We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountaineer Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Invermere
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mountainer is a great place to stay in Lake Louise. Our family stayed in a suite. Our room was spacious and the beds were really comfortable! They have a great complimentary breakfast room. I highly recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakej501
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the lodge, were happy with your accommodations and the complimentary breakfast. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the...

Calgary
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a total bare bones mountain hotel. The staff is very friendly. The food in the Breakfast Room located in the basement was great and lots of variety, but the room in itself is painted a tacky lime green in very old style Bavarian. The bedding is fabulous and very comfortable, but the bathroom is very old dated décor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle U
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for sharing your comments. It is nice to hear that you received a friendly welcome from the staff and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I do apologize though about the disappointment you experienced with your room. We do have rooms that we have recently renovated that we hope you will try the...

Saskatoon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long day of skiing our family was tired and cold. We were relieved to arrive at the Moutaineer to quickly get our room exactly as we reserved. It was clean and roomy with a nice view of the winter forest. We were comfortable and relaxed after sitting in the hot tub for a while and slept well so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulafK4902BE
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Lake Louise and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodations, got to relax in the hot tub and enjoy some time on the slopes while you were here. I trust you made it home safely and hope...

Drumheller
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Warm friendly atmosphere. Very clean hot tub and steam room. Very accommodating when we asked to change our room to be easier for our stay. Would recommend this Lodge to family and friends. Hope to return in the summer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6060RNsusank
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear that you received a warm welcome from the staff, were happy with your accommodations and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you...

Sherwood Park
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was OK for a one night lay over.. might reconsider staying more than one night but I guess for the price.. Staff was awesome and very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable in finding things around town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcS4928MC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome from the staff but apologize that your room did not live up to expectations. We do have rooms that have been recently renovated that I hope you will try the next time...

Lethbridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic event accommodation good Staff not quite as friendly as one might expect The ice sculptures where excellent and show was good there is a lack of restaurants in lake Louise This is a great event for the family You can travel into banf for more and better eating places but remember this is winter in the Rockies Lake Louise...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheranl2017
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Lake Louise and for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations but am very sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the staff. I will be reviewing your comments with the team and ensuring that we...

.Calgary
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quiet clean accommodation with casual continental breakfast. Had to walk across parking lot to another building though - a bit of a challenge in winter would be okay in summer. Front entrance to building sloped so also challenge for physically challenged with mobility issues.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lornas30
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodations however, I do apologize about some of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this constructive feedback and will...

Calgary
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the Ice Magic Festival for two nights. Our room (#34) was very nicely renovated and spic-and-span clean. The breakfast buffet was as advertised, and there was enough staff to keep it replenished and the tables/dishes cleaned. The front desk staff was friendly and professional. The location was convenient, right across from Samson Mall where the shuttles...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLPCalgary
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at the lodge, received a warm welcome from the staff and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and hope to have the pleasure...

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first stay at the Mountaineer. The room was small, but bright and clean. It looked like it may have been recently renovated. Possibly one of the most practical layouts I have ever enjoyed. Nice desk space, fridge & microwave, plentiful and deep drawers for clothes - nice hooks by the front door. The bed and bedding were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you came and stayed at our lodge and were happy with your accommodations and amenities. We appreciate your feedback on the areas we can improve as it will assist us moving forward. I trust you had a...

Bothell, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room #33 was a renovated small room but nice. The heater is not adjustable, even I turned it off, still blowing hot air. Its remote is not working. Breakfast was OK, the service at the breakfast room was good. It was a

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. It is nice to hear that you were happy with the service in the breakfast room but apologize that your stay did not live up to expectations and for the issues you experienced with the heater. We will be taking the time to look further into this issue in...

341 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (8)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Two Queen (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
886 reviews
2.4 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,498 reviews
2.9 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,134 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
679 reviews
5.8 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: RM479 - RM1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think there are new and restored rooms... New ones are fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles Jorge-Mx-F, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground level rooms are easy access with parking right outside the door.”
 of 5 bubbles 438grahamt, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Due to water pipe noise, I would recommend staying away from the first room on the right (ground floor) just base the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyH588, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in building across from main lodge can be noisy depending upon your neighbors. You may find more privacy in main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles RickandJoann, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building so that you have easy access to the Jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles lvwei1123, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5