from the roof top hot tub and such a historical feel. (it felt like I should ask for the concierge to bring me my horse and hat!) Lovely staff, friendly and they seem happy to work there.... BUT, the rooms for the price were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I apologize that you were disappointed with your room; rooms in the original part of the building are much smaller than the average modern hotel room as they retain their original 1920's floor plan. We do our best to ensure that all guests are aware of the historic nature of the building when...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The location of Deer lodge is its big selling point only a stone's throw from Lake Louise itself. The hotel is old by Canadian standards and has a quaint feel. Good food well served by helpful staff. The hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade but would have to be careful to retain its character.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inchmurrin
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the historic character of the Lodge and found the location convenient. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in future.

Whitecourt
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We had a short but nice stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the history of the hotel and the mix of old and new. Room was very comfortable and quiet. We loved the out door hot tub on the roof. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 237eileenn
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and our roof top hot tub. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I like this hotel. My room was in the "heritage" section. It was a good-sized room with two beds, a desk and two chairs. I definitely appreciated the desk for my laptop. However, I didn't get much use from the laptop as the wi-fi is terrible. I kept losing my connection and it was enormously frustrating. I couldn't figure out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow1Goddess
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were happy with your room in our Heritage Wing. Please accept our apologies that our heat was not on during your stay; we were caught out by an unusual cold snap at the end of August , and there was a delay...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This hotel bases its selling point on its heritage ie; 100 years. However, if your English this may not impress you. Parts of the Lodge are beautifully done but we were given a poor room to begin with. However, after initial complaint we were well looked after and given a much bigger and nicer room. Big thank you to Katherine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scully-kevkando
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that the room you had booked did not meet your needs,but very glad that we were able to find something more to your liking and that you subsequently enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We have stayed at the Deer Lodge for years. Love the place. Great location for being near Lake Louise. Was told hotel is now caring about booking tours instead of loyal customers. Shame on Management.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobv246
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you continue to enjoy staying at Deer Lodge. I apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding future bookings for you; we value all of our guests highly, and particularly those who are long term visitors to the Lodge. There may be certain dates throughout the year which are sold...

Snow Lake
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Rooms were very small and very old for the 200 dollars a night we were paying. The rooms were advertised as updated on the website. The good thing about this hotel was the staff, they were all very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 566rickyh
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to expectations. Our most basic Lodge rooms are quite compact and retain many of their original features, in keeping with the historic style of the hotel. We understand that this is not everyone's preference, and do our best to represent our...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 20 August 2015

You cannot beat the location of Deer Lodge, literally a five minute (or less) walk to Lake Louise. It has a rustic charm that, in my opinion, fits the area much better then its very expensive neighbor, the Chateau Lake Louise. (It's also a lot quieter.) We stayed in a corner family room on the 3rd floor, facing the road....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blue_gal4011
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the rustic charm of the lodge, and were happy with your Family Room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Deer Lodge is an excellent place to stay. The location is absolutely perfect. Lake Louise is a 5-minute walk away. We stayed for 3 nights recently. Our room was in the new wing. The room was incredibly comfortable and clean. The lounge and restaurant are very good. We ate there each night. We also enjoyed the breakfast each day. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your most recent visit to Deer Lodge and were happy with your meals. Please accept our sincere apologies that your room was not ready on time. We really appreciate your patience and understanding, and will work hard to make sure that this glitch is not repeated. We...

777 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Heritage Room One King Bed (38)
Viewed
Heritage Room Two Double Bed (53)
Viewed
Hot Tub (11)
Viewed
Lodge Family Room (50)
Viewed
Lodge Room One Double Bed (41)
Viewed
Lodge Room Two Twin Beds (28)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Tower Room One Queen Bed (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,197 reviews
2.2 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
886 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,131 reviews
0.8 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
679 reviews
5.9 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: RM446 - RM1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Arkansas
8 months ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Hong Kong, China

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Deer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure where best rooms would be it was so quiet where we were”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneM4848, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at 2nd floor with beautiful mountain view”
  • From Dinning Room
 of 5 bubbles hcbreeze, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor will be better because no lift”
 of 5 bubbles choc601, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You don't want a room in the tower if you are not good with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles patsI7239HR, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room on the top floor, cannot comment about the newer wing”
 of 5 bubbles 58PaulW58, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5